Friday, June 14, 2024

6.17.21 Stateline Speedway Results

Busti, NY (June 17, 2021): The World of Outlaws Late Models Morton Buildings Late Model Series came to Stateline Speedway for a $10,000 to win feature. Over the first twenty-one events of the 2021 season, there have been sixteen different winners. The feature lineup was set by time trials, four ten-lap heats, and two “B”-Mains. At the end of the night Dave Hess Jr, a 26-time Stateline Super Late Model feature winner, had defeated the invaders for his second career Outlaw win. In companion events, Steve Dixon collected his second Stateline RUSH Pro-Mod win of the season and John Boardman won the Penn-Ohio Pro Stock feature.

Dave Hess Jr had an excellent evening of racing, starting out by setting the fast time of 15.484 seconds, leading every lap of his heat, then dominating the forty-lap main event to collect the $10,000 payoff at the end. Hess and Chris Hackett, the fourth heat winner, started the event on the front row with Brandon Sheppard (second heat winner) and Boom Briggs (third heat winner) in row two. At the end of lap one it was Hess leading Hackett, Briggs, Sheppard, and Dennis Erb Jr. Briggs took over second at lap two. Sheppard and Hackett were nearly even at the line at lap three with Sheppard having it a lap later. Yellow flew at lap eight for Cade Dillard, spun in turn two. When green came back out former Stateline champion David Scott was in the turn one wall and a five-car pileup involving Jake Finnerty, Hackett, Tyler Bruening, Dutch Davies, and Dillard just beyond Scott’s wreck. At the restart it was Hess, Sheppard, (the current Outlaw points leader and the 2018 winner of this event), Briggs, Max Blair (the 2019 winner), and Erb leading the way. Blair was third at ten laps with Erb coming to fourth at twelve. Yellow again flew at sixteen laps for Davies and Finnerty, spun in turn one. Under the yellow Wyatt Scott, a Super Late Model winner at Stateline, headed pitside. The order at halfway was Hess, Sheppard, Briggs, Chris Madden, and Erb. with nine laps left, the leader began lapping back-markers with Sheppard starting to close the gap in traffic, but Hess quickly pulled away when traffic was cleared. Hess went on to the win, dominating the evening, over Sheppard, Blair, Briggs, and Madden.

In turns one and two on lap two of heat three Kyle Bedell flipped onto his roof. Dan Stone, Ryan Scott, and Ricky Weiss all spun, avoiding contact. Hess is a second-generation driver with his father, Dave Hess Sr, a single feature race winner at Stateline.

The RUSH Pro-Mod feature started with Steve Dixon and Brodie Hill leading the charge to green. At one lap Dixon was the leader over Carl Irons, Hill, Adam Ashcroft, and Dennis Lunger. Lunger was fourth at two laps when yellow appeared for Stu Richard, Cody Stronghart, and Jarrod Silvis, spun in turns three and four. At three laps Ashcroft was third with Lunger fourth at four laps. Yellow flew at lap five for Ryan Howard, spun in turn two. At green it was Stronghart spinning in turn one. When the leaders crossed the line at lap six it was Dixon leading a side-by-side battle between Ashcroft and Irons with Ashcroft having a slight edge for second. Lunger and Al Brewer were fourth and fifth. At seven laps Ashcroft had second, but spun in turn two, collecting Brewer, Hill, Cale Crocker, and Victor Earle Jr. At eight laps Lunger took over the top spot on the back straight, but Dixon roared back to have a slight edge at the end of the lap. In turn two Lunger then spun. For the green it was now Dixon, Irons, Mike Eschrich, Duane Powers Jr, and Vaughn Nystrom. Chris Sutton spun in turn two, also involving Brewer, Greg Johnson, and Wayne Mohawk, with Brewer towed from the site. As the cars started lap ten, Silvis took a hard roll in turns three and four, causing a red flag. He was unhurt but done for the night. With nine laps complete the race reached its time limit. The top five wound up Dixon, Irons, Eschrich, Powers, and Nystrom.

