World of Outlaws Sprints Skagit Speedway Preview

Posted on Aug 30 2013 - 1:04pm by Dirt Racing Report

World of Outlaws Sprints Skagit Speedway Preview

World of Outlaws Sprints Skagit Speedway Preview

ALGER, Wa. — Aug. 29, 2013 — The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series point championship continues to heat up as the series heads on the series second Western swing of the year. Donny Schatz rebounded from a devastating crash in hot laps on Saturday night at Castrol Raceway, but he pulled out a backup car and won the event

As the series moves into Skagit Speedway Pittman’s lead has been cut to just 24 points. The Monster Meltdown queues up the most grueling portion of the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series schedule featuring nine race stretch in ten days down the West coast.

The series will take a day off after the two day show at Skagit before racing south through Oregon and California on an eight day straight racing marathon ending at Antioch Speedway on Sept. 8.

• Friday and Saturday, August 30 & 31, at Skagit Speedway, racing starts at 7:00 P.M.

• To get to Skagit Speedway from the North, take I-5 South to the Lake Samish Road exit #240 towards Alger. Turn left on Lake Samish Road. Go 1 mi to Old Highway 99 N. Turn right on Old Highway 99 N, go 3.3 mi. Fr the South take I-5 North to Cook Road From the South, exit # 232. Then north from the Cook Rd. Shell on Hyw 99 approx. 5 miles. Click on the link for a map (

Skagit Speedway is a high-banked, 3/10-mile oval. The track record of 10.872 seconds was established by Jason Sides on Sept. 4,2009
Previous A-Feature winners at Skagit Speedway:
2012 – Kerry Madsen on Aug. 31, Travis Jacobson on Sept. 1
2011 – Craig Dollansky on Sept. 2, Sam Hafertepe Jr. on Sept. 3
2010 – Jac Haudenschild on Sept. 3, Steve Kinser on Sept. 4
2009 – Joey Saldana on Sept. 4, Jason Meyers on Sept. 5
2008 – Jason Solwold on Aug. 30, Joey Saldana on Aug. 31
2007 – Brooke Tatnell on Aug. 24, Craig Dollansky on Aug. 25
2006 – Brooke Tatnell on Aug. 26
2002 – Joey Saldana on Aug. 23
1995 – Dave Blaney on Aug. 26
1994 – Dave Blaney on Aug. 27
1979 – Jack Hewitt on June 14, Sammy Swindell on June 15, Doug Wolfgang on June 16
1978 – Doug Wolfgang on June 17, Doug Wolfgang on June 18

• Tickets for Skagit Speedway can be purchased by visiting

The following World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series drivers maintain websites:
Cody Darrah –
Craig Dollansky –
David Gravel –
Chad Kemenah –
Kraig Kinser –
Steve Kinser –
Kerry Madsen –
Paul McMahan –
Daryn Pittman –
Bill Rose –
Joey Saldana –
Donny Schatz –
Jason Sides –
Sammy Swindell –
For more driver information, visit:

WINNERS: Donny Schatz – 17 (Kings Speedway on April 12, The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 6, Knoxville Raceway on May 11, Williams Grove Speedway on May 17, Lawrenceburg Speedway on May 27, Jackson Speedway on June 14 Knoxville Raceway June 15, Dodge City Raceway Park on July 5, Limaland Motorsports Park on July 11 Lernerville Speedway July 16 Williams Grove Speedway July 20, Lebanon Valley Speedway on July 21, Ohsweken Speedway on July 30, Knoxville Raceway on August 10 River Cities Speedway on August 16; Nodak Speedway on August 18 and Castrol Raceway on August 24); Daryn Pittman – 8(Perris Auto Speedway on April 13, Tucson International Raceway on March 9, Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 15, Eldora Speedway on May 4, New Egypt Speedway on May 21 Dodge City Raceway Park on July 6 Lernerville Speedway on July 16 and Rolling Wheels Raceway Park on July 23); Tim Kaeding – 7 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 15, The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 7, Tri-State Speedway on April 20, Elko Speedway on May 10 LaSalle Speedway on Jun 29 and Huset’s Speedway on July 3); Craig Dollansky – 6 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 16 Salina Highbanks Speedway on April 27, 34 Raceway on June 6, Lakeside Speedway on June 8 and Beaver Dam Raceway on June 29 ); Paul McMahan – 3 (Silver Dollar Speedway on March 23, The Dirt Track at Charlotte on May 24, I-96 Raceway on June 1 and I-55 Raceway on Aug. 3); Sammy Swindell – 2(Merced Speedway on March 29 and Cedar Lake Speedway on June 30); Kerry Madsen – 3(Eldora Speedway on May 3, Eldora Speedway on July 12 and Castrol Raceway on August 23) ; Steve Kinser – 2 (El Paso Speedway Park on April 16 and McCool Junction Speedway on August 20); Danny Dietrich – 1 (Lincoln Speedway on May 17); Shane Golobic – 1 (Antioch Speedway on April 5); Kraig Kinser – 1 (Orange County Fair Speedway on May 20); Kyle Larson – 1 (Stockton 99 Dirt Track on March 22); Danny Lasoski – 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 17); Terry McCarl – 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 16),); David Gravel – 1 (I-94 Speedway on June 22) Brad Sweet – 1 (Eldora Speedway on July 13)

LISTEN LIVE: Listen live as the Voice of the Outlaws, Johnny Gibson, calls the action at all World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series events on the DIRT Radio Network, including this week’s Knoxville Nationals. Visit for more information on all the features.

LIVE ONLINE UPDATES: Check out the Official World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series website at for live, interactive text updates of each race. It also includes driver biographies with statistics and pictures, race-by-race stats, detailed track information and race coverage, series news and team press releases.

UP NEXT: The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series races through the west coast in a grueling swing of nine races in ten days.