3.15.14 Civil War Sprints Results - Dirt Racing Report

3.15.14 Civil War Sprints Results

(PETERSEN MEDIA-Marysville, CA)- In what was a star-studded opening event for the Civil War Sprint Car Series Presented By Flowmaster Saturday night in Marysville, CA, one star shined the brightest, as Placerville, CA driver simply dominated the 30-lap feature event on the rough and tumble Marysville Raceway Park.

By way of winning the series’ inaugural Dash with their revamped format, Gregg Started on the front row alongside Penngrove, CA driver Alissa Geving, and got the early jump aboard his Scott Russell owned Mike’s Hard Lemonade/Capitol Ace Hardware entry.

With Geving hot on his tail for a majority of the race aboard her A1A Performance Muffler/ALC Machine Shop entry, she was able to pull alongside Gregg once in traffic, but was unable to make a pass to take the top spot and trailed in the second spot.

With 10-laps complete the complexity of the race took a dramatic change, as a big wreck involving several of the top-five occurred on a restart as Jonathan Allard, Tommy Tarlton, Willie Croft, and Matt Peterson were involved, all drivers were okay, but only Allard and Peterson were able to restart from the tail.

When action resumed Gregg continued to lead the charge as he tip toed around the rough track, but behind him, Sebastapool’s Geoff Ensign was moving in on Geving as was Sean Becker, and 19th starting, Herman Klein.

As the laps clicked down, disaster struck for second running Geving, who caught a rut, and spun her machine out, putting her to the back ahead of the lapped cars, and in the 14th spot.

With Sean Becker starting alongside Gregg, Gregg continued to be flawless on his restarts, as he led the way with Becker, Ensign, Klein, and Andy Forsberg, up to fifth from the back, trailing him.

As cars began to tighten up as the track brought moisture back during the feature, a monster wheel-stand down the back stretch by Becker, allowed Ensign to take over the second spot.

The checkered flag flew on the feature with Andy Gregg taking the win over Ensign, Becker, Klein, Forsberg, Colfax’s Colby Wiesz, from 21st, Bradley Terrell, Shane Golobic, Geving, and Justyn Cox rounding out the Top-10.

“I just cannot thank my crew enough,” Gregg said in victory lane. “We have had a great start to the season so far, and to come out and win this opener in front of a packed house, and with a stout field of cars is pretty awesome. I have to thank Scott and Kami Russell for letting me have some fun for them, and hopefully we can keep these coming.”

Second finishing Geoff Ensign was happy to hang on to a second place finish. “The track was pretty rough, and we had some close calls, but I am fortunate we were able to hang on for Brett Lay and this team,” he said. “It’s a great start to this series, and it was a fun opener.”

“We really struggled all night our first time out, and the car was the best in the feature that it was all night,” third finishing, Sean Becker said. “We qualified 15th, which worked out with the new format, and my guys worked, and worked, and it is nice to sneak out of here with a third.”

The Civil War Sprint Car Series would like to thank Flowmaster, BR Motorsports, A.R.T. Speed Equipment, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, CRV Carbon Solutions, Design 500, Dirt Solutuion, Taco Bravo, Hansen Machine, Frankland Racing Supply, Fuel Safe, Hoosier, Joe Hunt Magnetos, Kaeding Performance, King Racing Products, KSE Power Steering Products, MotoWear, MPD, All Pro, RCM Design, Rod End Supply, Racing Optics, SRP, Swepco, VSR, and Weld Racing for their support.

RESULTS- Marysville Raceway Park


Fast Qualifier- Jonathan Allard

Feature Event (Starting Position)

1. Andy Gregg (1), 2. Geoff Ensign (12), 3. Sean Becker (5), 4. Herman Klein (19), 5. Andy Forsberg (11), 6. Colby Wiesz (21), 7. Bradley Terrell (16), 8. Shane Golobic (4), 9. Alissa Geving (2), 10. Justyn Cox (18), 11. Jeremy Burt (7), 12. Kurt Nelson (22), 13. Matt Peterson (14), 14. Trevor Schmid (15), 15. Justin Sanders (17), 16. Jonathan Allard (3), 17. Carl Droivold (13), 18. Tommy Tarlton (9), 19. Willie Croft (6), 20. Billy Wallace (8), 21. Peter Paulson (20), 22. Steven Tiner (10)

ON TAP: The Civil War Sprint Car Series Presented By Flowmaster will return to action on Saturday, March 29th, at Antioch Speedway.

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to www.civilwarsprints.com, or ‘Liking’ www.facebook.com/civilwarsprints.

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360 Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2014, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 14 events at 8 different tracks around California.

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report