• Advertisement

World of Outlaw Sprints Perris and Kings Speedway Preview

World of Outlaw Sprints Perris and Kings Speedway Preview

World of Outlaw Sprints Perris and Kings Speedway Preview

HANFORD, Calif. — April 8, 2014 — The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series winds down its California Spring Break tour this weekend with events on Friday at Kings Speedway and Saturday at Perris Auto Speedway. The weekend marks the last chance to see the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series in California until September.

Donny Schatz is the championship leader entering the weekend, but Kasey Kahne Racing is coming off a 1-2-3 finish on Sunday at Calistoga and will attempt to continue its momentum. Brad Sweet’s victory on Saturday night gives him three wins for the season, one more than teammate Daryn Pittman and Schatz.

What to expect this weekend? Well, Schatz won last year at Kings Speedway and Pittman won last season at Perris, but the competition remains fierce, and there’s no doubt Steve Kinser on his “Salute to the King” tour would love to get his eighth victory in Hanford and notch his first feature win in Perris.

• Friday, April 11, at Kings Speedway. Racing begins at 7 p.m.
• Saturday, April 12, at Perris Auto Speedway. Racing begins at 7:30 p.m.

• Kings Speedway is located at Kings County Fairgrounds. Go West on SR 198 to 10th Ave. exit in Hanford, then 0.3 miles south. Click on the link for a map (https://goo.gl/maps/htiRQ)
• Perris Auto Speedway is located at inside the Lake Perris Fairgrounds. Click on the link for a map (https://goo.gl/maps/Sp2RS)

Kings Speedway is a semi-banked, 3/8-mile oval. The track record is 12.293 seconds by Joey Saldana on Feb. 23, 2001
Previous winners at Kings Speedway:
2013 – Donny Schatz on April 12
2003 – Tim Kaeding on Feb. 21
2002 – Danny Lasoski on Feb. 22
2001 – Andy Hillenburg on Feb. 23, Stevie Smith on Aug. 28
2000 – Johnny Herrera on Feb. 25, Joey Saldana on Sept. 8
1999 – Danny Lasoski on Feb. 19, Steve Kinser on Sept. 10
1998 – Steve Kinser on Sept. 11
1997 – Sammy Swindell on Sept. 12
1996 – Sammy Swindell on Sept. 11
1995 – Danny Lasoski on Sept.6
1994 – Dave Blaney on Sept. 7
1993 – Stevie Smith on Sept. 1
1992 – Stevie Smith on March 4, Sammy Swindell on Sept. 2
1991 – Dave Blaney on Sept. 18
1990 – Steve Kinser on Feb. 28, Steve Kinser on Sept. 19
1989 – Joe Gaerte on March 8, Bobby Davis Jr. on Sept. 19
1988 – Doug Wolfgang on Feb. 24, Steve Kinser on Sept. 20
1987 – Bobby Davis Jr. on Feb. 25, Steve Kinser on Sept. 9
1986 – Brad Doty on Feb. 26, Steve Kinser on Sept. 27
1985 – Jeff Swindell on Sept. 25

Perris Auto Speedway is a semi-banked, half-mile oval. The track record is 13.875 seconds by Danny Lasoski on Feb. 23, 2002
Previous winners at Perris Auto Speedway:
2013 – Daryn Pittman on April 13
2012 – Joey Saldana on March 10
2007 – Kerry Madsen on Oct. 20
2004 – Jason Meyers on Feb. 28
2003 – Danny Lasoski on Feb. 23
2002 – Daryn Pittman on Feb. 23
2000 – Danny Lasoski on Feb. 26
1999 – Johnny Herrera on Feb. 20, Craig Dollansky on Oct. 30
1998 – Mark Kinser on Oct. 31, Mark Kinser on Oct. 31
1997 – Mark Kinser on Feb. 15, Mark Kinser on Oct. 26
1996 – Mark Kinser on Nov. 1

The following World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series drivers maintain websites:
Cody Darrah – CodyDarrah.com
Tim Kaeding – TKaedingRacing.com
Kraig Kinser – KraigKinser.com
Steve Kinser – SteveKinser.com
Kerry Madsen – KenericRacing.com
Paul McMahan – PaulMcMahanRacing.com
Daryn Pittman – DarynPittman.com
Joey Saldana – JoeySaldanaRacing.com
Logan Schuchart – Shark1s.com
Donny Schatz – DonnySchatz.com
Jason Sides – SidesMotorsports.com
Brad Sweet – Bradsweetracing.com
Sammy Swindell – SwindellMotorsports.citymaker.com
For more driver information, visit: WoOsprint.com
WINNERS: Brad Sweet – 3 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 14, Tucson International Raceway on March 8 and Calistoga Speedway on April 5), Daryn Pittman – 2 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 14 and Calistoga Speedway on April 6); Donny Schatz – 2 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 15, The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 6) Rico Abreu – 1 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 15), David Gravel – 1 (Merced Speedway on March 28) Steve Kinser – 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 16), Kerry Madsen – 1 (Stockton Dirt track on March 22), Paul McMahan – 1 (The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 5),

LISTEN LIVE: Listen live as the Voice of the Outlaws, Johnny Gibson, calls the action at all World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series events on the DIRT Radio Network, with a number of events throughout the season being featured on the DIRTVision Cybercast. Visit DIRTVision.com for more information on all the features.

LIVE ONLINE UPDATES: Check out the Official World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series website at WoOsprint.com for live, interactive text updates of each race. It also includes driver biographies with statistics and pictures, race-by-race stats, detailed track information and race coverage, series news and team press releases.

UP NEXT: The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series races into El Paso Speedway Park on Tuesday, April 15, and then to Mesquite, Texas, April 18-19 for the Texas Outlaw Nationals.

Comments are closed

  • Advertisement