6.13.14 Lucas Oil Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

6.13.14 Lucas Oil Late Models Results

With the enormous crowd on its feet, O’Neal and Owens swapped the lead four times during the race. O’Neal forged ahead for good on lap 90.  Owens finished second, followed by Earl Pearson Jr., Scott Bloomquist, and Timothy Culp.

“What a race,” exclaimed O’Neal afterwards in front of the cheering standing room only crowd.  “He started to drive off from me there with about 30 to go.  I closed the gap on him, and then the caution came out.  I thought I had a shot when that last caution came out.  I changed my line for a moment, and the car started taking off better, and then I was able to run him down,” said the winner who extended his series points lead over Owens to 30 points.

“I wasn’t even looking at my guys towards the end. I was just concentrating on hitting my marks.  We just kept digging, like the Show-Me 100.  The track was awesome all night.  Thanks to Johnny Stokes for a great race track and the fans for coming out tonight to see us race.  I have to thank Barry and Lance Wright, Clint Bowyer Racing, Peak Antifreeze and Motor Oil, Crawford Supply, Sunoco, and Clements Racing Engines.

Randy Weaver led the first 28 laps of the 100 lap event, jumping to the lead from his outside pole position at the start. O’Neal, who started fourth, tracked down Weaver taking the lead away from him on lap 29.  Owens started ninth and then made his way past Weaver to take over the second spot.  Owens then pulled alongside O’Neal for several laps clearing him for the lead on lap 40.

Owens held the top spot until O’Neal passed him again on lap 73.  O’Neal then battled with Owens for the next dozen laps as the two had the capacity crowd on its feet.  Owens battled back, regaining the point on lap 86.  Owens’ reign as the leader was limited when O’Neal charged back into the lead for good with ten laps remaining.

“That was pretty exciting,” said Owens.  “That should be a great race for television. I hope the fans here enjoyed that.  O’Neal got around me, and I got back by him. We went back-and-forth so many times I lost track after awhile.  Congrats to O’Neal, he had a good car, the track was really racy. We could run all over the track, high, low, in the middle,” said the driver of the Reece Monument Company, Club 29 Race Cars entry.

Pearson had a birds-eye view for the race up front between O’Neal and Owens, and was pleased with his third place finish.  “I thought I had a chance to catch Jimmy near the end, but we came up just short. The track was super tonight.  With all the rain they had this week, they did a tremendous job on track prep.  I have to thank Bobby Labonte, Lucas Oil Products, MAV TV and the entire crew.”

Completing the top ten were Jared Landers, Randy Weaver, Chad Thrash, Steve Francis, and Chris Wall.

In preliminary action, Randy Weaver set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 44 entrants, with a lap of 14.109 seconds.  Eddie Carrier Jr. set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 14.139 seconds. Eddie Carrier Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Randy Weaver, and Don O’Neal won their respective heat races. Steve Francis and Wendell Wallace won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday Night, June 13th, 2014
Clash at the Mag
Magnolia Motor Speedway – Columbus, MS

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Eddie Carrier Jr./ 14.139 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Randy Weaver/ 14.109 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Eddie Carrier, Jr., Chase Washington, Jimmy Owens, John Blankenship, Steve Francis, Shane Hebert, Jason Cliburn, Chris Jimerson, Jamie Tollison, David Breazeale, Dennis Erb, Jr.

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Bub McCool, Timothy Culp, Neil Baggett, Ray Cook, Brian Rickman, Jimmy Cliburn, Braden Mitchell, Dwight Falcon, Howard Means, Gavin Landers-DNS

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Randy Weaver, Earl Pearson, Jr., Chris Wall, Jared Landers, Shane Clanton, Stacy Taylor, Scott Slay, Brett White, Anthony Burroughs, Chad McCool, Jack Sullivan

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Don O’Neal Jason Hughes, Eric Cooley, Chad Thrash, Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Wendell Wallace, Jason Papich, Rick Rickman, Clint Logan, Chad Dupont, Keith House

JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Steve Francis, Ray Cook, Jimmy Cliburn, Brian Rickman, David Breazeale, Jamie Tollison, Dwight Falcon, Shane Hebert, Dennis Erb, Jr., Howard Means, Chris Jimerson, Braden Mitchell, Jason Cliburn, Gavin Landers-DNS

CV Products B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Wendell Wallace, Shane Clanton, Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Stacy Taylor, Jason Papich, Brett White, Chad Dupont, Scott Slay, Chad McCool, Anthony Burroughs, Keith House, Clint Logan, Rick Rickman-DNS, Jack Sullivan-DNS

Clash at the Mag Feature Finish (100 Laps):

1 4 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN
2 9 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
3 6 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
4 3 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
5 11 C8 Timothy Culp Sheridan, AR
6 14 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
7 2 116 Randy Weaver Crossville, TN
8 16 1c Chad Thrash Meridian, MS
9 17 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
10 10 71w Chris Wall Springfield, LA
11 23 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
12 7 57J Bub McCool Vicksburg, MS
13 12 33B Eric Cooley Fulton, MS
14 19 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
15 8 12 Jason Hughes Watts, OK
16 5 38 Chase Washington Houlka, MS
17 24 91p Jason Papich Nipomo, CA
18 13 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
19 20 25c Shane Clanton Zabulon, GA
20 18 6m Wendell Wallace Batesville, AR
21 15 21x Neil Baggett Columbus, MS
22 1 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
23 21 88 Jimmy Cliburn Star, MS
24 22 18H Ronny Lee Hollingsworth Northport, AL

Race Statistics
Entrants: 44
Lap Leaders: Randy Weaver (Laps 1 – 28); Don O’Neal (Laps 29 – 39); Jimmy Owens (Laps 40 – 72); Don O’Neal (Laps 73 – 85); Jimmy Owens (Laps 86 – 89); Don O’Neal (Laps 90 – 100)
Caution Flags: Eddie Carrier Jr. (Lap 33); Chase Washington (Lap 38); Wendell Wallace (Lap 42); John Blankenship (Lap 71)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Dennis Erb Jr.; Jason Papich
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Wrisco Feature Winner: Don O’Neal
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Dennis Erb Jr. (Started: 23rd; Finished: 10th; Advanced 13 Positions)
Ole Smoky Moonshine Runner of the Race: Jimmy Owens
Bad Boy Mowers TV Challenge Winner: Don O’Neal
ASi Crown Jewel Cup-presented by DirtonDirt.com Winner: Don O’Neal
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Don O’Neal
Allstar Performer of the Race: Earl Pearson Jr.
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Don O’Neal
Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Randy Weaver
Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Randy Weaver
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Clements Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Barry Wright Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Jeremy Justice (Don O’Neal)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Randy Weaver (Lap # 4 – 15.259 seconds)
Time of Race: 40 minutes 58 seconds

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report