5.5.12 Lucas Oil Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

5.5.12 Lucas Oil Late Models Results

PADUCAH, KY (May 5, 2012) – Billy Moyer of Batesville, AR grabbed the lead at the start of the 50-lap Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event and never looked back. He went on to pocket $10,000 for his win on Saturday Night at Paducah International Raceway. It was Moyer’s first LOLMDS win of the season and the 14th of his career.

Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN, the current series point’s leader, registered yet another runner-up finish. Owens out dueled Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN after the lap 34 restart. Bloomquist finished third as he moved to second in the points. Steve Francis of Ashland, KY finished fourth, followed by Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL.

The race got off to a rocky start when Shannon Babb and last night’s winner, Don O’Neal, got together triggering a huge pile-up on the initial start that eliminated several drivers.

Moyer and Bloomquist ran one-and-two for the first 34 circuits as Bloomquist tried several different lines to get around Moyer in traffic. A caution for Jason Feger’s blown right rear tire was the break that Moyer was looking for. Feger was running fifth as his tire let go. Moyer benefitted from a clear racetrack in front of him as he went unchallenged by either Owens or Bloomquist. Moyer became the seventh different winner this season on the LOLMDS tour.

Moyer returned to Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the first time since of February of 2011 at East Bay Raceway Park. He was extremely happy with his car’s performance tonight. “The car was just awesome all night long. I could drive it anywhere on the track. We had a rough time at Tri-City last night, and the crew had to work hard to get ready for tonight. I have to give the thanks to them,” said Moyer.

“I knew starting where we did tonight that we would have an advantage here. The car really exited the corners well, but when we got in all that traffic, I saw Scott there once and I knew I had better get going. I got behind Reddick and followed him for several laps, at that point I was afraid that Scott was going to get by me, but the caution came at the right time for us,” said the 54-year-old veteran.

Moyer was especially thankful to Sunoco Race Fuels for powering his way to victory lane tonight.

Owens finished second in the Mike Reece, Reece Monument Company, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bloomquist Race Cars Ford, and extended his points lead to 175-points over Bloomquist.

Completing the top ten were Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA; Jared Landers of Batesville, AR; Eric Wells of Hazard, KY; John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; and Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA.

In preliminary action, Jason Feger set the Red Buck Cigars Fast Time amongst the 42 entrants with a lap of 15.690 seconds. Heat races were taken by Jason Feger, Shannon Babb, Billy Moyer, and Don O’Neal. Dennis Erb Jr. and Brian Birkhofer won their respective B-Mains.

Up next for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be a pair of $10,000 to win showdowns next weekend. On Friday Night, May 11th, the series will make its first appearance at Hartford Motor Speedway in Hartford, MI. Then, on Saturday, May 12th, the series returns to LaSalle Speedway in La Salle, IL. Both events will feature Red Buck Cigars Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and 50-Lap main events. For more information on Hartford Motor Speedway or La Salle Speedway, check out the tracks’ websites at www.hartfordmotorspeedway.net and www.lasallespeedway.com.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Race Summary Saturday Night, May 5th, 2012 Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, KY

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time:  Jason Feger / 15.690 seconds (Group A and Overall) Brian Shirley / 15.692 seconds (Group B)

Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Jason Feger, Klint Byars, Jonathan Davenport, Eric Wells, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Brady Smith, Dillan White, Scott James , Austin Hubbard, Tim Rivers, Wendell Wallace

U. S. Steel Second Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Shannon Babb, Steve Francis, Jared Landers, Jeff Walston, Dennis Erb, Jr., John Blankenship, Vic Hill, Kevin Cole, Jason Riggs, Jerry Lierly

Simpson Performance Products Third Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Billy Moyer, Scott Bloomquist, Brian Shirley, Brad Neat, Brian Birkhofer, Jimmy Mars, Tyler Reddick, Randy Sellers, Nick Lyons, Jason McBride, Fred Perry

HAWK Brakes Fourth Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Don O’Neal, Jimmy Owens, Tim Brown, Earl Pearson, Jr., Eric Jacobsen, Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Chris Simpson, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Brandon Sheppard, Shelby Miles

JRi Shocks First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Dennis Erb, Jr., Eddie Carrier, Jr., Brady Smith, John Blankenship, Scott James , Kevin Cole, Vic Hill, Dillan White, Austin Hubbard, Wendell Wallace, Jason Riggs, Jerry Lierly, Tim Rivers

PAC Racing Springs Second B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Brian Birkhofer, Jimmy Mars, Eric Jacobsen, Tyler Reddick, Randy Sellers, Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Nick Lyons, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Jason McBride, Shelby Miles, Chris Simpson, Fred Perry, Brandon Sheppard

Feature Finish – 50 Laps

1 2 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR
2 8 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
3 6 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
4 7 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
5 16 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
6 9 15d Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA
7 11 5 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
8 13 18e Eric Wells Hazard, KY
9 24 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
10 18 15b Brian Birkhofer Muscatine, IA
11 5 5b Klint Byars Calhoun City, MS
12 19 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
13 17 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
14 22 5J Eric Jacobsen Watsonville, CA
15 26 11h Austin Hubbard Seaford, DE
16 23 11T Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
17 25 81JR Jason Riggs Harrisburg, IL
18 1 25F Jason Feger Bloomington, IL
19 21 2 Brady Smith Solon Springs, WI
20 15 56 Jeff Walston Paducah, KY
21 20 28m Jimmy Mars Menomonie, WI
22 3 18 Shannon Babb Mowequa, IL
23 4 71 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN
24 10 3s Brian Shirley Chatham, IL
25 12 T-14 Tim Brown Benton, KY
26 14 41n Brad Neat Dunnville, KY

Race Statistics Entrants: 42 Lap Leaders: Billy Moyer (Laps 1 – 50) Caution Flags: Brad Neat, Earl Pearson Jr., Brian Shirley, Don O’Neal, Shannon Babb, Tim Brown (Initial Start); Jason Feger (Lap 34) Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Tyler Reddick, John Blankenship Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: Austin Hubbard Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: John Blankenship (Started 24th; Finished 9th; Advanced 15 positions) Allstar Performer of the Race: Scott Bloomquist Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens ASi Racewear Challenge Finisher: Steve Francis Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: Jonathan Davenport COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Race Engines Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Bloomquist Race Cars Sweet Mfg Crew Chief of the Race: Steve Norris (Billy Moyer) Time of Race: 36 minutes 34 seconds

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report