Wednesday, November 29, 2023

2.3.18 Lucas Oil Late Models Results

BRUNSWICK, GA (February 3, 2018) – Defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Josh Richards overcame several obstacles to win Saturday night’s RhinoAg Super Bowl of Racing – presented by General Tire final at Golden Isles Speedway.
Richards had to resort to a back-up car, after issues arose with his main car during an earlier heat race. Richards then had the power steering fail on the back-up car as he tried to start the B-Main. The Best Performance Motorsports team ten fixed the issue, barely making the call to start the 60-lap main event, as Richards was the final car to enter the race track.
Richards had to take a series provisional and was scheduled to start 23rd on the grid, but due to his lateness while the crew worked on his car, he was relegated to the 26th and final starting position. Richards charged through the field and despite a lap 46 pass from Tyler Erb, went on to record his second win in-a-row to start the 2018 LOLMDS season.
In Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the 24th time in his career, the 2017 National Champion used the same car he won the Dirt Track World Championship with last year to race in tonight’s main event. “It was close,” said Richards elaborating on the fact he nearly missed the start of the race. “No one sees what goes on behind the scenes, but this really is a team sport. I can’t thank everyone enough. This is the same car we ran at Portsmouth in October last year. We had to get it out in a hurry. I broke a power steering line out there when I was just testing it. Good thing I went out there or we would have never known.”
“Danny and all the guys from my dad’s crew chipped in to get it ready. We just threw some stuff on it and then rolled it out on the track. I didn’t expect to come out with a win. We were just hoping to finish the race. We were going along pretty good and we were passing a lot of cars. I got out in front and then I started to ride it out. When he [Tyler Erb] got by me, I picked it up and was fortunate to get back around him. We were able to pull away from him and finish it off.”
Kyle Bronson, in his Brandon Ford, Longhorn by Weaver, came home in second for his best career LOLMDS finish as he fought past Tyler Erb for the runner-up position. Dennis Erb Jr. came from eleventh to finish fourth, and Brandon Sheppard completed the top five.
Afterwards, Bronson was pleased with his crew, and he dedicated his run to his late friend Bo Hammond, who passed away last week. “Bo was a mentor of mine. He taught me a lot about these cars. I wanted to win this one for him tonight, but we will take second place. We were a bit snug at the start of the race. The car started to really come around. I want to thank Randy Weaver for his help. We had some trouble with lapped cars for a while out there. It’s a solid finish for us. Thanks to all the fans that came out tonight.”
Tyler Erb’s First Class Septic, Rocket Chassis led laps 6 through 23 before relinquishing the lead to Richards. Erb fought back and momentarily took the lead on lap 46 before Richards passed him once again. “The car was really good early on. We led a lot of laps. We started to gain back on him [Richards] and I was able to get by him, but it only lasted one lap. I really thought we had the car to win the race.”
Richards’ winning car is owned by Eric and Kelly Brock, and is sponsored by Best Performance Motorsports, Bulk Material, Bazell Race Fuels, Keyser, Hoosier, Boxo USA, Sunoco, Integra, Valvoline, Alexander Lawn and Landscaping, and Impact Race Gear. The Rocket Chassis #1 is powered by a Durham Racing Engine.
Completing the top ten were Brent Larson, Bobby Pierce, Darrell Lanigan, Boom Briggs, and Jonathan Davenport.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday, February 3, 2018
RhinoAg Super Bowl of Racing – Presented by General Tire
Golden Isles Speedway – Waynesville, GA
Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Brent Larson / 15.319 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Jonathan Davenport / 15.168 seconds
Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Mason Zeigler, Brent Larson, Brandon Overton, Tim McCreadie, Gregg Satterlee, Steven Roberts, Jonathan Rowan, Carder Miller, Darrell Lanigan, Jimmy Owens, Shane Tankersley
FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Tyler Erb, Mike Benedum, Dennis Erb, Jr., Boom Briggs, Brian Connor, Billy Moyer, Jr., Donald McIntosh, Jeff Mathews, Blake Spencer, Casey Roberts
Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Bobby Pierce, Timothy Culp, Morgan Bagley, Shanon Buckingham, Coleby Frye, Josh Richards, Chase Junghans, Hudson O’Neal, Shane Clanton
QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Kyle Bronson, Scott Bloomquist, Brandon Sheppard, Jason Fitzgerald, Allen Murray, Don O’Neal, Earl Pearson, Jr., Brian Shirley, Ryan King, Jason Jameson
Penske Racing Shocks B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Gregg Satterlee, Brian Connor, Billy Moyer, Jr., Darrell Lanigan, Jonathan Rowan, Donald McIntosh, Carder Miller, Steven Roberts, Blake Spencer
Fast Shafts B-Main #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Don O’Neal, Shanon Buckingham, Coleby Frye, Brian Shirley, Earl Pearson, Jr., Chase Junghans, Jason Jameson, Hudson O’Neal, Allen Murray, Ryan King
Feature Finish (60 Laps):

1 23 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $13,100
2 4 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL $5,500
3 3 91 Tyler Erb New Waverly, TX $3,500
4 11 28 Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $3,450
5 12 1s Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $2,250
6 5 B1 Brent Larson Lake Elmo, MN $1,800
7 6 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL $2,200
8 25 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $2,000
9 15 99B Boom Briggs Bear Lake, PA $1,900
10 2 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA $1,100
11 13 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $1,775
12 26 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $1,850
13 20 50 Shanon Buckingham Morristown, TN $1,025
14 23 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $1,800
15 19 77 Brian Connor Martinez, GA $1,000
16 9 116 Brandon Overton Evans, GA $1,000
17 22 0F1 Coleby Frye Dover, PA $1,000
18 10 C8 Timothy Culp Prattsville, AR $1,000
19 17 22 Gregg Satterlee Indiana, PA $1,700
20 16 7F Jason Fitzgerald Middleburg, FL $1,000
21 14 14m Morgan Bagley Gladewater, TX $1,000
22 18 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $1,800
23 1 25Z Mason Zeigler Chalk Hill, PA $1,000
24 7 25B Mike Benedum Salem, WV $1,000
25 8 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $1,800
26 21 21JR Billy Moyer, Jr. Batesville, AR $1,000

Race Statistics
Entrants: 41
Lap Leaders: Mason Zeigler (Laps 1 – 5); Tyler Erb (Laps 6 – 23); Josh Richards (Laps 24 – 60)
Cautions: Mason Zeigler (Lap 11); Morgan Bagley (Lap 11); Jason Fitzgerald, Gregg Satterlee, Jimmy Owens, Timothy Culp (Lap 17); Brandon Overton (Lap 22)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Josh Richards, Jimmy Owens
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: Darrell Lanigan, Earl Pearson Jr.
Wrisco Feature Winner: Josh Richards
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Josh Richards (Started: 23rd; Finished: 1st; Advanced 22 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Josh Richards
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race:
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Josh Richards
Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: N/A
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Rocket Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Randall Edwards (Josh Richards)
Fastest Lap of the Race: Josh Richards (Lap #5 – 15.4884 seconds)
Most Laps Led: Josh Richards (36 Laps)
Dirty Girl Racewear Farthest Traveler: Brent Larson
PFC Brakes Pole Award: Mason Zeigler
Time of Race: 41 minutes 14 seconds