3.22.14 Lucas Oil Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

3.22.14 Lucas Oil Late Models Results

“It’s always good to come here and win at Brownstown. This is where I started my Late Model career and it’s the first time I have won here in a Barry Wright Race Car. I want to thank the fans for coming out tonight. I would say they saw a great feature race. I have to thank Clint Bowyer, Lance and Barry Wright, my crew chief Jeremy Justice, and everybody else on the crew. The car was phenomenal!” exclaimed O’Neal in Lucas Oil Victory Lane. “I have to thank all of my sponsors, Peak Antifreeze and Motor Oil, Crawford Supply, Traeger Grills, Cometic Gasket, Ohlins, Georgia Boot and Clements Racing Engines.”

Carrier was seeking his first ever win at the quarter-mile track. He paced the field early on and was a strong contender for the win, but O’Neal made his way around Carrier on lap eleven. “To run second here to Don O’Neal is quite a statement,” said Carrier, who was looking for a clean sweep of the racing activities at Brownstown. “This Rocket car has been good all-year long at Golden Isles, East Bay, and here tonight. I thought we could get it done! We set fast time, won our heat, and led early, but O’Neal was just too tough. I have to thank Carl Grover for giving me this opportunity; we are off to a real good start this season.”

While O’Neal and Carrier were firmly entrenched in first and second a terrific battle for third, fourth, and fifth was ongoing throughout the entire race. Francis, who started 11th, climbed to third after a torrid battle between Bobby Pierce and Scott Bloomquist allowed Francis to clear both of them with 17 laps remaining.

“We got it going a little too late,” said Francis afterwards. “We probably needed a couple of cautions early-on to help us. To run first and third for Clint Bowyer Racing is awesome. We will take this success and head to the next race. This Georgia Boot Team needed a good run tonight and we got it.”

Completing the top ten were Pierce, Jeep VanWormer, Earl Pearson Jr., Ray Cook, and Devin Moran. With his win tonight, O’Neal took over the series championship point lead for the first time in 2014.

In preliminary action, Eddie Carrier Jr. set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the ­45 entrants, with a lap of 14.533 seconds. Scott Bloomquist set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.989 seconds. Eddie Carrier Jr., Don O’Neal, Scott Bloomquist, and Earl Pearson Jr. won their respective heat races. Duane Chamberlain and Shelby Miles won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday Night, March 22nd, 2014
Indiana Icebreaker
Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, IN

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Eddie Carrier Jr./ 14.533 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Scott Bloomquist/14.989 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Eddie Carrier, Jr., Steve Casebolt, Bobby Pierce, Jason Jameson, Chad Stapleton, Duane Chamberlain, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Dustin Linville, John Gill, Adam Bowman, Zak Blackwood, Steve Barnett

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Don O’Neal, Kent Robinson, Steve Francis, Devin Moran, Billy Moyer, Jr., Jeremy Hines, Jimmy Owens, Randy Weaver, Tim Prince, Justin Rattliff, Shannon Babb

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Jeep VanWormer, Tim Dohm, Tim Rivers, Jason Hughes, Shelby Miles, Marty O’Neal, John Blankenship, Greg Johnson, Dennis Erb, Jr., Terry Casey

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Earl Pearson, Jr., Ray Cook, Jared Landers, Brian Shirley, Michael Chilton, Mike Benedum, Ricky Weiss, Jason Riggs, Joe Janowski, Casey Noonan, Jason Papich

JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Duane Chamberlain, Billy Moyer, Jr., Jimmy Owens, Chad Stapleton, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Randy Weaver, Jeremy Hines, John Gill, Tim Prince, Shannon Babb, Dustin Linville, Steve Barnett, Justin Rattliff, Adam Bowman, Zak Blackwood

CV Products B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Shelby Miles, Michael Chilton, Jason Hughes, Jason Riggs, John Blankenship, Dennis Erb, Jr., Mike Benedum, Jason Papich, Greg Johnson, Marty O’Neal, Casey Noonan, Joe Janowski, Ricky Weiss, Terry Casey-DNS

Feature Finish (50 Laps):


1 3 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN
2 1 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
3 11 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
4 2 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
5 7 7R Kent Robinson Bloomington, IN
6 9 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL
7 6 55 Jeep VanWormer Pinconning, MI
8 4 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
9 8 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
10 15 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH
11 5 c9 Steve Casebolt Richmond, IN
12 10 6T Tim Dohm Charleston, WV
13 13 128 Jason Jameson Lawrenceburg, IN
14 17 20c Duane Chamberlain Richmond, IN
15 19 21jr Billy Moyer, Jr. Batesville, AR
16 12 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
17 14 46 Tim Rivers Salem, IN
18 21 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
19 16 81 Brian Shirley Chatham, IL
21 24 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
22 23 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
24 22 12 Jason Hughes Watts, OK
25 27 5H Jeremy Hines Seymour, IN
26 18 76 Shelby Miles Bloomington, IN
27 20 97 Michael Chilton Salvisa, KY
20 25 116 Randy Weaver Crossville, TN
23 26 7w Ricky Weiss Headingley, MB

Race Statistics
Entrants: 45 Lap Leaders: Eddie Carrier Jr. (Laps 1 – 8); Don O’Neal (Lap 9); Eddie Carrier (Lap 10); Don O’Neal (Laps 11 – 50)
Caution Flags: none
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: John Blankenship, Dennis Erb Jr.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: Randy Weaver, Ricky Weiss
Wrisco Feature Winner: Don O’Neal
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Steve Francis (Started: 11th; Finished: 3rd; Advanced: 8 positions)
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Earl Pearson Jr.
Allstar Performer of the Race: Eddie Carrier Jr.
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Don O’Neal
Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Will begin after RoY registration deadline.
Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Will begin after RoY registration deadline.
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Clements Race Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Barry Wright Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Jeremy Justice (Don O’Neal)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Eddie Carrier Jr. – 1 Lap  – 15.696 seconds
Time of Race: 16 minutes 11 seconds

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report