6.2.12 Port Royal Speedway Results - Dirt Racing Report

6.2.12 Port Royal Speedway Results

Port Royal –Lance Dewease of Fayetteville won for the 96th time in his career at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night, claiming the 25-lap Aumillers Insurance sprint car feature over Greg Hodnett.
Elsewhere, Andy Haus of Hamburg picked up his first win of the season at the track in the AB Auto Glass late model main while Harold Ranck Jr. won for the first time ever in the Millers Auto Parts pro stock division.

Jason Zook scored his second Juniata Tire Sales/Casners Service Center enduro dash of the year.

Nearly 150 past and current members of the armed services took advantage of free admission for the night and were honored as part of the speedway’s Salute To The Military Night.

Daryl Stimeling of Lewistown started on the pole of the sprint car feature and jetted away when action got started with Dewease following in second.

Stimeling was having nothing of Dewease when the races first caution flag unfurled with nine laps down, instead holding sway with strength over the field as Hodnett raced up to third after starting eighth in the race.

The red flag unfurled with 10 laps to go in the feature when John Brennfleck and Michael Ruttkamp flipped in the third corner. There were no injuries.

The race for second that some thought would take place on the restart never developed as Stimeling pulled away when action restarted.

In fact, the veteran driver was opening up a convincing lead with six laps to go when a left rear flat tire and additional mechanical ills forced him to stop on the track in the fourth corner.

With Stimeling’s sure win wiped out, Dewease inherited the lead for the final laps and despite Hodnett’s best efforts on the restart and again on another restart with two laps to go, there was no denying him the $3,000 victory.

It was the second win of the year at the track for Dewease who admitted in victory lane that he had nothing left for Stimeling had he not dropped out of the race.

Hodnett was second followed by Chad Layton, Mike Wagner and Rick Lafferty.

Sixth through 10th went to 14th starter Blane Heimbach, Nate Snyder, Daryn Pittman, Curt Stroup and Danny Holtgraver.

Heats for the 29-car field went to Lafferty, Stroup and Sheldon Haudenschild with Bob Bennett taking the consolation race.

Andy Haus started on the pole of his late model race but gave up the point at the drop of the green to Mitch Hack.

Hack led the first 13 laps before Haus took over for his third career victory at the oval.

Fourth starter Mike Lupfer of Shermansdale powered into second with five laps to go and challenged Haus during the late stages, getting a nose to the leader’s inside as the race waned.

A caution flag with three to go in the 20-lapper regrouped the field and saw Haus open up some breathing room during the final few laps.

Lupfer settled for second with Hack ending up third followed by Chad Hollenbeck and 12th starter Scott Haus.

Sixth through 10th went to Scott Flickinger, Terry Naugle, Tim Wilson, Brett Schadel and Todd Snook.

A strong field of 31 late models saw heats go to Lupfer, Hollenbeck and Naugle with Lincoln Ritchey taking the consolation event.

Harold Ranck Jr. wired the field for his win in the 15-lap pro stock main after campaigning at the track for years in both late models and pro stocks.

Shaun Miller gave Ranck all he could handle from his third starting spot for the duration of the event.

Miller raced in the leader’s shadow from lap two until the end but was never quite able to muscle around for the win, instead finishing as runner-up.

Third went to John Heane with Jason Schmidt taking fourth and Scott Landis in fifth.

Sixth through 10th went to Derrick Garman, Keith Garman, Dan Berry, AJ Stroup and Matt Hornberger.

Twin heats went to Ranck and Heane.

Don Murphy was able to lead the first two loops of the 15-lap enduro dash before Zook took over in a marathon event.

Despite several restarts with Brady Cauffman in a challenging second spot, Zook was able to hold on for his second win of the year in the division.

Ryan Leister staged a great drive from 18th starting spot to end up third followed by Adam Yetter and Craig Imes.

Sixth through 10th went to John Goshorn, Ricky Adair, Devin Hart, Ed Aucker and Tyler Amtower.

The speedway returns to action June 9 with the first ever show in history at the track for the wingless USAC sprint cars as the USAC Eastern Storm Finale is staged along with ARDC Midgets and pro stocks at 7 pm.

June 2, 2012 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 30 laps: 1. Lance Dewease, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Chad Layton, 4. Mike Wagner, 5. Rick Lafferty, 6. Blane Heimbach, 7. Nate Snyder, 8. Daryn Pittman, 9. Curt Stroup, 10. Danny Holtgraver, 11. Dave Ely, 12. Dave Hahn, 13. Mike Erdley, 14. JoeyHershey, 15. Keith Kauffman, 16. Mark Zimmerman, 17. Troy Fraker, 18. Dan Shetler, 19. Daryl Stimeling, 20. Ryan Kissinger, 21. John Brennfleck, 22. Michael Ruttkamp, 23. Bob Bennett, 24. Trevor Utt

Late models, 20 laps: 1. Andy Haus, 2. Mike Lupfer, 3. Mitch Hack, 4. Chad Hollenbeck, 5. Scott Haus, 6. Scott Flickinger, 7. Terry Naugle, 8. Tiim Wilson, 9. Brett Schadel, 10. Todd Snook, 11. Bob Dunn, 12. Mike Romig, 13. Lindsey Barton, 14. Kirk Baker, 15. Steve Bailor, 16. Doug Burkholder, 17. Trent Brenneman, 18. Lincoln Ritchey, 19. Waylon Wagner, 20. Eric Zembower, 21. Derek Byler, 22. Bud Barton, 23. Derrick Casner, 24. Patrick Bryner

Pro stocks, 15 laps: 1. Harold Ranck Jr., 2. Shaun Miller, 3. John Heane, 4. Jason Schmidt, 5. Scott Landis, 6. Derrick Garman, 7. Keith Garman, 8. Dan Berry, 9. AJ Stroup, 10. Matt Hornberger, 11. Andrew Shoop, 12. Kyle Parson, 13. Dave Berry, 14. Shawn Stahl, 15. Nate Fisher, 16. Jeff Bryner

Enduro dash, 15 laps: 1. Jason Zook, 2. Brady Cauffman, 3. Ryan Leister, 4. Adam Yetter, 5. Craig Imes, 6. John Goshorn, 7. Ricky Adair, 8. Devin Hart, 9. Ed Aucker, 10. Tyler Amtower, 11. Jared Fulkroad, 12. Ryan Renninger, 13. Jan Powell, 14. Joey Burdge, 15. Floyd Sheets, 16. Don Murphy, 17. Deron Henry, 18. Jesse Brown