3.9.13 Southern All Star Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

3.9.13 Southern All Star Late Models Results

CLEVELAND, TN (March 9, 2013)—In a caution-free roughly twelve minute main event, Randy Weaver of Crossville, TN showed why he is the defending Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Champion by claiming his first Shamrock 50 event win at Cleveland, TN worth $10,000.

Weaver, along with defending SAS Blue/Gray 100 winner Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN and former SAS Champion Billy Ogle Jr. made the SHOW by swapping the lead multiple times, while the lap leaders in the final stats wasn’t indicative of how good the race actually was, the fans sure saw a great one on a cool spring evening. Weaver came to victory lane in the Precision One Trailer Parts, Outlaw Race Parts, The Bailey Company and VP Race Fuels sponsored Cornett Racing Engines powered GRT Race Car.

The Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series will be back in action this coming Saturday Night March 16th at East Alabama Motor Speedway in Phenix City, TN where the series has not made a trip to since 1984. The event will pay $4,000 to win.

Further information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 924-4546 or PR/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or you can log on to the official series website at www.sasdirt.com . Also, LIKE the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or be a FOLLOWER on Twitter @SASDIRT.

Official Summary of Results
Cleveland Speedway-Cleveland, TN
Round #2 of 2013 Season (March 9, 2013)
Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Late Models

Feature Finish
1. Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN
2. Mike Marlar-Winfield, TN
3. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN
4. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, GA
5. David Payne-Murphy, NC
6. Ray Cook-Brasstown, NC
7. Clint Smith-Senoia, GA
8. Eric Wells-Hazard, KY
9. Jake Knowles-Tyrone, GA
10. Jonathan Davenport-Blairsville, GA
11. Chris Madden-Gray Court, SC
12. Skip Arp-Georgetown, TN
13. Michael Asberry-Crossville, TN
14. Riley Hickman-Chattanooga, TN
15. Mike Weeks-Friendsville, TN
16. Jason Hiett-Oxford, AL
17. Logan Yates-Lineville, AL
18. Derek Ellis-Chatsworth, GA
19. Mark Rosner-Rockford, TN
20. Scott Bloomquist-Mooresburg, TN
21. Jimmy Owens-Newport, TN
22. Mark Vineyard-Powell, TN
23. William Thomas-Phenix City, AL
24. Steve Casebolt-Richmond, IN

Yellow Flags: None
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Dale McDowell (laps 1-14); Billy Ogle Jr. (laps 15-28); Randy Weaver (laps 29-50)
FredWhiteRacing.com Fast Time: Jimmy Owens-12:756 seconds
Series Provisionals: William Thomas (2012) and Mark Rosner (2013)
Entries: 39 from eight states (TN, GA, NC, SC, AL, KY, IN, OR)
JT Kerr Racing Equipment Hard Charger of the Race: Michael Asberry (advanced seven positions)
Time of Race: 12 minutes/30 seconds

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat-One Finish: Randy Weaver, Eric Wells, Jonathan Davenport, Jimmy Owens, Chris Madden, William Thomas, Billy Workman Jr., Jason Wilson, Bret Holmes, Shane Clanton

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat-Two Finish: Dale McDowell, Ray Cook, Clint Smith, Riley Hickman, Derek Ellis, Mark Vineyard, Donald McIntosh, Vic Hill, Austin Smith, Tommy Bailey

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat-Three Finish: David Payne, Jake Knowles, Mike Weeks, Scott Bloomquist, Jason Hiett, Logan Yates, Bo Shirley, Dylan Ames, Tyler Millwood, Kayne Hickman

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat-Four Finish: Billy Ogle Jr., Mike Marlar, Skip Arp, Steve Casebolt, Michael Asberry, Lavon Sparks, Mark Rosner, Kurt English, Phil Coltrane

PPM Racing Products Last Chance Showdown #1 Finish: Chris Madden, Mark Vineyard, Derek Ellis, William Thomas, Billy Workman Jr., Vic Hill, Donald McIntosh, Jason Wilson, Shane Clanton, Austin Smith, Bret Holmes, Tommy Bailey

PPM Racing Products Last Chance Showdown #2 Finish: Jason Hiett, Michael Asberry, Logan Yates, Dylan Ames, Lavon Sparks, Bo Shirley, Tyler Millwood, Mark Rosner, Kayne Hickman, Kurt English, Phil Coltrane

Championship Points (after March 9th)
1. Randy Weaver-194 (Crossville, TN)
2. Jonathan Davenport-172 (Blairsville, GA)
3. Riley Hickman-154 (Chattanooga, TN)
4. Jason Hiett-144 (Oxford, AL)
5. Mark Rosner-140 (Rockford, TN)
6. Mike Weeks-132 (Friendsville, TN)
7. Chris Madden-130 (Gray Court, SC)
8. Jared Landers-100 (Batesville, AR)
9. Steve Francis-96 (Ashland, KY)
9. Mike Marlar-96 (Winfield, TN)
11. Bret Holmes-94 (Munford, AL)
11. Billy Ogle Jr.-94 (Knoxville, TN)

Upcoming Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series events:
Mar. 16 Saturday East Alabama Motor Speedway/Phenix City, AL $4,000 40
Mar. 23 Saturday Smoky Mountain Speedway/Maryville, TN $5,000 40
Apr. 6 Saturday Tazewell Speedway/Tazewell, TN $5,000 50

2013 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Sponsors:
*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series
*VP Racing Fuels “The Official Fuel” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series
*Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series

2013 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Supporters Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Cruise with the Champions, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, Intercomp Racing Systems, JT Kerr Racing Equipment, MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products, RockAuto.com, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Ed Lowe, The Joie of Seating, WhitePerformance.com