Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals to Finish 2013 Season July 25-28

Posted on Jul 24 2013 - 7:21pm by Dirt Racing Report

Southern-NationalsBy Chris Tilley, Series Publicist BRASSTOWN, NC (July 24, 2013)—After completing five events, the final four events of the 2013 version of the Ray Cook-promoted Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals will be four straight on an ultra-busy weekend with over $82,300 in prize money up for grabs in just four nights!

On Thursday Night July 25th the series heads to Duck River Raceway Park in Wheel, TN for a 35-lap $3,500 to win / $450 to start event with over $16,705 in prize money for Thursday’s event. On Friday Night July 26th the Southern Nationals will make the second-ever appearance to Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN for a 53-lap $5,300 to win event. On Saturday Night, the 2013 points will end for the 9th straight time at Gary Hall’s Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN. This event pays $5,300 to win and a total feature purse of over $21,880. The series will then roll back to Rome Speedway in Rome, GA on Sunday Night July 28th for a 53-lap $5,300 to win event.

In all four events this weekend, a total of $82,345 will be paid in total prize money. If a driver was to win all four events, he would take home $19,400 which would be an incredible pay weekend. If a driver just makes each event, with the start money, he would earn $2,040 for all four nights. With the amount of money up for grabs in four races, this makes the highest amount of money up for grabs in one entire weekend in the Southeast since Florida Speedweeks.

A very tight points battle is shaping up to be a great title war as the series heads into the final three points events on the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series between Blairsville, GA’s Jonathan Davenport and Gray Court, SC’s Chris Madden. Three points separate the two drivers who both have series titles under their belts. Six drivers have entered all five events including Davenport, Madden, Billy Ogle Jr., Vic Hilll, Eric Jacobsen and Stacy Boles. Boles is the only driver who has entered all nine Spring Nationals events and all five Southern Nationals events so far.

Some folks think that the Duck River Raceway Park event on Thursday Night July 25th will be the WILD CARD race of the tour. A tightening points battle takes the series to the Bob and Cathy Harris promoted track located just outside Lewisburg, TN. It’s the first series visit to the track since 2007 and Madden won that race. Track and facility have both changed since former promoters but the Harris family has since re-vamped the facility as it greeted competitors and fans early this season.

Competitors are reminded that the tire rule for Duck River (Thursday) and Rome (Sunday) have been altered: The Hoosier 1350/1600 while the American Racer 48/56 will be the only tires allowed for those two races. On the Smoky Mountain Speedway (Friday) and Tazewell Speedway (Saturday) events the Hoosier 1300/1350/1600 and American Racer equivalent 44/48/56 compounds will be allowed on those two races.

After rains pounded Screven Motor Speedway on Saturday Night forcing the series’ first-ever cancellation at Red Griffin’s speed plant and rains washed away racing Sunday halfway through qualifying at Rome Speedway then rains again hit North Georgia Speedway soaking the pits, racing action was still able to commence on Tuesday making the first completed event since last Friday at Swainsboro. Weather forecast shows much improvement as the series works its way into Tennessee for the next three points races then to the north Georgia area at Rome Speedway on Sunday with cooler less humid temperatures and sunshine.

Aaron Ridley of Chatsworth, GA found himself parked into victory lane for the first time in series history marking the 25th different winner in series history on Tuesday night at North Georgia Speedway in front of his home crowd. This marked a new winner since Mike Marlar claimed his first and second series wins last season.

2013 Current Point Standings (after five events 7/23/13):
1. Jonathan Davenport-1031 (Blairsville, GA)
2. Chris Madden-1028 (Gray Court, SC)
3. Billy Ogle, Jr.-1013 (Knoxville, TN)
4. Vic Hill-1002 (Mosheim, TN)
5. Eric Jacobsen-968 (Rio Del Mar, CA)
6. Stacy Boles-942 (Clinton, TN)
7. Bubba Russell-664 (Comer, GA)
8. William Thomas-592 (Phenix City, AL)
9. Dennis Franklin-584 (Gaffney, SC)
10. Chip Brindle-580 (Chatsworth, GA)

2013 Schedule & Winners:
Mon, July 15 – Wythe Raceway – Rural Retreat, VA – CHRIS MADDEN
Tue, July 16 – Volunteer Speedway – Bulls Gap, TN – VIC HILL
Thu, July 18 – East Alabama Motor Speedway – Phenix City, AL – JONATHAN DAVENPORT
Fri, July 19 – Swainsboro Raceway – Swainsboro, GA – JONATHAN DAVENPORT
Sat, July 20 – Screven Motor Speedway – Sylvania, GA – RAINED OUT
Sun, July 21 – Rome Speedway – Rome, GA – PPD TO JULY 28
Tue, July 23 – North Georgia Speedway – Chatsworth, GA – AARON RIDLEY
Thu, July 25 – Duck River Raceway Park – Wheel, TN – $3,500 to win
Fri, July 26 – Smoky Mountain Speedway – Maryville, TN – $5,300 to win
Sat, July 27 – Tazewell Speedway – Tazewell, TN – $5,300 to win
Sun, July 28 – Rome Speedway – Rome, GA – $5,300 to win (Non-Points)

About Schaeffer Oil:
Founded in 1839, Schaeffer’s manufactures specialized synthetic oils, fuel additives and other products for the construction, trucking, agriculture, marine, mining and high-performance racing industries. The company has developed an expansive line of innovative products and additives which reduce fuel consumption, improve mileage, extend efficiency and lessen energy costs for the consumer. Now in its third century of business and recognized as the oldest oil company in the United States, Schaeffer’s has remained a family-owned operation since its inception. In 2010, Schaeffer’s Specialized Lubricants was named to the distinguished INC 5000 list. For complete details, visit

The Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series would like to thank all of our marketing partners for the 2013 season including: Schaeffer’s Specialized Lubricants, American Racer Tires, AR Bodies, Barry Wright Race Cars, CV Products, DBR Starters, Delph Communications, Dyer’s Top Rods, FK Rod Ends, Graphic Impressions, GW Performance, Hoosier Racing Tires, Keyser Manufacturing, MasterSbilt Race Cars, Ohlins Shocks, Old Man’s Garage, Performance Rod & Custom, Racing Radios, The Joie of Seating, Vic Hill Race Engines, VP Race Fuels, Wiles Driveshafts, Will Kinzer Foundation for Autism Research, and Wilwood Engineering.