4.12.14 Port Royal Speedway Results - Dirt Racing Report

4.12.14 Port Royal Speedway Results

Port Royal – Rick Lafferty, 410 sprints; Nick Dickson, super late models; and Andrew Yoder, Middleburg; scored the main events on Race To Cure Cancer Night at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday.

During intermission, the speedway presented the American Cancer Society with a check for $682 comprised of contributions from the night’s ticket sales while another $300 was raised from the auction of an autographed five-gallon fuel jug as donated by B and R Farm Equipment.

Along with some other spontaneous donations, nearly $1,100 was totaled up on the night for the ACS chapter of State College.

Lafferty scored his 10th career Aumiller Insurance 410 sprint feature at the track after taking over from Brent Marks on the eighth tour.

Up until that time Marks of Myerstown held convincing sway over the field after starting on the pole for the 25-lap main event.

Marks entered the backmarkers on the sixth lap and it was that traffic that proved to be his undoing.

While setting a fleet pace, he went to the outside of Davey Sammons on the backchute to put him a lap down when the pair collided, resulting in a flip by Sammons and obvious broken rear suspension for Marks.

Lafferty had raced into second on the opening lap after starting third and was the new leader when action resumed.

Invader Lynton Jeffrey chased Lafferty on the restart with Mike Wagner racing third and the field again entered lapped traffic on the 13th tour.

Lafferty was flawless in traffic but took advantage of a final caution flag with nine laps to go to cruise to the victory on open track over the final several circuits.

Jeffrey finished a solid second followed by Wagner, Dave Ely and Curt Michael.

Sixth through 10th went to Chad Layton, 20th starter Greg Hodnett, Mike Erdley, Doug Esh and 22nd starter Danny Holtgraver.

Heats for the 26-car field went to Esh, Curt Stroup and Lafferty. The consolation went to Blane Heimbach.

Dickson took the Jakes Carts super late model main after wrestling the lead away from Eric Zembower.

Bedford’s Zembower took the lead from the second starting position as Waylon Wagner gave chase.

But Dickson was on the move and drove into third with three laps down.

He had closed in on Zembower by lap eight and after pressuring for the next three laps Dickson got under Zembower off of the fourth corner to take the lead and begin driving away.

Zembower rode home second followed by Andy Haus, who took third with seven laps to go.

Wagner was fifth.

Sixth through 10th went to Trent Brenneman, Brett Schadel, Randy Burkholder, Mike Lupfer and Scott Haus.

Heats for the 21-car field went to Dickson, Tim Wilson and Mitch Hack.

The debut of the all-new Gray’s Auto and Towing 355 econo late model class was a good one with a healthy 16 entries.

The 15-lap main event was wired by 19-year old Andrew Yoder of Middleburg who withstood several caution flag restarts.

Tim Krape started fourth in the field and took over second spot with six laps down but was never able to seriously challenge for the win.

Instead, Krape had his hands full with Todd Snook for second before the pair made contact, forcing Snook from the race.

Krape ended up second followed by Bill Henney, Devin Hart and Jared Fulkroad.

Sixth through 10th went to Harold Ranck, Troy Miller, Cody Butterbaugh, Chase Bowsman and Danny Sollers.

Twin heats went to Krape and Yoder

Feature Finishes


410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Rick Lafferty, 2. Lynton Jeffrey, 3. Mike Wagner, 4. Dave Ely, 5. Curt Michael, 6. Chad Layton, 7. Greg Hodnett, 8. Mike Erdley, 9. Doug Esh, 10. Danny Holtgraver, 11. Blane Heimbach, 12. Dylan Cisney, 13. Nate Snyder, 14. Curt Stroup, 15. Trey Starks, 16. Ryan Smith, 17. Joey Hershey, 18. Logan Wagner, 19. Justin Barger, 20. Rodney Westhafer, 21. Ryan Taylor, 22. Dave Hahn, 23. Brent Marks, 24. Davey Sammons

DNQ: Mark Coldren, Jack Thornton

Late models, 20 laps: 1. Nick Dickson. 2. Eric Zembower, 3. Andy Haus, 4. Matt Parks, 5. Waylon Wagner, 6. Trent Brenneman, 7. Brett Schadel, 8. Randy Burkholder, 9. Mike Lupfer, 10. Scott Haus, 11. Tim Smith Jr. 12. Mitch Hack, 13. Patrick Bryner, 14. Tim Fedder, 15. Jeff Miller, 16. Dustin Hoffman, 17. Jason Schmidt. 18. Steve Bailor, 19. Mike Mort, 20. Steve Stitt

DNS: Tim Wilson

355 Econo Late Models, 15 laps: 1. Andrew Yoder, 2. Tim Krape, 3. Bill Henney, 4. Devin Hart, 5. Jared Fulkroad, 6. Harold Ranck, 7. Troy Miller, 8. Cody Butterbaugh, 9. Chase Bowsman, 10. Danny Sollers, 11. Kyle Rapp, 12. Todd Snook, 13. Shaun Miller, 14. Garrett Gray, 15. Ken Beck, 16. Ralph Morgan Jr.

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report