5.18.18 Sooner Late Model Series Results - Dirt Racing Report

5.18.18 Sooner Late Model Series Results

By John Rittenoure – ARDMORE, Okla. (May 18, 2018) – In 2016 Kip Hughes won the Inaugural Sooner Late Model Series main event. Friday Hughes returned to where it all started and picked up his second Sooner Late Model career victory.
It was a nice way to start a two-race weekend after enduring some back luck two weeks ago at Enid Speedway. Hughes cut a tire while charging toward the front of his heat race at Enid then had to run the B feature to make the A feature after changing engines in the crate motor powered late model.
That was not the case Friday. Hughes started seventh in the 25-lap main and worked his way through traffic to take the lead. This time nothing would stop Hughes from posting his second Southern Oklahoma Speedway victory.
Hughes was followed across the line by Nate Jantz, who won the last SLMS race here on April 20. Steven Hawkins, Eddie Tidwell, and Sloppy Hogg rounded out the top five.
Sooner Late Model Series
Southern Oklahoma Speedway
May 18, 2018
Car count: 15
Heat 1 (10 laps)
1, Mark Harrison. 2, Eddie Tidwell. 3, Wayne Bush. 4, Nate Jantz. 5, Gary Lowe. 6, Eric Brill. 7, David Moore. 8, Jason Redman.
Heat 2 (10 laps)
1, Sloppy Hogg. 2, Kip Hughes. 3, Steven Hawkins. 4, Mark Brill. 5, David Lane. 6, Kara Langley. 7, Sammy Wilson.
A Feature (25 laps)
1, Kip Hughes. 2, Nate Jantz. 3, Steven Hawkins. 4, Eddie Tidwell. 5, Sloppy Hogg. 6, Mark Brill. 7, David Moore. 8, Gary Lowe. 9, David Lane. 10, Kara Langley. 11, Jark Harrison. 12, Jason Redman. 13, Eric Brill. 14, Wayne Bush. 15, Sammy Wilson.