• Advertisement

4.5.14 Spring Nationals Results from Smokey Mountain Speedway

Billy Ogle Jr. Claims Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series Victory

4.5.14 Spring Nationals Results from Smokey Mountain Speedway

Billy Ogle Jr. Claims Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series Victory at Smokey Mountain Speedway

By Chris Tilley: MARYVILLE, TN (April 5, 2014)—Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, TN became the 12th different winner in series history as he claimed the $6,000 first place prize during the Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series by Schaeffer’s Oil at Smoky Mountain Speedway on Saturday Night April 5th.

Ogle took over the point after race leader Chris Madden had contact with a lapped car on the 16th circuit causing him to spin and slam the turn one wall. That put Ogle to the lead for the remaining laps. Ogle drove to Victory Lane in the Blount Motorsports, Blount Excavating, Explosive Specialists and Massey Electric sponsored Vic Hill Racing Engines powered Rocket Chassis to the event win. Ogle became the third different winner this season in three events.

Vic Hill of Mosheim, TN, who started second, finished second in the Landair Transport and Pilot Travel Centers Vic Hill Racing Engines powered Warrior Race Car. Skip Arp of Georgetown, TN charged his way from the 11th starting spot to finish third in the Stanley Best Heating & Air sponsored GRT Race Car.

Four yellow flags slowed the event. The first caution came on lap five as Chris Wilson slowed in turn four. The next yellow would come out on lap 16 for Chris Madden’s hard contact with the wall in turn one. The lap-17 yellow would be for Tommy Kerr spinning in turn four after almost making contact with Casey Roberts, the car ahead of him trying to get slowed down on the bottom of the apron of the track. The final caution of the night would be on lap 35 as Cory Hedgecock slowed in turn three.

The Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series by Schaeffer’s Oil will be back in action on Thursday Night April 10th at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, NC paying $4,000 to win.

Further information on the Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series by Schaeffer’s Oil can be found by visiting the official series website located at www.southernnationalsseries.com .

Official Summary of Results

Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series by Schaeffer’s Oil
Round # 3 of 10
Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN
Saturday Night April 5, 2014

Super Late Model Feature Finish:
1. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN
2. Vic Hill-Mosheim, TN
3. Skip Arp-Georgetown, TN
4. Mike Marlar-Winfield, TN
5. Stacy Boles-Clinton, TN
6. Riley Hickman-Chattanooga, TN
7. Austin Smith-Cedartown, GA
8. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, GA
9. Eric Wells-Hazard, KY
10. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, KY
11. Tommy Kerr-Maryville, TN
12. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, TN
13. David Payne-Murphy, NC
14. Jeff Wolfenbarger-Clinton, TN
15. Tom Maddox-Centre, AL
16. Kenny Collins-Colbert, GA
17. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, GA
18. Chris Madden-Gray Court, SC
19. Chris Ferguson-Mt. Holly, NC
20. Mark Douglas-Knoxville, TN
21. Victor Lee-Danville, KY
22. Chris Wilson-Crossville, TN
23. Chad Ogle-Sevierville, TN

Race Statistics:
Entries: 31
FK Rod Ends Fast Time: Chris Madden-15:553 seconds

Heat One Finish (10 Laps/Top-4 Transfer): Chad Ogle, Eric Wells, David Payne, Victor Lee, Casey Barrow, Robby Moses, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Ellery Leake (DNS)

Heat Two Finish (10 Laps/Top-4 Transfer): Donald McIntosh, Michael Chilton, Cory Hedgecock, Chris Ferguson, Tom Maddox, Kenny Collins, Ray McElhiney, Mark Vineyard (DNS)

Heat Three Finish (10 Laps/Top-4 Transfer): Skip Arp, Tommy Kerr, Mark Douglas, Chris Wlson, Jeff Franklin, Chris Chandler, Tony Morris (DNS)

Series Provisionals: Jeff Wolfenbarger, Tom Maddox
Emergency Provisional: Kenny Collins
Lap Leaders: Madden (1-16); Ogle (17-50)
Lead Changes: One
Cautions: Four (laps 5, 16, 17, 35)
Red Flags: None
Time of Race: 27 minutes, 11 seconds

Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series Feature Finish: Kyle Strickler ($3,000), Matt Cooper, Bryan Barber, Nick Hoffman, Brian Shaw, Tyler Nicely, Keith Smith, Taylor Cook, Lucas Lee, Victor Lee, Roy Bruce Jr., Ricky Tinch, Jimmy Dalton, Nick Stroupe, Amos Bunch, Jeff Hamby Jr., Clayton Miller, Rick Weekly, Tony Spoon, Brandon Green, Trent Young, Jimmy Payne

Limited Late Model Feature Finish: Corey Hedgecock, Tony Martin, Weston Gantte, Butch Bayless, Kevin Gill, Mitchell Childress, Brett Ashley

Current Spring Nationals Series Points (after April 5th):
1. Billy Ogle Jr.-388 (Knoxville, TN)
2. Mike Marlar-384 (Winfield, TN)
3. Eric Wells-376 (Hazard, KY)
4. Vic Hill-372 (Mosheim, TN)
5. Stacy Boles-370 (Clinton, TN)
6. Donald McIntosh-368 (Dawsonville, GA)
7. Chris Madden-364 (Gray Court, SC)
8. Michael Chilton-360 (Salvisa, KY)
9. Casey Roberts-356 (Toccoa, GA)
10. David Payne-344 (Murphy, NC)

Spring Nationals Event Winners:
Jimmy Owens-Newport, TN (Volunteer Speedway) March 14th
Chris Madden-Gray Court, SC (Volunteer Speedway) March 15th
Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN (Smoky Mountain Speedway) April 5th

Upcoming April Spring Nationals Races:
Thursday April 10-Tri-County Race Track-Brasstown, NC-$4,000 to win
Thursday April 17-201 Speedway-Sitka, KY-$4,000 to win
Friday April 18-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, KY-$4,000 to win
Saturday April 19-Florence Speedway-Union, KY-$5,000 to win

Comments are closed

  • Advertisement