• Advertisement

4.12.14 MLRA Late Models Results From Lucas Oil Speedway

4.12.14 MLRA Late Models Results From Lucas Oil Speedway

4.12.14 MLRA Late Models Results From Lucas Oil Speedway

Wheatland, MO (April 12, 2014) – Racing from the outside pole Saturday night at Lucas Oil Speedway, Jeremy Payne worked underneath Tony Jackson Jr. with a lapped car between them and rolled on to Lucas Oil MLRA win in the Fox 22 Spring Nationals Presented by RacingJunk.com. Once out front Payne worked the top side of the speedway until a caution waved with 13 laps to go. On the final restart he moved to the bottom and ran out the balance of the feature. It was his first trip to RACEceiver Victory Lane with the MLRA since September 18, 2010.

“We had a good car all night,” said Payne of his GRT Race Car, following the feature. “We’ve been working on this thing and trying things. We finally got it to where we could race it. We were decent in certain situations, but not all of them. I think we got a good start on it. We needed a win like this to get our momentum built up and we’re gonna go from here.”

Chris Brown redrew the inside of the second row for the feature and slipped back a little before working back up to a second place finish. Brown was third on the final restart and Terry Phillips had the choice of restating inside or outside. Phillips chose the outside and Brown knew he had been handed a gift. “When he took the outside on that restart I was very surprised,” stated Brown. “I kind of figured we’d come off in front of him and be in second. Really, Payne had been running the top the whole time as well. I kind of thought maybe I’d have an opportunity to roll by him. I think I showed him or he saw me a little too early because he was able to get down.”

Chad Simpson finished up third with another strong run. Terry Phillips and Jesse Stovall filled out the remaining spots inside of the top five. Early in the night heat race wins went to Chris Brown, Tony Jackson Jr., Jesse Stovall and Jeremy Payne.

There was also a different qualifying format used Saturday. Instead of the traditional passing points system, the competitors drew for heat race pairings and were broken into two groups per heat for time trials. The heats were lined up, heads up, and the four winners redrew frisbees on the front stretch to set the first two rows of the main event.

Lucas Oil Speedway Contingency Awards 4/12/14
AR Bodies – Bumper Jones
Casey’s General Stores – Tommy Weder Jr
Chix Gear – Tommy Weder Jr
DirtOnDirt.com – Tony Jackson Jr.
GRT Race Cars – Chris Brown, Tony Jackson Jr., Jesse Stovall, Jeremy Payne
Hooker Harness – Mike Collins
KRC – JC Wyman
Landrum Springs – Jeremy Payne
Outpace Racing Products – Dave Eckrich
RacingJunk.com – Bumper Jones

Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (40 Laps): 1. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 2. Chris Brown (Spring, TX), 3. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 4. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 5. Jesse Stovall (Billings, MO), 6. Jimmy Mars (Menomonie, WI), 7. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 8. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 9. Brad Looney (Republic, MO), 10. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 11. Mike Collins (Council Bluffs, IA), 12. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 13. Jason O’Brien (Atlantic, IA), 14. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 15. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO), 16. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 17. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO), 18. Jacob Magee (Caney, KS), 19. Scott Lewis (Henderson, CO), 20. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 21. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 22. A J Diemel (Elk Mound, WI), 23. Kenny Mudd (Winfield, MO), 24. Jason Krohn (Slayton, MN), 25. Payton Looney (Republic, MO), 26. Lane Ehlert (Springfield, MO)

Hoosier Racing Tires B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO), 2. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 3. Scott Lewis (Henderson, CO), 4. Bumper Jones (Mesilla Park, NM), 5. Corey Zeitner (Omaha, NE), 6. Payton Looney (Republic, MO), 7. Lane Ehlert (Springfield, MO), 8. Leroy Johnson (Battlefield, MO), 9. Dwight Niehoff (Lockwood, MO), 10. Cliff Morrow (Enid, OK)

Sunoco Race Fuels B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 2. Jason Krohn (Slayton, MN), 3. Jacob Magee (Caney, KS), 4. Mike Collins (Council Bluffs, IA), 5. Austin Rettig (Sikeston, MO), 6. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 7. Jake Williams (Lockwood, MO), 8. J.C. Wyman (Griswold, IA), 9. Reid Millard (Jefferson City, MO), 10. Larry Jones (El Dorado Springs, MO)

Lucas Oil Products Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. Chris Brown (Spring, TX), 2. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 3. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 4. Jason O’Brien (Atlantic, IA), 5. Scott Lewis (Henderson, CO), 6. Bumper Jones (Mesilla Park, NM), 7. Payton Looney (Republic, MO), 8. Cliff Morrow (Enid, OK), 9. Larry Jones (El Dorado Springs, MO)

ProtectTheHarvest.com Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 2. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 3. Jimmy Mars (Menomonie, WI), 4. Kenny Mudd (Winfield, MO), 5. Mike Collins (Council Bluffs, IA), 6. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 7. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 8. Jake Williams (Lockwood, MO), 9. Leroy Johnson (Battlefield, MO)

MAV TV American Real Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. Jesse Stovall (Billings, MO), 2. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 3. Brad Looney (Republic, MO), 4. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 5. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 6. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO), 7. Corey Zeitner (Omaha, NE), 8. Dwight Niehoff (Lockwood, MO), 9. Reid Millard (Jefferson City, MO)

Midwest Sheet Metal Heat 4 (10 Laps): 1. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 2. A J Diemel (Elk Mound, WI), 3. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO), 4. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 5. Jacob Magee (Caney, KS), 6. Jason Krohn (Slayton, MN), 7. J.C. Wyman (Griswold, IA), 8. Austin Rettig (Sikeston, MO), 9. Lane Ehlert (Springfield, MO)

Comments are closed

  • Advertisement