5.26.12 Southern All Star Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

5.26.12 Southern All Star Late Models Results

MERIDIAN, MS (May 26, 2012)—Randy Weaver came from his 13th starting spot to claim his 15th career Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series event win on Saturday Night May 26th at Rodney Wing’s Whynot Motorsports Park in Meridian, MS. Weaver also became the 5th different winner in the first five events on the season with the $3,500 victory.

The Crossville, TN native took the lead from Klint Byars who had a broken spindle on the 22nd lap and held on to win during the 40-lapper. He drove the Outlaw Race Products sponsored Cornett Racing Engines powered GRT Race Car to the win.

The first of two yellow flags would wave on lap one as Jamie Elam, who started fourth, would spin in turn four. The second yellow flag would come out on lap 21 as William Thomas came to a stop in turn two.

The SAS Late Models will return tomorrow night with a 50-lap $5,000 to win event at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, MS for the Governor’s Cup event and the NESMITH Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series will also have a 40-lap $2,000 to win as part of Memorial Day Weekend special event.

Further information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 509-6603 or PR/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or you can log on to the official series website at www.sasdirt.com .

Official Summary of Results

Whynot Motorsports Park-Meridian, MS
Round #5 of 2012 Season (May 26)
Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Late Models

Feature Finish:
1. Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN
2. Scott Dedwylder-Vossburg, MS
3. Klint Byars-Calhoun City, MS
4. Henry Cooper-Star, MS
5. Rick Rickman-Columbus, MS
6. Chad Thrash-Collinsville, MS
7. Shan Smith-Dade City, FL
8. Jason Cliburn-Star, MS
9. Rodney Wing-Whynot, MS
10. Neil Baggett-Shannon, MS
11. Dane Dacus-Lakeland, TN
12. Mike Weeks-Friendsville, TN
13. Jamie Tollison-Kosciusko, MS
14. Scott Creel-Franklinton, LA
15. Stephen Brantley-Frisco City, AL
16. Eric Cooley-Fulton, MS
17. Dylan Ames-Harvest, AL
18. Bo Gordon-Shaw, MS
19. Larry Boutwell-Baker, FL
20. Brooks Strength-Brandon, MS
21. Jimmy Cliburn-Star, MS
22. William Thomas-Phenix City, AL
23. Jamie Elam-Senatobia, MS
24. Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth-Northport, AL

Yellow Flags: Two (laps 1 and 21)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Thomas (lap 1); Byars (lap 2); Thrash (laps 3-8); Byars (laps 9-21); Weaver (22-40)
Time of Race: 19 minutes/20 seconds
Entries: 32
Fast Time: Klint Byars-13:402 seconds
Series Provisionals: Shan Smith and Neil Baggett

Failing to make the show: Chris Hoomes, Dwight Falcon, Shep Lucas, Brian Rickman, Leon Henderson, Matthew Turner, Taylor Jarvis, Hunter Rasdon

Last Chance Race #1 Finish (Top-6 Transfer): Jason Cliburn, Randy Weaver, Rick Rickman, Henry Cooper, Dylan Ames, Jamie Tollison, Shep Lucas, Brian Rickman, Leon Henderson, Matthew Turner, Taylor Jarvis

Last Chance Race #2 Finish (Top-6 Transfer): Scott Creel, Eric Cooley, Mike Weeks, Bo Gordon, Dane Dacus, Larry Boutwell, Shan Smith, Chris Hoomes, Dwight Falcon, Neil Baggett

2012 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series event winners:
April 7-Jimmy Owens-Newport, TN (Cleveland Speedway)
April 14-Vic Hill-Mosheim, TN (Smoky Mountain Speedway)
May 5-William Thomas-Phenix City, AL (Talladega Short Track)
May 12-Skip Arp-Georgetown, TN (Cleveland Speedway)
May 26-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Whynot Motorsports Park)

Upcoming Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series events:
May 27-Magnolia Motor Speedway-Columbus, MS-$5,000 to win ‘Governor’s Cup’
June 9-Talladega Short Track-Eastaboga, AL-$3,500+ to win ‘BJ Parker Memorial’
June 16-Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN-$5,000 to win ‘Big Daddy 500’