10.6.12 Lucas Oil Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

10.6.12 Lucas Oil Late Models Results

WOODSTOCK, GA (October 6, 2012) – Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN won Saturday Night’s 23rd Annual Lucas Oil Dixie Shootout at Dixie Speedway. Owens, who started 13th on the grid, inherited the lead when Chris Madden of Gaffney, SC broke a wheel and spun in turn four while leading with three laps remaining in the race. Owens then cruised on for the victory for the first time in the annual event sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA took the Clint Bowyer Racing Team entry across the finish line in second followed closely by John Blankenship of Williamson, WV in the Coal America’s Energy ride. Eric Wells of Hazard, KY was fourth and Tony Knowles of Tyrone, GA was the top finishing home-state driver grabbing the fifth spot.

Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC was looking to sweep the activities for the night as he was the Red Buck Fast Qualifier and dominated his heat race, then led the first five laps until he left the race under caution with left front suspension issues.

Madden, who started fourth, was running second when Cook exited the race took the lead over. A massive pile-up occurred twice both in turn two which heavily damaged several contenders including former Shootout winners Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN and Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN. Steve Francis of Ashland, KY, last week’s winner at Knoxville (IA) Raceway was also involved suffering severe damage to his Barry Wright Race Cars entry.

After a couple of restarts, Madden was the man to beat as he held a comfortable lead over Shane Clanton of Fayetteville, GA and Owens, who were running second and third. Owens was able to get around Clanton on lap 34. Three laps later, the caution flew when Clanton ended up in the turn-four wall ending his night.

Madden and Owens then had a spirited battle for the point as the two raced around the d-shaped oval. Owens was all over Madden, but with three laps to go, Madden lost control of his car in turn four when his wheel broke, eliminating him from contention

“We didn’t run that well in our heat race,” said Owens, who claimed his 35th career LOLMDS victory, which is second all-time to Scott Bloomquist’s 45 wins. “Chris (Madden) was running awful well tonight and I don’t know if I could have passed him, both he and Ray (Cook) were going to be the cars to beat tonight.”

“Our goal now for the rest of the year is to win each race, the points are pretty well over, it’s good to win here, and this is a prestigious race here in the Southeast, we finally got that trophy. I want to thank my car owner, Mike Reece, my crew and all the fans for coming out tonight,” said the 40-year-old driver.

“I have to thank Reece Monument Company, Gantte Appraisals, Red Line Oil, Sunoco Race Fuels, Midwest Sheet Metal, C&C Trucking, Hoosier, Keyser and Ohlins, Scott (Bloomquist) builds a good car and Jack Cornett builds some great engines.”

Completing the top ten were Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA; Steve Casebolt of Richmond, IN; Billy Ogle of Knoxville, TN; Chris Madden of Gaffney, SC; and Johnny Chastain of Murphy, NC.

Tomorrow Night, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series heads over to Rome International Speedway in Rome, GA for the Lucas Oil “Rome Rumble”. The event will feature RedBuck Time Trials, Heats, B-Mains, and the 50-Lap, $10,000-to-win “Rome Rumble Feature” For more information, log onto www.dixiespeedway.com/Rome.

Race Summary
Saturday Night, October 6th, 2012
Lucas Oil Dixie Shootout
Dixie Speedway – Woodstock, GA

RedBuck Fast Time Group A: David Payne / 14.698 seconds
RedBuck Fast Time Group B: Ray Cook / 14.469 seconds
Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (10 Laps – Top 4 Transfer): Tony Knowles, David Payne, Jonathan Davenport, Jimmy Owens, Eric Jacobsen, Jake Knowles, Casey Roberts, Tyler Millwood, Eddie Blackmon, Brian Reese, Vic Hill, Michael Asberry, Frank Ingram-NR
U. S. Steel Second Heat (10 Laps – Top 4 Transfer): Shane Clanton, Jared Landers, Scott Bloomquist, John Blankenship, Steve Casebolt , Pat Doar, Dillon Wood, Michael Page, Dale Thurman, Scott Hall, Casey Barrow, Tracy Pearson
Simpson Performance Products Third Heat (10 Laps – Top 4 Transfer): Ray Cook, Clint Smith, Earl Pearson, Jr., Chip Brindle, Jody Knowles, Jason Croft, Jacob Grizzle, Glenn Morris, Tim Day, Marty Lunsford, Steve Francis, Mike Marlar
HAWK Brakes Fourth Heat (10 Laps – Top 4 Transfer): Chris Madden, Tyler Reddick, Billy Ogle Jr., Eric Wells, Derek Ellis, Johnny Chastain, Don O’Neal, Luther Jenkins, Gary McPherson, Lamar Haygood, Mike McConnell, Ricky Williams
PAC Racing Springs Second B-Main (12 Laps – Top 3 Transfer): Derek Ellis, Jody Knowles, Johnny Chastain, Don O’Neal, Jacob Grizzle, Jason Croft, Ricky Williams, Gary McPherson, Mike McConnell, Luther Jenkins, Glenn Morris, Lamar Haygood, Tim Day, Marty Lunsford-NR, Steve Francis-NR, Mike Marlar-NR

Feature Finish – 50 Laps

1 13 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
2 9 15d Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA
3 15 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
4 16 18e Eric Wells Hazard, KY
5 1 26 Tony Knowles Tyrone, GA
6 8 11T Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
7 17 c9 Steve Casebolt Richmond, IN
8 12 201 Billy Ogle Jr. Knoxville, TN
9 4 44m Chris Madden Gaffney, SC
10 22 00c Johnny Chastain Murphy, NC
11 3 25c Shane Clanton Fayetteville, GA
12 5 8 David Payne Murphy, NC
13 10 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
14 24 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
15 21 66 Jake Knowles Tyrone, GA
16 23 71 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN
17 7 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
18 18 99 Derek Ellis Chatsworth, GA
19 6 44c Clint Smith Senoia, GA
20 11 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
21 14 24 Chip Brindle Chatsworth, GA
22 2 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
23 20 66J Jody Knowles Tyrone, GA
24 19 11 Pat Doar New Richmond, WI

Race Statistics
Entrants: 49
Lap Leaders: Ray Cook (Laps 1 – 5); Chris Madden (Laps 6 – 47); Jimmy Owens (Laps 48 – 50)
Caution Flags: Chris Madden (Lap 5); Scott Bloomquist, John Blankenship, Chip Brindle, Johnny Chastain, Don O’Neal, Clint Smith (Lap 5); Jared Landers, Derek Ellis, Steve Francis, Chip Brindle, Jake Knowles, Don O’Neal, Clint Smith, Scott Bloomquist (Lap 6); Shane Clanton (Lap 37); Johnny Chastain (Lap 40); Chris Madden (Lap 47)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Don O’Neal, Steve Francis
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: none
RedBuck Fast Time Provisional: none
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Jimmy Owens (Started 13th; Finished 1st; Advanced 12 positions)
Allstar Performer of the Race: John Blankenship
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens
ASi Racewear Challenge Finisher: Jimmy Owens
Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: Jonathan Davenport
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Bloomquist Race Cars
Sweet Mfg Crew Chief of the Race: Chris Fox (Jimmy Owens)
Time of Race: 42 minutes 45 seconds