3.2.18 MARS Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

3.2.18 MARS Late Models Results

CLARKSVILLE, TENNESSEE – March 2, 2018 – The MARS Super Late Model Racing Series would begin its 19th season on competition on Friday evening with the opening night of the 14th Annual Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic at Clarksville Speedway in Clarksville, TN and David Seibers of Chapel Hill, TN would pick up the $3,000 victory leading all thirty laps of the main event, scoring his first career MARS victory.
The win by Seibers would come behind the wheel of the All Seasons Comfort, SMS Electrical and Plumbing, GPS Motorsports, Circle E Farms, and Nunneley Excavating sponsored #18 Black Diamond Chassis, Custom Race Engines powered entry.
The initial start of the main event would see the caution fly on a pair of occasions for spins on the opening, with the first being for Steven Ashby, while the second was for Greg Gokey, with both drivers spinning in turn four. Once action finally got underway, David Seibers would take the race lead, with Austin Rettig, Jason Jameson, Tim Manville, and Dennis Erb, Jr. giving chase. Jameson was charging the top side of the track and would spin his mount in turn four on lap four to draw the third caution of the event. The restart would see Seibers hold the top spot, while Manville would by Rettig for second on lap five, with Tanner English would make his way into the top five one circuit later. Seibers would approach slower traffic on lap twelve, but would catch a break when the caution waved on lap thirteen for a two-car tangle between Gokey and Drew Wilkerson in turn four. This restart would see Seibers keep the lead, while Rettig would duel side-by-side for second, with Manville controlling the position on lap fifteen.
Caution would wave on lap sixteen when Credence Mott would spin in turn four to keep the field bunched up, while the restart would see Rettig take second from Manville, with Caleb Ashby taking fourth position from English. Mott would spin again in turn four on lap nineteen and the restart would see the caution wave again for debris in turn two. This restart would see Seibers maintain the lead, while English and Rettig would make contact entering turn one on lap twenty, with English claiming the position. Meanwhile, Jameson recovered from his early-race spin and would make his way to fifth by lap twenty and would claim the fourth spot from Rettig one trip later on lap twenty-one. With Seibers still in control, Jameson would continue his charge as he would take the third position from English on lap twenty-three. Seibers would maintain a comfortable at this point with five laps remaining as Caleb Ashby would squeeze by English for third on lap twenty-six. The final caution of the event would wave on lap twenty-eight when Levi Ashby would loop his mount in turn four prior the leaders getting the two lap to go signal. This would set up a three-lap shootout, with Manville challenging Seibers for the race lead, but Seibers would maintain control, while Jameson and Ashby joined the fray with that trio racing three-wide for second on the white flag lap. Seibers would remain steady on the final circuit to claim the win, with Manville settling for second, while Caleb Ashby would nip Jameson at the line for the third spot, with English completing the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Rettig, Erb, Jr., Dean Carpenter, Roben Huffman, and Scott Cook.
The MARS Super Late Model Racing Series next event will be the final night of the 14thAnnual Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic at Clarksville Speedway in Clarksville, TN on Saturday March 3, paying $5,000 to win.
Further information on the MARS Super Late Model Racing Series can be obtained by calling Promoter/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official series website located at www.marsracingseries.com.
Official Summary of Results
Feature Results for MARS Super Late Model Racing Series at Clarksville Speedway in Clarksville, TN on March 2, 201
David Seibers- Chapel Hill, Tenn.
Tim Manville- St. Jacob, Ill.
Caleb Ashby- Cunningham, Tenn.
Jason Jameson- Lawrenceburg, Ind.
Tanner English- Benton, Ky.
Austin Rettig- Sikeston, Mo.
Dennis Erb, Jr.-Carpentersville, Ill.
Dean Carpenter- Coldwater, Miss.
9. Roben Huffman- Clinton, Ill.
Scott Cook- Shelbyville, Tenn.
Levi Ashby- Cumberland Furnace, Tenn.
Robert Ardry- Lavergne, Tenn.
Larry Greer- Bowling Green, Ky.
Steven Ashby- Cunningham, Tenn.
Credence Mott- Vienna, Ill.
Drew Wilkerson- Ravenna, Mich.
Greg Gokey- Buckley, Mich.
Charles Zimmerman- Cunningham, Tenn.
Gavin Schmidt- Tennessee Ridge, Tenn.
Ronnie Choate-Cookeville, Tenn. (Did Not Start)
Scott Crigler-Alton, Mo. (Did Not Start)
Time of Race: 35 minutes, 22 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.517 seconds
Yellow Flags: 8 (lap 1, 1 restart, 4, 13, 16, 19, 19 restart, 28)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: David Seibers (1-30)
Entries: 21
Overall Top Qualifier: David Seibers 13.451 seconds
Provisional Starters: None
Heat One Finish (8 laps/all transfer)- David Seibers, Jason Jameson, Dennis Erb, Jr., Drew Wilkerson, Gavin Schmidt, Larry Greer, Robert Ardry
Heat Two Finish (8 laps/all transfer)- Caleb Ashby, Tim Manville, Tanner English, Greg Gokey, Dean Carpenter, Steven Ashby, Ronnie Choate