5.25.12 Albany Saratoga Speedway Results - Dirt Racing Report

5.25.12 Albany Saratoga Speedway Results

Malta, NY – Malta, NY — Need you ask? Brett Hearn’s dominance at Albany Saratoga Speedway just continues as Hearn picked up the win in the 35 lap $3,000 to win Modified feature event which was sponsored by County Waste and Bedell Racing Engines.

Hearn brought the Madsen Motorsports automobile to victory lane for the fourth time this season. It was his 101st win at the Malta based oval.

“We had a busy week, we had some crazy hours in the shop,” said Hearn during post-race ceremonies. “I’ve got to give a lot of credit to my guys.”

Ironically Hearn’s first win at the ‘Great Race Place’ came 18 years ago on Memorial Day Weekend.

The Ronca Brothers were impressive throughout the feature. Rich Ronca was the only one to hold the race lead until Hearn made his way up front. Older brother Don would be the one to follow Hearn across the finish line.

Ronnie Johnson, fastest chauffeur in pre-race practice and then again
prior to the feature, finished in the third slot. Rich Ronca and Jeff
Trombley rounded out the top five.

Chuck Dickinson led the 25 lap, first of two, Budget Sportsman Jumpin Jack’s Pro Speed sponsored events from wire to wire. Dickinson held off challenges from Dan Santabarbara and Brian Gleason to secure his first win since April 2009.

Prior to the halfway point Gleason secured second place while
Santabarbara, Jon Miller and Frank Hoard III rounded out the top five.

The second Jumpin Jack’s Pro Speed Budget Sportsman event mirrored the first. This time it was Fred Proctor ruling the 25 lap event.

“I’ve got to thank my cousin Steve, he bought us a new set of tires for tonight… Stevie this one is for you buddy,” said Proctor in victory
lane. “What a difference new tires make on the racecar. We struggled for the last few weeks and I’m estatic.”

Robert Bublak, Jack Gentile, Tim Hartman Jr. and Mike ‘Rollin’ Tholin rounded out the top five.

It was a first career win for Pro Stock driver Dan Older in the 25 lap
Pro Stock feature. Older, who treated the fans to some good side-by-side racing on his way up from the fifth place starting spot, used lap 21 to
take the second place spot and then the lead.

“We have been working on this since the beginning of the year and slowly getting better and better,” said Older.

It was a good night for Bill Smith who owned the event until Older made his
presence known. Smith finished second and was followed by Brandon Emigh, Ken Martin and Chad Jeseo rounded out the top five.

The previous week Paul Mulrain thought he had a third place run in the
record books but he went to victory lane instead after contact was made between the first two runners coming down for the checkers. This week it was no surprise as Mulrain took the lead on lap seven and never looked back in the 20 lap Street Stock feature event.

Yule Cook and Rowdy Burch swapped positions throughout the 20 lap event and Cook would own the runner up position when the event concluded. Ken Conroy, Rowdy Burch and Jody Thew rounded out the top five.

*Bits:* The dual sportsman feature events were an effort by management to deal with the huge car counts in the Budget Sportsman division. The features were sponsored by Jumpin Jack’s Speed Shop and allowed everyone to secure some seat time… County Waste and Bedell Racing Engines were responsible for the $3,000 Modified feature payoff… Marc Johnson finished in the last qualifying spot in the Modified Consolation event but Johnson was smoking excessively when the checkered flag dropped. All was corrected and
he salvaged the night with an 11th place run… Matt Delorenzo finished fourth and had to use his top-five status in the point standings to gain his way into the feature. Matty D had a tough night, with a few pit stops and a 22nd place finish… Kim Lavoy was present and has two sportsman wins at Lebanon Valley Speedway, unfortunately, she was not able to qualify for the modified feature event but was able to get laps under her belt … Lavoy has only been on the Malta oval on a few occasions…
County Waste and Bedell Racing Engines $3,000 To Win Modified (35 Laps) 1. Brett Hearn, 2. Don Ronca, 3. Ronnie Johnson, 4. Rich Ronca, 5. Jeff Trombley, 6. Mark Kislowski, 7. Ken Tremont Jr, 8. Keith Flach, 9. Neil Stratton, 10. Hector Stratton, 11. Marc Johnson, 12. Matt Depew, 13. Joe Williams, 14. Elmo Reckner, 15. Bodie Bellinger, 16. Jimmy Cottrell, 17. Jason Herrington, 18. Donnie Corellis, 19. Josh Hohenfordst, 20. J.C. Flach, 21. Chris Busta, 22. Matt Delorenzo, 23. Bob Savoie, 24. Justin Barber, 25. Erik Nelson, 26. Mike Perrotte 27. Pep Corradi, 28. C.G. Morey, DNQ. Kim LaVoy, DNQ. Dustin Delaney, DNQ. Cass Bennett, DNQ. Chris Johnson, DNQ. Justin Boehler

Jumpin Jacks Pro Speed Budget Sportsman A-Feature #1 (25 Laps) 1. Chuck
Dickinson, 2. Brian Gleason, 3. Dan Santabarbara, 4. Jon Miller, 5. Frank Hoard III,
6. Bobby Hackel IV, 7. D.J. Brundige, 8. Andy Durie, 9. Jack Swinton, 10. Jeremy
Pitts, 11. Derek McGrew, 12. Jeremy Digert, 13. Mike Jeske, 14. Chip Constantino,
15. Chris Murray, 16. Leo Sousie, 17. Jack Speshock, 18. Jim Osgood, 19. Larry
Niemiec, 20. Nick Lussier, 21. Mike Duclos, 22. Anthony Marro, 23. Bert Film, 24. Elliott Lussier, 25. Ivan Joslin, 26. Matt Shadic, 27. Mark Hughes, DNS. Rick Lamont

Jumpin Jacks Pro Speed Budget Sportsman A-Feature #2 (25 Laps) 1. Fred
Proctor, 2. Robert Budlak, 3. Jack Gentile, 4. Tim Hartman Jr, 5. Mike Tholin, 6.
Scott Duell, 7. Dan Boni, 8. Jeff Rockefeller, 9. Adam McAuliffe, 10. Stan Lemiesz,
11. Mike Burdo, 12. Brett Wright, 13. Mike Ostrander, 14. Jerry Campbell, 15. Joe
Orlando, 16. Kenny Aanonsen Jr, 17. Dave Baranowski Jr, 18. Colin Clow, 19. Cody
Hunt, 20. Tom Proctor, 21. Ron Casey, 22. Butch Wilcox, 23. Pete Jeske, 24. Joey
Budka, 25. Shannon Donnelly, 26. Luke Klob, DNS. Mike DuBois

Pro Stock Results (25 Laps) 1. Dan Older, 2. Bill Smith, 3. Brandon Emigh, 4. Ken
Martin, 5. Chad Jeseo, 6. Rob Yetman, 7. Kevin VanChance, 8. Rob Langevin, 9. Dave
Emigh, 10. Bernie Campanion, 11. Dean Charbonneau, 12. Chip Smith, 13. Jay
Fitzgerald, 14. Cole Lawton, 15. Walt Brownell, DNS. Kim Duell

Street Stock Results (20 Laps) 1. Paul Mulrain, 2. Yule Cook, 3. Ken Conroy, 4.
Rowdy Burch, 5. Jody Thew, 6. Justin Smith, 7. Nathan DaHoda, 8. Mitchell Sequin 9.
J.T. Ronner, 10. Scott Lawrence, 11. Jay Severson, 12. John Lindblade