Wednesday, November 29, 2023

5.29.21 Southern Nationals Spring Late Models Results

(May 30, 2021) Randy Weaver hasn’t made a whole lot of Super Late Model starts in recent years, but the Crossville, Tennessee driver proved on Saturday night, May 29 that he hasn’t lost anything behind the wheel, as he drove to a flawless flag-to-flag Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals victory at the historic Dixie Speedway! Randy, who earned Fast Time honors of the 29 entrants during the qualifying session, started the 40-lap headliner from the pole position and got the jump on outside polesitter Austin Horton at the drop of the green flag. “Dream” Weaver turned the race into a nightmare for his competitors by leading each and every circuit to pocket the $4,053 windfall at the Woodstock, Georgia facility.

Brandon Overton, of Evans, Georgia, moved forward from his fourth starting spot to nab a strong runner-up performance – only 0.791 seconds behind Weaver at the unfurling of the checkered flag. Austin Horton slipped back one position to finish third and rounded out the podium. Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals point leader Dale McDowell advanced four positions to increase his lead with a fourth place effort. Zack Mitchell, who rolled off starting the 40-lapper from the outside of the sixth row, blasted past seven competitors to grab the final spot inside of the top five.

“I remember that guy behind me,” quoted Weaver of Overton in Dixie Speedway winner’s circle. “He’s got all kinds of raw talent and when I hired him (years ago), I told him it was the most raw talent that I’ve ever seen. So, I knew what he was capable of doing and I was just trying to hang on and hit my marks.”

Randy’s flag-to-flag win last night at Dixie Speedway marked his third career trip to victory lane in Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series competition. He also became the seventh different Spring Nationals winner in as many races this year – joining Jonathan Davenport, Brandon Overton, David Payne, Dale McDowell, Tanner English, and Jimmy Owens. Randy’s victory came aboard a #85 Capital racecar with sponsorship from Josh Roberts Trucking, Roberts Repair, and VP Racing Fuels.

A 29 car field piled into the pit area at Dixie Speedway for round seven of the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series. Randy Weaver earned Fast Time honors during FK Rod Ends qualifying with a quick lap of 15.280 seconds. Ahnna Parkhurst and Zack Mitchell recorded victories in the pair of consolation races, while Stacy Boles and Jeff Neubert both received series provisionals to gain access into the feature event.

Next up for the cars and stars racing with the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series will be a visit to Rome Speedway in Rome, Georgia later tonight, May 30. Another $4,053 top prize will be up for grabs at the “World’s Fastest 1/2-Mile Clay Track.” The Spring Nationals miniseries will then wrap up in a big way on Monday, May 31 with a trip to 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, Tennessee. The annual running of the ‘Scott Sexton Memorial’ on Memorial Day will shell out a whopping $10,052 payday with $500 going to each feature starter.

Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels
Race Summary
Saturday, May 29, 2021
Dixie Speedway – Woodstock, Georgia

Schaeffer’s Oil Feature Finish (40 Laps):
1. (1) Randy Weaver $4,053
2. (4) Brandon Overton $2,000
3. (2) Austin Horton $1,400
4. (8) Dale McDowell $1,000
5. (12) Zack Mitchell $800
6. (5) Donald McIntosh $700
7. (7) Dalton Cook $600
8. (13) Jordy Nipper $550
9. (9) David Payne $525
10. (14) Jason Croft $500
11. (15) Lamar Haygood $480
12. (21) Stacy Boles $470
13. (17) Dalton Polston $460
14. (18) Dallas Cooper $450
15. (11) Ahnna Parkhurst $440
16. (22) Jeff Neubert $430
17. (3) Michael Page $420
18. (10) Shawn Chastain $410
19. (6) Tyler Millwood $400
20. (19) Gary McPherson $400
21. (20) Derrick Ramey $400
22. (16) Todd Morrow $400

