• Advertisement

4.12.14 NDRL Late Models Results From Virginia Motor Speedway

4.12.14 NDRL Late Models Results From Virginia Motor Speedway

4.12.14 NDRL Late Models Results From Virginia Motor Speedway

Jonathan Davenport Crowned King of the Commonwealth at Virginia Motor Speedway

Jamaica, Virginia (April 12, 2014) The Aaron’s King of the Commonwealth was on Jonathan Davenport and Kevin Rumley’s list of high priority events. Not that every event isn’t important, but the King of the Commonwealth is a victory that both driver and his race team highly coveted. Both have been very successful at Bill Sawyer’s beautiful Virginia Motor Speedway over the years. On Saturday they both added another big check mark to their to-do list when Davenport overtook early leader Billy Moyer, Jr. on lap 17 and held off a hard charging Scott Bloomquist in the late stages of the 60-lapper to claim the $20,000 winner’s check. The win also propelled Davenport into a tie with Chris Madden for the National Dirt Racing League point lead.

Davenport was fastest in Group A of Keyser Manufacturing Time Trials lowering the Virginia Motor Speedway track record with his lap of 16.745 seconds around the ½ mile oval. However it was Hall of Famer Scott Bloomquist in Group B who picked up the Bell Helmets Fast Time Award when he obliterated the record Davenport had just set. Bloomquist tripped the clock at a mind boggling 16.509 seconds. Earl Pearson, Jr., Chris Madden and Don O’Neal rounded out the top 5 qualifiers.

Heat Race action was insane with wins in the 10 lappers going to Davenport, Billy Moyer, Gregg Satterlee and Billy Moyer, Jr. Finishing second in heats and going to the redraw were O’Neal, Madden Bloomquist and Dennis Erb, Jr. A pair of Delaware drivers – Kenny Pettyjohn and Austin Hubbard scored wins in their respective B-Mains and making the feature event. Series provisional starts went to Kent Robinson, John Blankenship and Mason Zeigler.

At the outset of the event it was pole sitter Billy Moyer, Jr. that took command while Davenport sliced through the middle of a 3-wide melee in turn one to move to second. With the remainder of the field locked in a double formation to complete lap one. Moyer moved away as Davenport had to fend of challenges from Billy Moyer and Gregg Satterlee.

Madden and Bloomquist were battling door to door while up front Davenport began to reel in Moyer, Jr. as they both began to encounter backmarker traffic. By lap 15 Davenport was all over Moyer, first stepping outside but finally making the move around the hub. Bloomquist slipped by Madden and set after Moyer, Sr. as they both drew to Moyer, Jr.’s rear deck. Over the next several laps the Moyers raced wheel to wheel with the elder finally covering the spot. The pass also allowed Bloomquist to close in on Moyer, Jr. and take another spot away one lap later.

After the halfway mark Davenport was in heavy traffic and Moyer, Sr. was able to close down on his fellow Longhorn Chassis driver. Moyer began to put some pressure on Davenport, nosing alongside the leader on multiple occasions. But the race for the lead was quelled when the event’s lone yellow flag waved for a stalled Bub McCool.

For the restart Moyer opted for the inside which moved Bloomquist to the outside. When Davenport brought the field back to green Bloomquist made his move for second. Sweeping around the outside of turn 2 Bloomquist took over second and set after the leader. With only 10 laps remaining Bloomquist pulled to Davenport’s rear deck. Bloomquist threw all he had at Davenport but a slick move past a lapped car coming to the white flag sealed the deal. The move gave Davenport just enough open space to grab the checkers and the $20,000 check.

Davenport’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by AES Racing

Official Finish

1 – 6 Jonathan Davneport
2 – 0 Scott Bloomquist
3 – 21 Billy Moyer
4 – 5 Don O’Neal
5 – 22 Gregg Saterlee
6 – 21JR Billy Moyer, Jr.
7 – 44 Chris Madden
8 – 15 Steve Francis
9 – 28 Dennis Erb, Jr.
10 – 72 Jason Covert
11 – 19 Tim Fuller
12 – 6 Jamie Lathroum
13 – 7R Kent Robinson
14 – 23 John Blankenship
15 – 11 Austin Hubbard
16 – 15B Brian Birkhofer
17 – 38 Kenny Pettyjohn
18 – 1J Davey Johnson
19 – 22 Chris Ferguson
20 – 111 Max Blair
21 – 25z Mason Zeigler
22 – 44 Earl Pearson, Jr.
23 – 57J Bub McCool
24 – 91 JT Spence
25 – 19 William Thomas

2014 NDRL ‘Kings of Dirt’ Points

1 Chris Madden 966
2 Jonathan Davenport 966
3 Scott Bloomquist 930
4 Don O’Neal 928
5 Kent Robinson 914
6 Billy Moyer, Jr. 900
7 Steve Francis 872
8 John Blankenship 858
9 Chris Ferguson 856
10 Billy Moyer 854
11 Tim Fuller 842
12 Bub McCool 838
13 Max Blair 836
14 Dennis Erb, Jr. 832
15 Mason Zeigler 820

Official NDRL 2014 Sponsors:
Hoosier Racing Tires, VP Race Fuels, Arizona Sport Shirts, Keyser Manufacturing, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil and Lubricants, Capital Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, DirtonDirt.com, Bell, DirtWrap, C&R Racing, Genesis Shocks, AR Bodies, Little Power Shop, Jason Dietsch Trailer Sales, Dirtwrap, JRi Shocks, Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars, Velocita USA, RockAuto.com, Clements Race Engines, Total Seal Rings, Pro Power Racing, Cometic Gaskets, Dyers Top Rods, Vic Hill Race Engines, K1 Technologies, JE Pistons, High Velocity Heads and JNJ Motorsports Media.

To stay up with all of the latest happenings check out www.thendrl.com and make sure to “Like” the National Dirt Racing League on Facebook at www.facebook.com/NationalDirtRacingLeague and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL. The list of 2014 partners continues to grow, if you have questions or comments or if you are interested in becoming a sponsor of the NDRL contact Series Director Kelley Carlton at (864) 871-1442 / kcarlton@thendrl.com or NDRL Marketing Director Jason Babyak at (602) 647-0649 / jbabyak@thendrl.com .

Comments are closed

  • Advertisement