5.12.18 Comp Cams Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

5.12.18 Comp Cams Late Models Results

Columbus, Mississippi (05/12/18) – The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil rolled into Magnolia Motor Speedway on Saturday night, where Louisiana’s B.J. Robinson overcame challenging track conditions and a talented field of racers to score the $2,500 victory.
It was his first-career win with the tour.
“We’ve been so close to getting one of these (CCSDS win), and just kept coming up short, but tonight all of the cards fell our way,” Robinson said in Victory Lane. “Even before (Jack) Sullivan and (Rick) Rickman had their mechanical troubles our car was starting to come around, and I felt like we had a shot to win. The track was really challenging tonight, but I’m proud to finally win one here.
“I just wish that Mr. David Peterson could have been here tonight for this win because he’s done so much to support my racing career.”
Chandler Petty and Brian Rickman brought the field to the green flag for the 40-lap affair with Petty snaring the lead.
Petty led the first 10 laps before Rick Rickman took over the top spot. A few laps later, Jack Sullivan moved into the second position.
Rick Rickman led until lap 16 when Jack Sullivan took the lead on a restart. A few laps later Rickman would retire with mechanical trouble.
Sullivan cruised to a comfortable advantage over the next several laps, but on lap 30 mechanical gremlins would strike ending his night.
B.J. Robinson inherited the lead and went on to cruise to the win. Gavin Landers surged in the closing laps to finish second, while Chandler Petty finished third.
There have now been eight winners in the first ten series events in 2018.
Gavin Landers was the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger or advancing from ninth to finish second. Robert Baker received the Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award after a vicious end-over-end flip in qualifying brought his night to an early end. Luckily, he was uninjured.
The tour will now enjoy a three-week break before returning to action on June 1-2 with an Arkansas doubleheader. Action resumes on Friday, June 1 with a $2,000-to-win event at Crowley’s Ridge Raceway (Paragould, Arkansas). On Saturday evening the annual Rockabilly will be contested as racers pursue a $5,000 top prize.
For more information on the events, please visit www.CRRaceway.com and www.I-30Speedway.com .
The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Racing Tires, Larry Shaw Race Cars, New Vision Graphics, Black Diamond Chassis, Midwest Sheet Metal, Beene Oil Co., Quarter Master, Allen Manufacturing, Mid State Golf Cars, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mark Martin Powersports, Henryetta Ford, Central Arkansas Pest Services, Beach Veterinary Services, Racing Head Service, Kellick Farms, Midwest Automation, P&W Sales, and MSR Mafia Marketing Services.
For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .
COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – May 12, 2018
Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, MS)
Feature Results (40 Laps)
1)BJ Robinson 2)Gavin Landers 3)Chandler Petty 4)Spencer Hughes 5)Shay Knight 6)Shane Stephens 7)Hunter Rasdon 8)Tombo Callahan 9)Tanner Kellick 10)Jack Sullivan 11)Rick Rickman 12)Jamie Tollison 13)Brian Rickman 14)Scott Dedwylder 15)Robby Moore 16)Brett White 17)Klint Byars 18)Kyle Shaw 19)David Payne 20)Dane Dacus
DNS: Clay Fisher, Shelby Sheedy, Robert Baker Cory Pennington
Entries: 24
MSR Mafia Fast Qualifier: Chandler Petty (13.517 seconds)
Black Diamond Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: Chandler Petty
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Brian Rickman
ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #3 Winner: Rick Rickman
Hoosier Race Tire B-Main Winner: Scott Dedwylder
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Chandler Petty
Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award: Robert Baker
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Gavin Landers (9th-2nd)
COMP Cams Top Performer: B.J. Robinson
Lap Leaders: Chandler Petty (1-9), Rick Rickman (10-16), Jack Sullivan (17-30), B.J. Robinson (31-40)
Cautions: 3
Red Flag: 0