Sunday, December 10, 2023

5.25.18 FASTRAK Racing Series Results

PINE HALL, NC – The 14th Annual FASTRAK Triple Crown, which features almost $35,000 in total purse money, kicked off Friday evening at the 1/2 mile immaculate well-lit 311 Speedway in Pine Hall, NC for a $2500 to win kickoff to decide who’d claim a Grandfather Clock, courtesy of NRV Furniture, Inc. Furniture and Mattress Center. Thirty-Two entries from 7 different states battled it out in front of a spectacular crowd for the first leg of the 14th FASTRAK Triple Crown series co-headlined also with a $4000 to win ULTIMATE Southeast Super Late Model Series event during the Annual Bill Hicks Memorial Race. At night’s end it was a special evening for the Hicks family as #55 Benji Hicks would win the ULTIMATE Series race and the Hicks owned Longhorn chassis driven by defending FASTRAK World Champion #79 Ross Bailes from Clover, SC would take the $2500 payday. When the evening concluded there moments of tears and laughter for a remarkable night for the entire Hicks family, no one will never forget that attended.
The race got kicked off with VP Racing Fuels QUICKTIME Group Qualifying with also bonus money up for grabs thanks to the local CarQuest Auto Parts, the #29 of Dale Moore from Reidsville, NC set the fast time being the last car in Group A to bump #55 Hicks from the pole with a 17.703 sec lap around the 1/2 mile. Group B fast qualifier was the #00v of Josh Henry from Newport, TN with a 17.894 sec lap. The Group B portion of qualifying was halted for about 20 minutes after a little passing shower that turned out to be the only delay for precipitation of the event.
After the completion of time trials came the 4-10 lap heat races locking in the top 5 won by, #17 Logan Roberson, #79 Ross Bailes, #55 Benji Hicks and #75 Brett Hamm. The B-Main saw the #1 Dustin Ferguson take the 12 lap last chance race and then through Tony Hicks and FASTRAK was the special Hicks 10 Lap showdown, which featured all the cars not locked into the A-main having the shot at $250 only or starting in position spot #25 with a guaranteed $250 to start the feature but the opportunity to climb the purse ladder. #5j Virginia Darrell Dow would take the 10 lap shootout but quickly announced he’s starting shotgun of the field for the A-Main. After the 4 wide salute with drivers showing ‘old glory’ proudly with fireworks and bombs bursting through the air as well it was time to kick off the “race for the Grandfather Clock” in front of a standing room facility in western North Carolina.
The race would get underway with the opening 5 laps offering intense 3-4 wide racing, the early leader would be Roberson in #17 however on the restart after a sequence of yellow involving #5j Darrell Dow and #2 Michael Bland, this was only the mere beginning of a storm brewing on the speedway. On the 3rd attempt at the restart on lap #12 ‘the big one’ happened exiting off turn 4, the incident began when Dow lost power to his engine while the lead lap cars we’re overtaking him off the corner, he lost power and everyone behind him darted left and right to miss the #5j bulls eye in their view. This cause 8 cars to be collected including #71 Mitchell Coble, #2 Bland, #1 Ferguson, #54 Justin Wofford, #11 Cole Apple, #00 Randy Kinder, #17 Roberson and #75 Brett Hamm, all others continued but Hamm as he’d have to have assistance off the speedway via the “hook” ending his evening.
A few more yellows would halt the event with #54 Wofford and #8 Chis Chandler getting into a late race caution with #33g Shane Greco as well. Meanwhile throughout the race the excitement was close inside the top 5 between Bailes, Hicks and Roberson. They would continue to swap the lead positions for the top 3 podium spots constantly. Also in the mix was the current FASTRAK Racing Series powered by Chevrolet Performance points leader #4 of Matthew Nance, though Nance got collected in the big wreck he was able to sustain minimal damage on the Longhorn chassis to have another Top 5 finish.
The final caution would come out on lap 36 setting up a 4 lap shootout. On the restart #17 Roberson and #55 Hicks tried to hang with the entry of #79 Bailes but it what seemed to be saving his equipment or not showing ‘his cards’ race end showed Bailes put the #79 entry into stealth mode pulling away from Hicks, Nance and Henry. Roberson was the only driver that could reel in Bailes but as soon as he’d strike the hour glass came up short of the #79 Longhorn chassis owned by Billy and Tony Hicks would win in front of a roaring crescendo of fans that support and love the Hicks name at 311 Speedway and the competitor that Bailes is for the opening race of the 14th Annual FASTRAK Triple Crown Series to kick off the three race series for our Memorial Day weekend “festival of speed”.
Full Results – FASTRAK Racing Series powered by Chevrolet Performance at 311 Motor Speedway May 25, 2018 “Triple Crown”
Feature Results
1 – Ross Bailes
2 – Logan Roberson
3 – Benji Hicks
4 – Matthew Nance
5 – Josh Henry
6 – Corey Almond
7 – Bob Robertson
8 – Dale Moore
9 – Tyler Arrington
10 – Tristan Clawson
11 – Bryan Adams
12 – Brandon Umberger
13 – Terry Cregger
14 – Teddy Tate
15 – Luke Fleming
16 – Chris Chandler
17 – Shane Greco
18 – Randy Kinder
19 – Cole Apple
20 – Justin Wofford
21 – Dustin Ferguson
22 – Brett Hamm
23 – Darrell Dow
24 – Michael Bland
25 – Mitchell Coble
DNS: Carl Vaughn
DNS: Timmy Harrelson
DNS: Brad Basey
DNS: Jonathan Miracle
DNS: Neil Welch
DNS: Bill Tesh
DNS: Kenny Peeples
Heat 1
1) Logan Roberson; 2) Corey Almond; 3) Dale Moore; 4) Randy Kinder; 5) Terry Cregger; 6) Cole Apple; 7) Justin Wofford; 8) Carl Vaughn
Heat 2
1) Ross Bailes; 2) Matthew Nance; 3) Josh Henry; 4) Mitchell Coble; 5) Bryan Adams; 6) Timmy Harrelson; 7) Dustin Ferguson
Heat 3
1) Benji Hicks; 2) Tyler Arrington; 3) Brandon Umberger; 4) Shane Greco; 5) Michael Bland; 6) Luke Fleming; 7) Darrell Dow; 8) Brad Basey
Heat 4
1) Brett Hamm; 2) Bob Robertson; 3) Chris Chandler; 4) Tristan Clawson; 5) Teddy Tate; 6) Jonathan Miracle; 7) Neil Welch; 8) Bill Tesh
Saturday night, May 26th the FASTRAK Racing Series powered by Chevrolet Performance shifts to Princeton Speedway for another $2,000 to win event. Sunday again it’s The finale, at Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, VA on May 27th, paying $3,000 to win. The 2018 Champion will be crowned, along with a king’s crown, scepter and robe, on the front stretch at the high-banked half mile oval. Plus, the Grandfather Clock, courtesy of NRV Furniture and Mattress Center.
Check out the official website for the FASTRAK Racing Series at and continue to follow our social media networks for the FASTRAK Racing Series. Like and Follow our Fan Page on Facebook plus follow @FASTRAK_SE and/or @FASTRAK_MOV on Twitter to get up to the minute news and details as they become available.
The 2018 marketing partners for the FASTRAK Racing Series are Chevrolet Performance, Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuel, VP Racing Lubricants, FloRacing, Swift Springs, MyRacePass, TNT Race Cars, Arizona Sport Shirts, Simpson Safety Equipment,, Dirt Late Model Magazine and Thomas Clarke Performance.