Wednesday, November 29, 2023

6.1.18 MARS Late Models Results

By Michael Despain
GRANITE CITY, ILLINOIS – June 1, 2018 – The MARS Super Late Model Racing Series would make its first visit of 2018 to Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, Ill. and Brian Shirley of Chatham, IL would take the lead from Tony Jackson, Jr. on lap eleven and lead the remainder of the event to claim a $3,000 victory.
The win for Shirley would be his third of the season with the MARS tour and his eleventh career series victory and would come aboard the Bob Cullen owned Thomason Express, Kid’s Castle Learning Center, Jayco Construction, Cheap Cars, Vallejo Inc., KBC Graphics sponsored #3s Rocket Chassis, Andy Durham Race Engines powered entry.
Tony Jackson, Jr. would take the initial race lead at the start of the thirty-lap contest, with Shannon Babb, Dennis Erb, Jr., Brian Shirley, and Ricky Frankel in pursuit. Shirley would start to challenge Erb, Jr. for the third spot on lap three and would grab the position on lap five and would continue his highside charge when he worked past Babb for the third position on lap seven. Jackson, Jr. would start working slower traffic on lap nine, with Erb, Jr. working past Babb for third on the same circuit, only to see Babb reclaim the third spot one tour later. Shirley would close in on Jackson, Jr. and would drive past Jackson, Jr. for the lead on lap eleven. Babb and Erb, Jr. would continue to contest the third position, with Erb, Jr. taking the position again on lap fourteen.
As the field saw the halfway signal, Shirley began to stretch his lead out a bit, but a caution would appear on lap seventeen when Tim Manville had spun his machine in turn two. Back undeway, Jackson, Jr. would challenge Shirley briefly for the lead, while Tanner English would challenge Frankel for the fifth position would take the spot on lap nineteen. Meanwhile, Erb, Jr. would pressure Jackson, Jr. for the second position and would work by Jackson, Jr. for the runner-up slot on lap twenty-two, as fourth-place running Babb would pull pitside just as the second caution of the event flew on lap twenty-four when Paul Stubber made contact with the frontstretch wall. The restart would see Shirley maintain the lead, while eighth place running Jason Feger would roll the topside of the racing surface and would slide into the fifth position on lap twenty-five. The final caution of the event waved on lap twenty-seven when Michael Kloos would spin in turn four. Shirley would pull away again on the restart and drive to the victory, with Erb, Jr. taking second, and Jackson, Jr. settling for third. English would finish fourth, while Feger completed the top five finishers. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Franke., Mason Oberkramer, Gordy Gundaker, Kolby Vandenbergh, and Allen Murray.
The MARS Super Late Model Racing Series next event will be Saturday June 2 at Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Ill., paying $3,000 to win.
Further information on the MARS Super Late Model Racing Series can be obtained by calling Promoter/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official series website located at
Official Summary of Results
Feature Results for MARS Super Late Model Racing Series at Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach, Ill. on June 1, 2018
1. Brian Shirley-Chatham, Ill.
2. Dennis Erb, Jr.-Carpentersville, Ill.
3. Tony Jackson, Jr.-Lebanon, Mo.
4. Tanner English-Benton, Ky.
5. Jason Feger-Bloomington, Ill.
6. Ricky Frankel-Quincy, Ill.
7. Mason Oberkramer-Brosely, Mo.
8. Gordy Gundaker-St. Charles, Mo.
9. Kolby Vandenbergh-Ashland, Ill.
10. Allen Murray-San Antonio, Texas
11. Dean Carpenter-Coldwater, Miss.
12. Caleb Ashby-Cunningham, Tenn.
13. Michael Kloos-Trenton, Ill.
14. Paul Stubber-Bunbury, Australia
15. Shannon Babb-Moweaqua, Ill.
16. Daryn Klein-Fairview Heights, Ill.
17. Tim Manville-St. Jacob, Ill.
18. Joe Godsey-Bentonville, Ark.
19. Billy Laycock-Marine, Ill.
20. Brent McKinnon-Carlyle, Ill.
21. Mike Hammerle-St. Charles, Mo.
22. Mark Voigt-Marine, Ill.
Time of Race: 14 minutes, 5 seconds
Margin of Victory: 1.995 seconds
Yellow Flags: 3 (Lap 17, 24, 27)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Tony Jackson, Jr. 1-10, Brian Shirley 11-30
Entries: 27
Wiles Driveshafts Overall Top Qualifier: Tony Jackson, Jr. 14.806 seconds
Provisional Starters: Caleb Ashby (series), Mike Hammerle (series), Billy Laycock (track)
Heat One Finish (8 laps/top 5 transfer)- Tony Jackson, Jr., Brian Shirley, Tim Manville, Jason Feger, Paul Stubber, Dean Carpenter, Billy Laycock, Rich Standridge, Scott Henseler
Heat Two Finish (8 laps/top 5 transfer)- Dennis Erb, Jr., Ricky Frankel, Daryn Klein, Mason Oberkramer, Allen Murray, Mark Voigt, Caleb Ashby, Mike Hammerle, Brian Dively
Heat Three Finish (8 laps/top 5 transfer)- Shannon Babb, Kolby Vandenbergh, Tanner English, Gordy Gundaker, Joe Godsey, Brent McKinnon, Jeff Roth, Michael Kloos, Jimmy Miller
B-Main Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Dean Carpenter, Brent McKinnon, Michael Kloos, Mark Voigt, Billy Laycock, Brian Dively, Scott Henseler, Caleb Ashby, Jeff Roth, Rich Standridge, Mike Hammerle (DNS-Jimmy Miller)
Current 2018 MARS Super Late Model Racing Series Points (after 6/1/18)
1. Tanner Engligh-1,015
2. Tim Manville-993
3. Dean Carpenter-967
4. Caleb Ashby-961
5. David Seibers-783
6. Dennis Erb Jr.-766
7. Brian Shirley-669
8. Gordy Gundaker-613
9. Brent McKinnon-486
10. Michel Kloos-441