4.21.18 Spring Nationals Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

4.21.18 Spring Nationals Late Models Results

By Chris Tilley, Series Publicist
UNION, KY (April 21, 2018)—Devin Gilpin etched his name in the record books of Florence Speedway on Saturday Night capturing his first-career Spring 50, an elusive victory of the storied 42-year history of the event which was sanctioned by the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV.
This was also Gilpin’s first series victory, which was worth $5,000 to the Columbus, Ind. driver who drove the Jim Beeman-owned, Beeman Lumber, Ellis Gas and Oil, Bradley Machine and Jason Clarkson-sponsored Jay Dickens Racing Engines-powered MasterSbilt Race Car. Gilpin also became the 25th different winner in 49 series events held since the inception in 2013.
From the drop of the green flag it was all Michael Chilton for the first 16 circuits of the 50-lapper. Gilpin would duel with Chilton for the top spot before eventually taking to the point on lap 17. Gilpin would lead two laps before relinquishing the lead back to Chilton on the 19th lap. Chilton would hold the lead until ten to go when Gilpin would make his move to grab the lead and go on to win the event over Chilton, Eric Wells, Steve Casebolt and 13th starter Eddie Carrier Jr. who finished fifth.
Three cautions slowed the main event. The first yellow came on lap 30 as when Nick Latham slowed on the track, the second yellow came on lap 31 as fifth-running Jason Jameson slowed. The final yellow came on the restart as Casey Roberts spun in turn four.
The next Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series races will be May 24 at Crossville (Tenn.) Speedway, May 25 at Boyd’s (GA) Speedway, May 26 at Dixie (GA) Speedway and May 27 at Rome (GA) Speedway.
Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com.
Official Summary of Results
Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals at Florence Speedway in Union, KY on April 21, 2018
1. Devin Gilpin-Columbus, Ind.
2. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
3. Eric Wells-Hazard, Ky.
4. Steve Casebolt-Richmond, Ind.
5. Eddie Carrier Jr.-Salt Rock, W.V.
6. Nick Hoffman-Mooresville, N.C.
7. Robby Hensley-Walton, Ky.
8. Aaron Ridley-Chatsworth, Ga.
9. Duane Chamberlain-Richmond, Ind.
10. Zach Leonhardi-Cartersville, Ga.
11. Jason Miller-Berryville, Va.
12. Nick Latham-Winchester, Ohio
13. Billy Green-Walton, Ky.
14. Trevor Landrum-Erlanger, Ky.
15. Dustin Nobbe-Batesville, Ind.
16. Kody Evans-Camden, Ohio
17. Chicky Barton-Middlesboro, Ky.
18. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
19. Ted Nobbe-Batesville, Ind.
20. Bill Blair Jr.-Amelia, Ohio
21. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
22. Jason Jameson-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
23. Josh Rice-Verona, Ky.
24. Forrest Trent-Talbott, Tenn.
Time of Race: 33 minutes, 44 seconds
Margin of Victory: 00.319 seconds
Yellow Flags: 3 (laps 30, 31, 31 restart)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Chilton (1-16), Gilpin (17-18), Chilton (19-39), Gilpin (40-50)
Entries: 28
Overall Top Qualifier: Dustin Nobbe (Group A) 15,998 seconds (earned $1,049)
Provisional Starters: Ryan King, Chicky Barton
Dash (4 laps)- Jason Jameson, Michael Chilton, Casey Roberts, Dustin Nobbe
Heat One Finish (10 laps/top-6 transfer)- Eric Wells, Aaron Ridley, Nick Hoffman, Robby Hensley, Erie Carrier Jr., Jason Miller, Trevor Landrum, Kody Evans, Bill Blair Jr., Jesse Lay, Chicky Barton, Nathan Vawter
Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top-6 transfer)- Devin Gilpin, Steve Casebolt, Duane Chamberlain, Zach Leonhardi, Nick Latham, Ted Nobbe, Ryan King, Josh Rice, Forrest Trent, Alan Magner, Billy Green, Roger Williams.
Consey Finish (10 laps/top-6 transfer)-Trevor Landrum, Kody Evans, Josh Rice, Bill Blair Jr., Billy Green, Forrest Trent, Alan Magner, Chicky Barton, Jesse Lay, Nathan Vawter, Roger Williams, Ryan King
Current Spring Nationals Points:
1. Eric Wells-1,132
2. Zach Leonhardi-1,078
3. Aaron Ridley-1,076
4. Casey Roberts-1,066
5. Ryan King-1,008
6. Chicky Barton-838
7. Brandon Kinzer-826
8. Jason Jameson-710
9. Shanon Buckingham-710
10. David Payne-682