The Penn-Ohio Pro Stock feature was the final event of the night with Joe Stajnrajh and Josh Beckstrom bringing the field to green. Yellow flew when Chris Couchenour spun in turn one on lap one. Then Stajnrajh, Wes McCray, and Chris Withers all spun on the backstretch. Stajnrajh needed towed from the scene. Lap one was led by Boardman, Jason Covey, Chad Ramsey, Gary Fisher (up from twelfth on the grid), and Don Blood. Fisher replaced Ramsey for fourth at three laps just as Couchenour got into the turn one wall. Another yellow on lap four again slowed the event, this one for David Baker and Michael Oakes in turn two. Three cars, Drake McCray, Blood, and Brandon Birdsall, all spun at turn one on the green. Ron Boardman got fifth at lap four when it was completed and was side by side with Ramsey for fourth at lap eight. Wes McCray was fifth at lap nine. Yellow was shown at lap eleven as Covey slowed on the front straight, trailing smoke. At green, the top five were now John Boardman, Fisher, Ron Boardman, McCray, and Ramsey. At the checkers it was John Boardman for his eighth overall win of the season (at all tracks), Fisher, McCray, Ron Boardman, and Ramsey.

World of Outlaws Late Models Morton Buildings Late Model Series: 36 Entries
Time Trials top five: Dave Hess Jr 15.484, David Scott 15.809, Boom Briggs 15.914, Brandon Sheppard 16.006, Chris Hackett 16.075
Heat 1: Dave Hess, Max Blair, Ryan Gustin, Chris Madden, Damian Bidwell. Bump Hedman, Bob Dorman, Deshawn Gingerich, Khole Wanzer
Heat 2: Brandon Sheppard, David Scott, Dutch Davies, Jake Finnerty, Greg Oakes, Bryce Davis, Steve Kania, Mike Wonderling, Mike Smith
Heat 3: Boom Briggs, Dennis Erb Jr, Chub Frank, Tyler Bruening, Ricky Weiss, Dan Stone, Ryan Scott, Doug Eck, Kyle Bedell
Heat 4: Chris Hackett, Cade Dillard, Wyatt Scott, Jason Genco, Darrell Bossard, Ross Robinson, Mike Knight, Andy Boozel, Brent Larson
B-Main 1: Greg Oakes, Damian Bidwell, Bump Hedman, Bob Dorman, Deshawn Gingerich, Bryce Davis, Khole Wanzer, Mike Wonderling, Steve Kania, Mike Smith (DNS)
B-Main 2: Ricky Weiss, Mike Knight, Darrell Bossard, Ross Robinson, Ryan Scott, Dan Stone, Brent Larson, Andy Boozel. Doug Eck (DNS), Kyle Bedell (DNS)
Feature: Dave Hess Jr, Brandon Sheppard, Max Blair, Boom Briggs, Chris Madden, Ryan Gustin, Dennis Erb Jr, Greg Oakes, Chub Frank, Ross Robinson, Jason Genco, Ricky Weiss, Tyler Bruening, Darrell Bossard, Brent Larson, Chris Hackett, Cade Dillard, Bump Hedman, David Scott, Wyatt Scott, Dutch Davies, Jake Finnerty, Mike Knight, Damian Bidwell

RUSH Pro Mods: 20 Entries
Heat 1: Mike Eschrich, Al Brewer, Victor Earle Jr, Duane Powers Jr, Chad Ramsey, Wayne Mohawk, Tyler Sutton
Heat 2: Dennis Lunger, Carl Irons, Brodie Hill, Cody Stronghart, Stu Rickard, Michael Johnstone, Ryan Howard
Heat 3: Adam Ashcroft, Greg Johnson, Steve Dixon, Vaughn Nystrom, Tyler Oakes, Jarrod Silvis
Feature: Steve Dixon, Carl Irons, Mike Eschrich, Duane Powers Jr, Stu Richard, Adam Ashcroft, Michael Johnstone, Cody Stronghart, Brodie Hill, Ryan Howard, Wayne Mohawk, Tyler Sutton, Dennis Lunger, Al Brewer, Victor Earle Jr, Greg Johnson, Tyler Oakes, Vaughn Nystrom, Jarrod Davis, Chad Ramsey

Penn-Ohio Pro Stocks: 19 Entries
Heat 1: John Boardman, Don Blood, Josh Beckstrom, Chad Ramsey, Ron Boardman, Brandon Birdsall, David Baker
Heat 2: Wesley McCray, Dave Shagla, Christian Couchenour, Bill Applebee, James Hillyer, David Tower
Heat 3: Joe Stajnrajh, Jason Covey, Chris Withers, Gary Fisher, Drake McCray, Michael Oakes
Feature: John Boardman, Gary Fisher, Wesley McCray, Ron Boardman, Tanner Ramsey, Bill Applebee, Jim Hilyer, Chris Withers, Drake McCray, David Tower, Dave Shagla, Brandon Birdsall, Jason Covey, Don Blood, David Baker, Josh Beckstrom, Joe Stajnrajh, Michael Oakes, Chris Couchenour

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report