5.27.12 Southern All Star Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

5.27.12 Southern All Star Late Models Results

COLUMBUS, MS (May 27, 2012)—Randy Weaver is starting to like racing in Mississippi.

The Crossville, TN driver claimed victory during the $5,000 to win 9th Annual Governor’s Cup at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, MS after Klint Byars broke a motor on lap 39. Weaver held off a hard charging Rodney Wing for the win, the second Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series victory in a row. This was also Weaver’s 16th career series victory and he moves to seventh on the All-time winners list behind Duayne Hommel.

Weaver’s victory came while driving the Outlaw Race Products sponsored Cornett Racing Engines powered GRT Race Car.

Fast Qualifier and pole sitter Klint Byars took the lead and led until the 39th lap when he broke, but five yellow flags slowed the event. The first yellow flag came out on the 29th circuit when fourth starting Brian Rickman slowed on the front chute with a flat tire. The next yellow would come out on lap 30 as Mike Weeks spun in turn three. The next yellow flags would all come on lap 35 and the restarts. The lap 35 yellow came as Larry Boutwell slowed and came to rest at the top of turn two. The restart would have caution wave as the second row of the double file restart both jumped from starting point and final restart caution would wave as Dylan Ames spun in turn four. Series officials then went single file for the remainder of the 50-lapper.

The updated Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Championship point standings will be posted by the end of the day on Tuesday. The next SAS event will be Saturday Night June 9th at the Talladega Short Track in Eastaboga, AL as the SAS Late Models will run during the Inaugural B.J. Parker Memorial paying $3,500 to win.

Further information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 509-6603 or PR/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or you can log on to the official series website at www.sasdirt.com .

Official Summary of Results

Magnolia Motor Speedway-Columbus, MS
Round #6 of 2012 Season (May 27)
Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Late Models

Feature Finish:
1. Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN
2. Rodney Wing-Whynot, MS
3. Robbie Starnes-Denton, TX
4. Scott Creel-Franklinton, LA
5. Neal Baggett-Shannon, MS
6. William Thomas-Phenix City, AL
7. Rick Rickman-Columbus, MS
8. Stacy Caldwell-Nettleton, MS
9. Eric Cooley-Fulton, MS
10. Scott Dedwylder-Vossburg, MS
11. Dane Dacus-Lakeland, TN
12. Shan Smith-Dade City, FL
13. Jay Burchfield-Columbus, MS
14. Hunter Rasdon-Jonesboro, AR
15. Mike Weeks-Friendsville, TN
16. Leon Henderson-Laurel, MS
17. Klint Byars-Calhoun City, MS
18. Jimmy Cliburn-Star, MS
19. Dylan Ames-Harvest, AL
20. Larry Boutwell-Baker, FL
21. Brian Rickman-Columbus, MS
22. Jason Cliburn-Star, MS
23. Bradley Price-Hamilton, AL
24. Jamie Elam-Sentobia, MS

Yellow Flags: Five (laps 29, 30, 35, 35RS, 35RS)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Byars (1-39) and Weaver (40-50)
Time of Race: 27 minutes/37 seconds
Entries: 40
VP Racing Fuels Fast Time: Klint Byars-14:046 seconds (representing eight states-MS/AL/TN/TX/FL/LA/AR/GA)
Series Provisionals: Shan Smith and Dylan Ames

Hoosier Racing Tire Last Chance Race #1 Finish (Top-4 Transfer): Hunter Rasdon, Leon Henderson, Bradley Price, Dane Dacus, Dylan Ames, Dwight Falcon, Matthew Turner, Chad McCool, Kurt Radojcsics, Jeff Young

Hoosier Racing Tire Last Chance Race #2 Finish (Top-4 Transfer): Eric Cooley, Jamie Elam, Jay Burchfield, Jimmy Cliburn, Brooks Strength, Todd Gray, Chris Hoomes, Jason Milam, Travis Mosley, Tim Davis

Hoosier Racing Tire Last Chance Race #3 Finish (Top-4 Transfer): Rodney Wing, Rick Rickman, Mike Weeks, Larry Boutwell, Shan Smith, Tony Shelton, Mark Gant, Nick Thrash, Jamie Tollison, Chandler Perry (DNS)

Official Southern All Stars sponsors: Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Schaeffer’s Oil by Elaine White, Arizona Sport Shirts, Gotta Race, AR Bodies, Brodix Heads, Cruise with the Champions and H3 Performance Graphics.

2012 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series event winners:
April 7-Jimmy Owens-Newport, TN (Cleveland Speedway)
April 14-Vic Hill-Mosheim, TN (Smoky Mountain Speedway)
May 5-William Thomas-Phenix City, AL (Talladega Short Track)
May 12-Skip Arp-Georgetown, TN (Cleveland Speedway)
May 26-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Whynot Motorsports Park)
May 27-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Magnolia Motor Speedway)

Upcoming Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series events:
June 9-Talladega Short Track-Eastaboga, AL-$3,500+ to win ‘BJ Parker Memorial’
June 16-Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN-$5,000 to win ‘Big Daddy 500’
July 14-Cleveland Speedway-Cleveland, TN-$3,500 to win