4.20.12 Lucas Oil Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

4.20.12 Lucas Oil Late Models Results

MARKLEYSBURG, PA (April 20, 2012) – It was only a matter of time before 2-time Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN would begin piling up victories. After winning his first series race of 2012 a week ago in the Commonwealth 100, the 48-year-old Hall of Famer took the win on Friday Night at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex before a record crowd.

Bloomquist started fifth and charged to the front as he grabbed the lead from Jason Covert on lap two. Bloomquist then had to hold off repeated challenges from Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN. Owens came home in second. Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA, in his first LOLMDS start of the season, finished third, followed by Earl Pearson, Jr. of Jacksonville, FL and Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA.

Bloomquist was ninth in LOLMDS points just two weeks ago and is now fourth, but attributed his slow start to the season to helping other drivers with their Bloomquist Race Cars. “We had to take time to go over our stuff, we’ve been working on other people’s cars so much that we kind of neglected our own program,” said Bloomquist, who entered Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the 44th time in his illustrious career.

“We decided before Virginia that we needed to start running better, the car has been flawless the last two weeks and the Roush-Yates Engine has been spectacular as well. I have to thank all my sponsors for sticking with us! We are back and it sure feels good,” said the driver of the Base Racing Fuels, Lane Automotive, Lucas Oil Products, Sweet Manufacturing, Hawkeye Trucking, Ohlins, Weld Racing and Allstar Performance Ford-powered car.

“I saw Jimmy (Owens) there a few times on the outside, so I went to the outside and I was surprised how well the car worked up there. The track was excellent tonight, we could run anywhere and there was passing all night long. Last year it had some rough spots, but this year it was real smooth,” said the winner.

Owens started behind Bloomquist in seventh and followed him to the front. Owens moved into second on lap four and stayed there the rest of the way. Owens pulled alongside Bloomquist a couple of times in heavy traffic, but untimely caution flags allowed Bloomquist to restart with clear real estate in front of him. Owens maintains the series points lead in the Mike Reece, Reece Monument Company, Bloomquist Race Cars Ford.

McDowell came from his sixth starting spot and it looked as if he was going to be to contend with Bloomquist and Owens for the win, but he could never muster enough of a challenge in the final laps. He settled for third in the Big Dog Motorsports, Clements Racing Engines, Warrior Chevrolet.

Pearson continues to show marked improvement in the Bobby Labonte Racing Longhorn Chassis as he climbed to second in points with his fourth place run in the Lucas Oil Products, Mountain Khakis Dodge. Reddick, in the Broken Bow Records, Stoney Creek Records, Gaerte Racing Engines-powered Team Zero by Bloomquist entry came from 10th to finish fifth.

Completing the top ten were Tim Senic of Elkins, WV; Josh Richards of Shinnston, WV; John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; Jeremy Miller of Littlestown, PA; and Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, IL.

In preliminary action Josh Richards was the Red Buck Cigars Fast Qualifier among the 44 entrants. Heat race winners were Jared Hawkins, Austin Dillon, Jason Covert and Eric Wells. Brian Birkhofer and Don O’Neal won their respective B-Mains.

Coming up Saturday Night, April 21st, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be at Hagerstown Speedway in Hagerstown, MD for the Stanley Schetrompf Classic paying $10,000 to win. For more information, visit www.hagerstownspeedway.com.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com or follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt. Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt SeriesRace Summary Friday Night, April 20, 2012 Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex – Markleysburg, PA

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time:  Josh Richards / 15.885 seconds (Group A and Overall) Jason Covert / 16.077 seconds (Group B)

Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Jared Hawkins, Scott Bloomquist, John Blankenship, Tim Senic, Brian Birkhofer, DJ Myers, Mike Benedum, Josh Richards, Gregg Satterlee, Billy Holbert, David Watts

U. S. Steel Second Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Austin Dillon, Jimmy Owens, Jeremy Miller, Chuck Harper, Tim Fuller, Jared Landers, Bob Gordon, Gary Dalton, Ron DeLano, Jr., LC Powers, Devin Friese

Simpson Performance Products Third Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Jason Covert, Dale McDowell, Tyler Reddick, Dennis Erb, Jr., Don O’Neal,Jonathan Davenport, Robbie Blair, Danny Mitchell, Scott Rhodes, Jon Hodgkiss, Steve Shaver

HAWK Brakes Fourth Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Eric Wells, Earl Pearson, Jr., Steve Francis, Jacob Hawkins, Kenny PettyJohn, Jamie Lathroum, Daniel Stone, Mark Booth, Cody Hardesty, Austin Hubbard, Mason Zeigler

JRi Shocks First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Brian Birkhofer, Jared Landers, Josh Richards, Bob Gordon, Tim Fuller, Gregg Satterlee, DJ Myers, Devin Friese, David Watts, Ron DeLano, Jr., Billy Holbert, LC Powers, Mike Benedum, Gary Dalton

PAC Racing Springs Second B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Don O’Neal, Jonathan Davenport, Kenny Pettyjohn, Rob Blair, Jamie Lathroum, Austin Hubbard, Dan Stone, Scott Rhodes, Danny Mitchell, Mark Booth, Jon Hodgkiss, Cody Hardesty, NS – Steve Shaver, NS – Mason Zeigler

Feature Finish – 50 Laps

1 5 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
2 7 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
3 6 17m Dale McDowell Chickamauga, GA
4 8 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
5 10 11T Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
6 13 s2 Tim Senic Elkins, WV
7 21 25 Josh Richards Shinnston, WV
8 9 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
9 11 1m Jeremy Miller Littlestown, PA
10 14 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
11 2 43a Jason Covert York Haven, PA
12 23 11h Austin Hubbard Seaford, DE
13 17 15b Brian Birkhofer Muscatine, IA
14 4 18e Eric Wells Hazard, KY
15 22 38 Kenny PettyJohn Millsboro, DE
16 24 1 Tim Fuller Watertown, NY
17 3 3 Austin Dillon Lexington, NC
18 18 71 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN
19 1 37 Jared Hawkins Fairmont, WV
20 19 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
21 15 00h Chuck Harper Beverly, WV
22 16 20H Jacob Hawkins Fairmont, WV
23 25 88r Scott Rhodes Somerset, PA
24 20 15d Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA
25 12 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY


Race Statistics Entrants: 44 Lap Leaders: Jason Covert (Lap 1): Scott Bloomquist (Laps 2 – 50) Caution Flags: Steve Francis (Lap 5); Jonathan Davenport (Lap 23); Jared Landers (Lap 45) Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisional: Austin Hubbard Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: none Red Buck Cigars Fast Time Provisional: Tim Fuller Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex Track Provisional: Scott Rhodes Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Josh Richards (Started 21st; Finished 7th; Advanced 14 positions) Allstar Performer of the Race: Tyler Reddick Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens ASi Racewear Challenge Finisher: Jimmy Owens Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: Austin Hubbard COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Roush-Yates Engines Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Bloomquist Race Cars Sweet Mfg Crew Chief of the Race: Shane McDowell (Dale McDowell) Time of Race: 27 minutes 03 seconds