3.24.18 East Bay Raceway Results

It was a perfect night for racing at the “Clay By the Bay” as 5 classes of racing took to the track to compete for victory. At intermission the top-5 in points from the 2017 racing season for the Late Models, Outlaw 4’s and Gladiators were honored on the track with a trophy ceremony.

In the Outlaw 4’s it was Billy Dukes Jr. taking home the win. He fought off hard charging Eric Knight and Nick Hebrank for the victory. Knight finished 2nd and Hebrank 3rd. Mark Moniz and Bryan Sykes rounded out the top 5. Cecil Martin and Dukes won the heat races.

The Gagels Open Wheel Modifieds saw Mavrick Varnadore battle Bryan Bernhardt during the early portion of the race. Varnadore would pull away for the victory at the end. Bernardt finished 2nd. Roger Crouse finished third. Phillip Cobb and Austin Sanders rounded out the top-5. Phillip Cobb won the heat race.

In the Micro Sprints, Mike Meyers started on the pole and dominated the race. The best battle of the race was Kevin Strife and Paul Seburn who switched positions for most of the 15 lap event. Meyers won the race, with Strife finishing 2nd and Seburn 3rd. Don T. Quinn and Joseph Bartow rounded out the top-5. Seburn and Strife were victorious in the heats.

The Pro Late Models was a tale of two races, the early part of the race was a caution filled event with multiple yellow flags leading the way. Steve Mathis, Jr. held the lead through those cautions and for several laps on the restarts. All the while, Keith Nosbisch, Doug Horton and Jack Nosbisch Jr were lurking waiting for their opportunity. That opportunity would arrive for Keith Nosbisch when he was able to take the lead on a late restart and pull away for the win. Hard charging Doug Horton finished 2nd. Mathis ended up 3rd. Jack Nosbisch and Andrew Hopkins rounded out the top-5.

The final event of the night was the largest, 23 cars were entered in the Gladiators feature. It was a caution filled event early, seeing DJ Taylor land on his roof between turn 1 and 2 after several cars got together. This would cause a red flag to be thrown. During that time Robert Kissam noticed that he had a flat tire, he went to the pits and had the tire changed before the field went back to green. Kissam was able to battle his way through the field, eventually catching leader Daniel Bowman. Kissam would take the lead and the win. Jeff Smith with a strong run came home 2nd. Daniel Casey was 3rd. Logan Casteel and Bowman rounded out the top-5. DJ Taylor, Bowman and Zavier Safie won the heat races.

East Bay Raceway Park resumes the 2018 season next Saturday, March 31 with a full slate of racing action. Check the website for details.

Top 5 results

Outlaw 4’s

1. 15 Billy Dukes, 2. 7v Eric Knight, 3. 7 Nick Hebrank, 4. 41e Mark Moniz, 5. 23s Brian Sikes

Micro Sprints:

1. 7. Mike Meyers, 2. 46 Kevin Strife 3. 23 Paul Seburn 4. 3d Don T. Quinn 5. 3 Joseph M. Bartow

Gagels Open Wheeled Modified

1. 4 Mavrick Varnadore 2. B69 Bryan Bernhardt 3. 15 Roger Crouse 4. 03 Philip Cobb 5. 64 Austin Sanders

Pro Late Models

1. 02 Keith Nosbisch 2. 11 Doug Horton 3. Steve Mathis Jr. 4. 12 Jack Nosbisch Jr. 5. 13H Andrew Hopkins


1. 911 Robert Kissam, 2. 15 Jeff Smith, 3. 3D Daniel Casey, 4. 7 Logan Casteel 5, 46 Daniel Bowman.