Friday, June 14, 2024

5.5.18 Sooner Late Model Series Results

By John Rittenoure, Enid, Okla (May 5, 2018) – Delbert Smith passed Brandon Givens on a final lap restart to grab the lead and race to victory in the Sooner Late Model vs. NCRA co-sanctioned feature Saturday at Enid Speedway.
Dusty Leonard was the early leader with Givens and Smith giving chase until the yellow waved with one lap remaining. Leonard had a right rear tire go down during the yellow and finally went to the pits after pacing the field for several laps leaving Givens to inherit the lead.
However, Smith caught Givens asleep at the wheel when the green waved and shot to the outside for the lead. Eddie Tidwell jumped down low and also passed Givens to take over second place. Smith led the final lap in his crate engine powered late model for the win followed by Tidwell. Chris Kratzer managed to get around Givens on the final lap for third leaving Givens in fourth. B main winner Damian Patocka charged his way to fifth at the finish.
Dustin Allen took the lead away from pole sitter Jason Martin on lap three and went the distance to win the Sooner Modified feature. Jon Herring, Jr. gave chase until the final lap when Travis Johnson drove past leaving Herring with third.
Sooner Series Late Model Results
Enid Speedway
May 5, 2018
27 Cars
Heat 1 (10 laps)
1, 7C-Jimmy Seagraves. 2, 2G-Brandon Givens. 3, 10-4-Adam Popp. 4, 81-Mark Harrison. 5, ZZ-Sloppy Hogg. 6, 03-Jeremy Bishop. 7, 57-Andy McElfresh. 8, 4-Kip Hughes. 9, 36-Jason Redman. (DNS).
Heat 2 (10 laps)
1, 92-Delbert Smith. 2, 7D-Dusty Leonard. 3, 55DD-Scott Green. 4, 92S-Daniel Smith. 5, 33-Steve Hawkins. 6, 15-Wayne Bush. 7, 77-David Lane. 8, 229-Damian Patocka. 9, 99J-Nate Jantz.
Heat 3 (10 laps)
1, 55-Chris Kratzer. 2, B1-Dustin Bolster. 3, 1-Eddie Tidwell. 4, 28-Bobby Eubanks. 5, 31-Gary Lowe. 6, 31S-Sammy Wilson. 7, 18-Tony Foster. 8, ZZX-Kara Langley. 9, 63-Curt Acker.
B Feature (15 laps, top 6 transfer)
1, 229-Damian Patocka. 2, 31-Gary Lowe. 3, 4-Kip Hughes. 4, 15-Wayne Bush. 5, 03-Jeremy Bishop. 6, 18-Tony Foster. 7, ZZX-Kara Langley. 8, 63-Curt Acker. 9, 57-Andy McElfresh. 10, 99J-Nate Jantz. 11, ZZ-Sloppy Hogg. 12, 77-David Lane. 13, 36-Jason Redman.
A Feature (22 laps)
1, 92-Delbert Smith. 2, 1-Eddie Tidwell. 3, 55-Chris Kratzer. 4, 2G-Brandon Givens. 5, 229-Damian Patocka. 6, 92S-Daniel Smith. 7, 10-4-Adam Popp. 8, 15-Wayne Bush. 9, 81-Mark Harrison. 10, 31S-Sammy Wilson. 11, 7D-Dusty Leonard. 12, 33-Steve Hawkins. 13, 7C-Jimmy Seagraves. 14, 03-Jeremy Bishop. 15, B1-Dustin Bolster. 16, ZZX-Kara Langley. 17, 4-Kip Hughes. 18, 28-Bobby Eubanks. 19, 18-Tony Foster. 20, 55DD-Scott Green. 21, 31-Gary Lowe. (DNS).