6.14.14 USAC Silver Crown Results - Dirt Racing Report

6.14.14 USAC Silver Crown Results

Madison, IL…….Bobby Santos of Franklin, Mass. won Saturday’s “Gateway 100” USAC Silver Crown Championship race at Gateway Motorsports Park but the margin of victory in the PRM Auto Enterprise Beast/Mopar wasn’t what he hoped it would be. Leading by a wide margin most of the race, he eked out a half-car length advantage over pole winner Tracy Hines at the checkered flag! Santos admitted that “the car was coughing on the lap 93 restart and I’m not sure if we could have led another lap. Admittedly the yellow for John Andretti’s fuel issue helped us save just enough.” Attrition left numerous competitors on the sidelines as five cars finished the race, with Bobby East third, Caleb Armstrong fourth and Kody Swanson fifth. Early leader Tanner Swanson fell victim to transmission troubles after 20 laps, yielding the lead to Santos, who led the final 60 laps. East led the first four. Hines was the ProSource fast qualifier, a $200 bonus, while Kody Swanson, from 12th to 5th, earned the $200 hard charger award posted by Dr. Jim Logan. Hines and Kody Swanson exited the race tied for the series points lead!

USAC SILVER CROWN CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES (Presented by TRAXXAS) RACE RESULTS: June 14, 2014 – Madison, Illinois – Gateway Motorsports Park – “Gateway 100”

QUALIFICATIONS: 1. Tracy Hines, 16, Lightfoot-31.173; 2. Tanner Swanson, 11, Bowman-31.274; 3. Bobby East, 10, Stewart/Curb-31.417; 4. Jarett Andretti, 4, Andretti-31.705; 5. Bobby Santos, 98, RPM/Gormly-31.713; 6. David Byrne, 40, Byrne-31.837; 7. Caleb Armstrong, 9, Armstrong-31.881; 8. Jacob Wilson, 07, Wilson-32.774; 9. Cale Thomas, 92, Thomas-33.137; 10. Randy Bateman, 55, Bateman-33.560; 11. Patrick Lawson, 2, Lawson-34.555; 12. Kody Swanson, 63, DePalma-42.835; 13. Chris Windom, 17, RW/Curb-Agajanian-NT; 14. A.J. Fike, 3, RFMS-NT.

FEATURE: (80 laps) 1. Bobby Santos, 2. Tracy Hines, 3. Bobby East, 4. Caleb Armstrong, 5. Kody Swanson, 6. Jarett Andretti, 7. Cale Thomas, 8. Chris Windom, 9. Tanner Swanson, 10. David Byrne, 11. Randy Bateman, 12. Patrick Lawson, 13. Jacob Wilson. 49:46.00


FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-4 East, Laps 5-20 T.Swanson, Laps 21-80 Santos.

NEW SILVER CROWN SERIES POINT STANDINGS: 1-Hines-228, 2-K.Swanson-228, 3-East-201, 4-Windom-158, 5-Wilson-114, 6-Santos-111, 7-A.J. Fike-109, 8-Jerry Coons Jr.-105, 9-Armstrong-105, 10-Andretti-103.

NEXT SILVER CROWN RACE: June 29 – Millington, TN – Memphis International Raceway

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report