4.7.12 Southern All Star Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

4.7.12 Southern All Star Late Models Results

CLEVELAND, TN-The Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series kicked off it’s 30th Anniversary tour with the 17th Annual Shamrock 50 at the Cleveland Speedway Saturday night and for the Jimmy Owens faithful, they were happy when it was over as he cooled off a hot Dale McDowell to capture the $10,000 first place prize.

29 cars signed in with McDowell setting fast time along with 2011 Southern All Star Champion Billy Ogle Jr second and Owens third as they would get the pole positions for the three Hoosier Racing Tire heat races. In heat one McDowell took the win over Vic Hill, Ray Cook, David Payne, John Lobb and Mike Weeks as they would advance to the main event. In heat two Ogle took the win over Clint Smith, Eric Wells, randy Weaver, Skip Arp and Dillon Wood, and the third heat race went to Owens with Tommy Kerr second, Brad Neat third, Mike Marlar fourth, Shane Clanton fifth and Tyler Millwood sixth. These 18 cars were locked into the main with one VP Race Fuels B Main and went to Mark Vineyard over Chad Ogle, Brian Reese and Johnny Chastain as they advanced into the show along with provisional’s Steve Smith and Ross White.

At the drop of the McDowell moved into he top spot with Ogle pulling high down the backstretch to try and take the lead from McDowell but McDowell battled hard the two race side by side until Ogle finally got the top spot and started to pull ahead of McDowell during the first few laps of the race.

Then Owens started to make his move and he got by McDowell and then set his sights on Ogle and took care of him before lap 20 and then went on to survive one more caution flag just past the halfway point to take the win. McDowell came home into the second spot with a very good battle for the third spot between two Southern All Star Champions and Billy Ogle edged out Clint Smith for the third and fourth spots and Brad Neat came home in the fifth spot.

Rounding out the top ten were Randy Weaver sixth, Vic Hill seventh, Mike Marlar eighth, Shane Clanton ninth and Eric Wells tenth.

The next event on the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series schedule is Saturday night April 1`4th at the Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN., a 50 lap $5,000 to win event sponsored by WIMZ Classic Rock 103.5 Racing with the Stars

The Southern All Stars would like to extend their appreciation to all the drivers and teams that attended the 17th Annual Shamrock and look forward to seeing you and your teams at many of the events throughout the year.

OFFICIAL FINISH: Jimmy Owens; 2.Dale McDowell; 3.Billy Ogle Jr; 4.Clint Smith; 5.Brad Neat; 6.Randy Weaver; 7.Vic Hill; 8.Mike Marlar; 9.Shane Clanton; 10.Eric Wells; 11.Tyler Millwood; 12.John Lobb; 13.Chad Ogle; 14.Ross White; 15.Brian Reese; 16.Dillon Wood; 17.Skip Arp; 18.Ray Cook; 19.Mark Vineyard; 20.Steve Smith; 21.Mike Weeks; 22.Tommy Kerr; 23.David Payne; 24.Johnny Chastain

SOUTHERN ALL STAR DIRT RACING SERIES TOP 10:1.Jimmy Owens 100; 2.Dale McDowell 96; 3.Billy Ogle Jr 94; 4.Clint Smith 92; 5.Brad Neat 90; 6.Randy Weaver 88; 7.Vic Hill 86; 8.Mike Marlar 84; 9.Shane Clanton 82; 10.Eric Wells 80


April 14th– Smoky Mountain Speedway—Maryville, TN–$5,000

May 5th—Talladega Short Track-Eastaboga, AL–$3,500

May 12th—Cleveland Speedway—Cleveland, TN–$3,500