5.24.14 Southern All Star Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

5.24.14 Southern All Star Late Models Results

HOHENWALD, TN–The Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series returned to the ¼ mile Tennessee National Raceway for the first time since 1993 and the huge crowd on hand did not leave disappointed as Todd Morrow of East Ridge, TN., came form his 10th stating spot to take over the lead with less than 10 laps remaining to get his second win of the season with the series and a $4,000 paycheck.

Brad Skinner of Spring Hill, TN., and Anthony Burroughs of Minden, LA., led both groups in White Performance qualifying and started on the front row. Skinner jumped out and led the first two laps with Burroughs getting under Skinner to take over the top spot and then pull ahead a few car lengths over the rest of the field, until a caution came out and bunched the field back up behind Burroughs.

Burroughs brought the field aback around for the restart and then had a full pack of cars behind him with Dane Dacus of Lakeview, TN., making a strong charge to the front from his 5th starting spot and he took over the top spot from Burroughs on lap 21. Dacus who was looking for his second career win with the series looked to be the man to beat as he continued to stretch his lead over the rest of the field.

A few late race cautions is not what Dacus wanted and this allowed Morrow to work his way up through the field and with less than 10 laps reaming he moved under Dacus coming off turn four and took the lead and held on to get his second win of the season. Dacus came home in the second spot, points leader Riley Hickman of Cleveland, TN., had a up and won night with a highest running spot of 2nd and a lowest of 6th, but brought home a third place finish, fourth place went to Mark Fields of Lawrenceburg, TN., in his first race with the series this year and fifth place went to the current Cruise with the Champions/Dirt On Dirt Rookie of the Year Chris Wilson of Crossville, TN., who worked his way up from 12th starting spot to grab a top five finish.

Finishing in the sixth place was Eric Hickerson of Linden, TN., who was also making his first appearance of the 2014 season with the series qualified 3rd, but fell back late in the race, seventh went to pole sitter Brad Skinner who also faded back late in the race, eighth to Josh Putnam of Florence, AL., who worked his way into the top five and then fell back out of the top ten and late in the race made a charge to get back and finish in the top ten, ninth place went to Scott Shelton of Sparta, TN., and tenth was David Seibers of Petersburg, TN for their best finishes of the season with the series.

Riley Hickman continues to lead the series point’s standings but the real point’s battle is from 2nd through fifth as Dylan Ames, Josh Putnam, Chris Wilson and Todd Morrow are all within 20 points of each other heading into the next race.

The next Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series event will be on Saturday night June 14th at the Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, TN., for the second annual Scott Sexton Memorial 52 laps $5,200 to win.

For more information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 924-4546, lynn.acklin@sasdirt.com or you can log on to the official series website at www.sasdirt.com . Also, LIKE the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or be a FOLLOWER on Twitter @SASDIRT.

White Performance Fast Qualifier: Brad Skinner
PPM Racing Products B Main Winners: David Seibers and Todd Morrow
AR Bodies Last Car On Lead Lap: Anthony Burroughs

Tennessee National Raceway Official Finish: 1.Todd Morrow; 2.Dane Dacus; 3.Riley Hickman; 4.Mark Fields; 5.Chris Wilson; 6.Eric Hickerson; 7.Brad Skinner; 8.Josh Putnam; 9.Scott Shelton; 10.David Seibers; 11.Brandon Kinzer; 12.Daniel Miller; 13.Dylan Ames; 14.Anthony Burroughs; 15.Mark Green; 16.Perry Delaney; 17.Mark Gant; 18.Mark Dowdy; 19.Dustin Stutts; 20.Derrick White; 21.Oakley Johns; 22.Donald Johns

Current Southern All Star Racing Series Top Ten Point Standings: 1.Riley Hickman 560; 2.Dylan Ames 476; 3.Josh Putnam 472; 4.Chris Wilson 462; 5.Todd Morrow 456; 6.Bo Shirley 372; 7.Joe Armistead 342; 8.Jason Hiett 286; 9.Brandon Kinzer 242; 10.William Thomas 216

Cruise With the Champions/DirtonDirt.com Rookie of the Year Point Standings: 1.Chris Wilson 152; 2.Dylan Ames 148; 3.Mark Gant 91; 4.Cale Finley 69;

Southern All Star Racing Series 2014 Event Winners:
March 22-Riley Hickman-Boyd’s Speedway
March 29-Joe Armistead-East Alabama Motor Speedway
April 26-Billy Ogle Jr-Smoky Mt Speedway
May 3-Todd Morrow-Talladega Short Track
May 17-Waycross Motor Speedway-Ivedent Lloyd
May 24-Tennessee National Raceway-Todd Morrow

Upcoming Southern All Star Racing Series Events:
June 14-Volunteer Speedway-Bulls Gap, TN-$5,200
June 21-Talladega Short Track-Eastaboga, AL,-$4,200

2014 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Sponsors: *Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Star Racing Series *Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Star Racing Series *Sunoco Race Fuel “The Official Racing Fuel” of the Southern All Star Racing Series

2014 Southern All Star Racing Series Marketing Partners Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Butlerbuilt Racing Seats, Cruise with the Champions, DirtonDirt.com, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, , MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products, RockAuto.com, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Ed Lowe, The Joie of Seating, WhitePerformance.com

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report