• Advertisement

4.11.14 AMS Modifieds Results From Moler Raceway Park

4.11.14 AMS Modifieds Results From Moler Raceway Park

4.11.14 AMS Modifieds Results From Moler Raceway Park

Devin Gilpin Grabs Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series Win at Moler Raceway Park

Williamsburg, OH- April 11, 2014- The Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series made its first appearance of the 2014 season at Moler Raceway Park in Williamsburg, OH on Friday evening and Devin Gilpin of Columbus, IN would pick up the $1,500 payday by surviving some rough and choppy track conditions en route to the victory. Gilpin’s win came aboard the Don Fleetwood owned DASCO Race Supply/A-1 Pallet/Blondie’s Pizzeria/Brown’s Oil Service/Bane Logging/ Bilstein/ Landrum Springs/FAST Shocks/Slicker Graphics/TomCat Performance sponsored #1G Impressive Race Car powered by a Mike Shell Race Engine.

The victory was worth $1,500 and would be Gilpin’s third career series victory and his first win the tour in 2014. The event was the third of the season for the Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series and there have been three different winners so far this season.

Gilpin would take the lead at the drop of the green flag, with Jimmy Lennex, Jr, Joey Kramer, and Jeff Curl giving chase. Gilpin would pull away quickly and begin to lap slower traffic by lap 6. The first for four cautions slowed the action on lap 10 when Tanner Wilson slowed in turn two. The restart would see now second place Kramer pressure Gilpin for the lead and would slidejob past Gilpin on lap 11 exiting turn two, but caution would wave again as Jeremie Bretz stopped in turn four, negating Kramer’s pass. There would be two more cautions, with the last one being for Kramer, who made hard contact with the wall in turn three and Kramer rolling to a stop in turn one on lap 14. The remainder of the race would go caution free and with 25 lap completed, Gilpin would hold a half-track lead over Brandon Green and by the time the checkered flag waved, only the top five cars remained on the lead lap. Green would hold on for a second place finish, while Curl would finish third in his first ever appearance at the track. Adam Stricker would work past Travis Dickson in the waning laps of the event, with that duo completing the top five.

The remainder of the top ten finishers at Moler Raceway Park were David McWilliams, Dave Jamison, hard charger winner Roy Bruce, Jr., Weasel Rhoades, and Tanner Wilson. The $1,500 to win event would be slowed by four caution periods.

In preliminary action, Devin Gilpin would be the Quick Car Racing Product top qualifier among 21 entries at 13.730 seconds. Summit Racing Equipment heat one went to Jimmy Lennex, Jr., while Jeff Curl scored the win in Wiles Driveshafts heat two. Hypercoils heat three went to Gilpin, with Joey Kramer winning Frankland Racing Equipment heat four.

The next events for the Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series are set to take place on Friday April 25 at Bloomington Speedway in Bloomington Speedway and Saturday April 26 at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN. The event at Bloomington on Friday April 25 will be the J.B. Robinson Memorial and pay $2,000, while the event at Brownstown on Saturday April 26 will pay $1,500 to win. Both events will pay $200 to start. The Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series presents UMP DirtCar Modified sanctioned dirt track entertainment at racing venues throughout Kentucky, Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, and Tennessee. For more information concerning the Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series, contact series race director Shane Mugavin at (270) 576-6474 or by email at shane@mugavin.com or by visiting the series social media outlets at www.americanmodifiedseries.com, on Facebook at facebook.com/pages/American-Modified-Series, and on Twitter @AmericanModSeri. Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series Race Summary-2014 Event #3: Moler Raceway Park-Williamsburg, Ohio-April 11, 2014

Quick Car Racing Products Overall Top Qualifier- Devin Gilpin 13.730

Summit Racing Equipment Heat #1 (all transfer)- Jimmy Lennex, Jr., Tanner Wilson, Ricky Tinch, Alex Brunner, Roy Bruce, Jr.

Wiles Driveshafts Heat #2 (all transfer)- Jeff Curl, Dave Jamison, David McWilliams, Mark Dickson, Derrick Davis

Hypercoils Heat #3 (all transfer)- Devin Gilpin, Brandon Green, Travis Dickson, Jeremie Bretz, Weasel Rhoades (DNS- Mike McCade)

Frankland Racing Equipment Heat #4 (all transfer)- Joey Kramer, Rick Weekly, Adam Stricker, Tyler Allison (DNS- Victor Lee)

Moler Raceway Park A-Main- Devin Gilpin, Brandon Green, Jeff Curl, Adam Stricker, Travis Dickson, David McWilliams, Dave Jamison, Roy Bruce, Jr., Weasel Rhoades, Tanner Wilson, Ricky Tinch, Derrick Davis, Mark Dickson, Jimmy Lennex, Jr., Alex Brunner, Rick Weekly, Joey Kramer, Jeremie Bretz, Tyler Allison (DNS- Victor Lee, Mike McCade)

Race Statistics
*Entries- 21
*Race Leaders- 1 (Gilpin 1-30)
*Cautions- 4 (Lap 10, 11, 12, 14)
*Red Flags- None
*Series Provisional Starters- None
*Track Provisional Starters- None
*Time of Race- 15 minutes, 18 seconds
*Quick Car Racing Products Fast Time Award ($100 cash)- Devin Gilpin
*All Star Performance Hard Charger Award ($100 certificate)- Roy Bruce, Jr. (started 19th-finished 8th:
advanced 11 positions)
*Crane Cams Ignition Systems Live Wire Award ($250 certificate for the highest finisher using a
Crane Cams Ignition system)- None
*Maxima Racing Oil Tough Fifth Place Finisher ($50 certificate)- Travis Dickson
*Wilwood Lucky Seven Award ($50 certificate)- Dave Jamison
*Summit Racing Equipment Heat One Winner ($50 certificate)- Jimmy Lennex, Jr.
*Wiles Driveshafts Heat Two Winner ($75 certificate)- Jeff Curl
*Hypercoil Springs Heat Three Winner (certificate for one spring)- Devin Gilpin
*Frankland Racing Equipment Heat Four Winner ($75 certificate)- Joey Kramer
*Stealth Racewear B-Main Almost Award ($100 certificate to first non-transfer from B-Main #1)- None
*Tennessee RV Sales and Service Children’s Bicycle Giveaway Winner- MaKayla Popp (Age 7)

2014 Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series Current Top Ten Point Standings
1. Roy Bruce, Jr. (Bloomington, IN)- 555
2. Ricky Tinch (Deer Lodge, TN)- 505
3. Lucas Lee (Paris, TN)- 435
4. Rick Weekly (Buffalo, IL)- 390
5. Matt Cooper (McKenzie, TN)- 385 6. Clayton Miller (Elkton, KY)- 375
7. Brandon Green (Walton, KY)- 360
8. Tyler Nicely (Owensboro, KY)- 335
9. Trent Young (Hopkinsville, KY)- 330
10. David McWilliams (Bethel, OH)- 325

Comments are closed

  • Advertisement