4.28.18 Southern Nationals Bonus Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

4.28.18 Southern Nationals Bonus Late Models Results

By Michael Despain
BLUE RIDGE, GA – April 28, 2018 – The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV would return to action on Saturday evening at Blue Ridge Motorsports Park in Blue Ridge, GA with $4,000 to win up for grabs and Shawn Chastain would score the big payday.
Shawn Chastain’s victory came after his brother and early race leader Johnny Chastain would suffer a flat tire at the three-quarter mark of the 40-lap contest and would be Shawn’s second career series victory. The win for Shawn Chastain would come behind the wheel of his Simms Construction, Interstate Welding sponsored #15 Longhorn Chassis sporting a Clements Race Engine.
Johnny Chastain would jump to the early race lead, with Shawn Chastain, Will Roland, Gary McPherson, and Chicky Barton giving chase. Johnny Chastain would open a comfortable advantage in the early going on to lose it when Adam Ruff would spin his machine in turn four to draw the first caution of the event on lap four. Once action resumed, Johnny Chastain would again open up to a comfortable lead, while second through fourth would remain the same, and was about to start working slower traffic when Randy Dillard spun in turn two to draw the second caution of the race. Johnny Chastain would again build a comfortable lead on the ensuing restart, while Ray Cook and Aaron Ridley battled Barton for the fifth spot. Ruff would draw his second caution of the contest when his spun in turn two and would be done for the night.
On this restart, second-place Shawn Chastain would be able to stay with brother Johnny Chastain in pursuit of the lead, while Ridley would get around Barton for fifth on lap twenty-four only to see Cook take the same spot from Ridley two circuits later one lap twenty-six. Lap twenty-nine would turn out to be the turning point in the event as Johnny Chastain would slow with a flat right-rear tire and the tire would shred before he could exit the track, bringing out the caution flag. This would give Shawn Chastain the race lead on the restart, with Will Roland nipping at his heels, with McPherson now third, Cook fourth, and Barton fifth. A flat right-rear tire on McPherson’s mount would slow the event one final time on lap thirty-six, with McPherson changing the tire and returning to action. Shawn Chastain would lead the remaining laps of the event and see the checkered flag first, while Cook would squeeze past Roland on the final circuit to finish second, while Roland hung on for third with a flat right-rear tire as he crossed the finish line. Barton would finish fourth, while David Payne would charge the top-side of the racing surface after the final start to claim the fifth position. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Ridley, Jamie Oliver, Kurt English, Andy Standridge, and McPherson.
The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV next event will be Saturday May 12 at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, GA, paying $5,053 to win.
Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com.
Official Summary of Results
Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series at Blue Ridge Motorsports Park in Blue Ridge, GA on April 28, 2018
1. Shawn Chastain-Murphy, N.C.
2. Ray Cook-Brasstown, N.C.
3. Will Roland-Jasper, Ga.
4. Chicky Barton-Middlesboro, Ky.
5. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
6. Aaron Ridley-Chatsworth, Ga.
7. Jamie Oliver-Murphy, N.C.
8. Kurt English-Murphy, N.C.
9. Andy Standridge-Telico Plains, Tenn.
10. Gary McPherson-Dalton, Ga.
11. Chuck Padgett-Jasper, Ga.
12. Jeff Neubert-Rockford, Tenn.
13. Johnny Chastain-Murphy, N.C.
14. Adam Ruff-Dallas, Ga.
15. Tim Rucker-Madisonville, Tenn.
16. Skip Arp-Georgetown, Tenn.
17. Randy Dillard-Epworth, Ga.
18. Jason Deal-Ducktown, Tenn.
19. Josh Morrow-Murphy, N.C.
20. Craig Greer-Cleveland, Tenn. (Did Not Start)
Time of Race: 27 minutes, 2 seconds
Margin of Victory: N/A
Yellow Flags: 5 (lap 4, 14, 22, 30, 36)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Johnny Chastain (1-29), Shawn Chastain (30-40)
Entries: 20
Overall Top Qualifier: Shawn Chastain (Group B) 15.244 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Chuck Padgett
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200): Andy Standridge
Provisional Starters: None
Current Bonus Series Points:
1. David Payne-572
2. Aaron Ridley-558
3. Chicky Barton-546
4. Ricky Weiss-396
5. Shawn Chastain-392
6. Casey Roberts-380
7. Jamie Oliver-376
8. Shanon Buckingham-372
9. Brent Dixon-370
10. Kenny Collins-360