Entries: 29
Lap Leaders: Randy Weaver (Laps 1-40)
Cautions: 3 (Initial Start of Race, Lap 26 for a slowing Gary McPherson, and Lap 30 for a slowing Michael Page)

FK Rod Ends Time Trials:
Fast Time Overall: Randy Weaver 15.280
Group A (Top Five Locked In): Randy Weaver, Michael Page, Donald McIntosh, Dalton Cook, David Payne
Group B (Top Five Locked In): Austin Horton, Brandon Overton, Tyler Millwood, Dale McDowell, Shawn Chastain

Sunoco Race Fuels B-Main #1 Finish (Top Five Transfer): 1. Ahnna Parkhurst, 2. Jordy Nipper, 3. Lamar Haygood, 4. Dalton Polston, 5. Gary McPherson, 6. Oreo Thomas, 7. Johnny Cloer, 8. J.R. Moseley, 9. Wayne Echols, 10. Kylar Haygood

American Racer South B-Main #2 Finish (Top Five Transfer): 1. Zack Mitchell, 2. Jason Croft, 3. Todd Morrow, 4. Dallas Cooper, 5. Derrick Ramey, 6. Stacy Boles, 7. Justin Shipley, 8. Jeff Neubert, DNS. T.J. Reaid

Series Provisionals: Stacy Boles, Jeff Neubert

Current Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series Point Standings:
1. Dale McDowell – 1358
2. Donald McIntosh – 1326
3. David Payne – 1238
4. Stacy Boles – 1210
5. Cory Hedgecock – 1094
6. Jeff Neubert – 931
7. Jensen Ford – 852
8. Johnny Cloer – 814
9. Brandon Overton – 776
10. John Ownbey – 556

2021 Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series Schedule:
Saturday, April 3 – Tazewell Speedway (Tazewell, TN) – JONATHAN DAVENPORT
Friday, April 16 – I-75 Raceway (Sweetwater, TN) – BRANDON OVERTON
Friday, April 23 – Tri-County Race Track (Brasstown, NC) – DAVID PAYNE
Friday, April 30 – Crossville Speedway (Crossville, TN) – DALE MCDOWELL
Saturday, May 1 – Clarksville Speedway (Clarksville, TN) – TANNER ENGLISH
Saturday, May 8 – Smoky Mountain Speedway (Maryville, TN) – JIMMY OWENS
Saturday, May 29 – Dixie Speedway (Woodstock, GA) – RANDY WEAVER
Sunday, May 30 – Rome Speedway (Rome, Georgia) – $4,053 to win
Monday, May 31 – 411 Motor Speedway (Seymour, Tennessee) – $10,052 to win

For more information on the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels, please point your Internet browser to or feel free to call series promoter Ray Cook at 828-360-5353. You can also follow us across social media platforms on and on Twitter @sonationals.

The Spring Nationals Series would like to thank all of our 2021 marketing partners including: Schaeffer’s Oil & Specialized Lubricants, Sunoco Race Fuels, American Race Tires, Delph Communications, E-Z-GO, Arizona Sport Shirts, Capital Race Cars, Collins Signs,, FK Rod Ends, Hoosier Racing Tire, Keyser Manufacturing, MasterSbilt Race Cars,, Wiles Driveshafts, Vic Hill Racing Engines, The Steering Buddy, Knowles Race Parts & Bodies, Coosa Heating & Air, The Joie of Seating, and

About Schaeffer’s Oil & Specialized Lubricants:
Schaeffer’s Specialized Lubricants: synthetic motor oils, hydraulic fluids, and diesel fuel additives have achieved a world-class reputation for improving engine performance and fuel economy, but their diverse product line includes all types of industrial lubricants, industrial greases, and industrial oils as well as specialty items like their chain lubes and degreasers. Founded in 1839, their philosophy is to provide advanced lubricants for improved performance, reliability, and fuel economy. Learn more or find a rep near you at

Media Contact: Ryan Delph – Delph Communications

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report