6.21.14 Lucas Oil Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

6.21.14 Lucas Oil Late Models Results

Roberts inherited the lead after race-long leader; Scott Bloomquist’s left rear tire went flat under a red-flag with 34 laps complete.  Roberts then led the rest of the way, despite a last-lap bonsai move by Davenport which fell a car-length short of a victory.  Bloomquist rallied to finish third, followed by series point’s leader Don O’Neal, and 17th starting, Dennis Erb Jr.

“We had a second-place car tonight,” said Roberts, who scored his second career LOLMDS victory, his first since 2009 at Swainsboro, GA.  “This Longhorn Chassis has been spectacular all weekend. We had a fourth place last night at Cherokee in our first race in the car and to come here tonight and win, I don’t know what to say except thanks to Kevin Rumley, Labonte, and everyone at Longhorn Chassis.  I really like how this car feels; it’s fast and fits my driving style exceptionally well.  I want to thank Cushman Paint and Body, M&S Concrete, and Custom Race Engines.”

Bloomquist had the dominant car for most of the race.  He sprinted out to a healthy lead from the onset of the 50-lap race.  Bloomquist dominance ended however during a lap 34 red flag for a five-car accident in turn number two.  Under the red flag his cut left rear tire went flat.  “I don’t know what happened, whether we ran over something or what.  The car was just super all night; it was the weekend we were really looking forward to.  We had the hole in the radiator last night, and then tonight the same thing happened in the heat race.  We replaced the radiator before the feature.  We wanted to win really badly tonight for our sponsor Ole Smoky Moonshine, but it just wasn’t meant to be.”

Davenport progressively got faster after long green flag stretches stormed to second around Don O’Neal with seven laps to go to set-up a last-ditch effort to run down Roberts.  “Our car was really quick, but it took us a few laps to get going after those cautions.  When I got around O’Neal I thought I had enough time to catch him [Roberts]. I was watching the scoreboard and the flagman and when he gave the two-to-go signal I thought, let’s put this thing up against the wall and go for it.  I dived into turn three and thought I could clear him, but I just couldn’t quite get it done.  That was a heck of a finish no doubt”

Completing the top ten were Tommy Kerr, Mike Marlar, Donald McIntosh, Ray Cook, and Jason Hughes.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time amongst the 27 entrants, with a lap of 14.920 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson Jr., and Eddie Carrier Jr. won their respective heat races. Tommy Kerr won the B-Main.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday Night, June 21st, 2014
Lucas Oil Ole Smoky Moonshine Classic
Smoky Mountain Speedway – Maryville, TN

Miller Welders Fast Time: Scott Bloomquist / 14.920 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Casey Roberts, John Blankenship, Chris Ferguson, Eric Jacobsen, Jason Hughes, Skylar Marlar, Ray Cook, Dusty Carver

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Earl Pearson, Jr., Mike Marlar, Steve Francis, Jonathan Davenport, Jimmy Owens, Dennis Erb, Jr., Tommy Kerr, Jason Papich, Mark Vineyard

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Eddie Carrier, Jr., Jared Landers, Don O’Neal, Donald McIntosh, Mark Douglas, James Kelso, Dale McDowell, Skip Arp, Billy Ogle Jr.-DNS

JRi Shocks B-Main (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Tommy Kerr, Ray Cook, Dusty Carver, Skylar Marlar, Jason Papich, Mark Vineyard, Skip Arp, Dale McDowell-DNS, Billy Ogle Jr.-DNS

Feature Finish (50 Laps):

1 4 101 Casey Roberts Toccoa, GA
2 11 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC
3 1 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
4 9 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN
5 17 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
6 19 4T Tommy Kerr Maryville, TN
7 5 157 Mike Marlar Winfield, TN
8 12 7 Donald McIntosh Dawsonville, GA
9 20 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
10 16 12 Jason Hughes Watts, OK
11 8 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
12 3 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
13 13 5J Eric Jacobsen Watsonville, CA
14 14 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
15 10 22 Chris Ferguson Mount Holly, NC
16 6 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
17 21 9c Dusty Carver Englewood, TN
18 23 91p Jason Papich Nipomo, CA
19 22 257 Skylar Marlar Winfield, TN
20 24 17m Dale McDowell Chickamauga, GA
21 7 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
22 15 52d Mark Douglas Knoxville, TN
23 18 49k James Kelso Maryville, TN
24 2 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL

Race Statistics
Entrants: 28
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 – 34); Casey Roberts (Laps 35 – 50)
Caution Flags: Earl Pearson Jr. (Lap 3); Jimmy Owens, Eric Jacobsen, Jason Papich (Lap 34); Jason Hughes (Lap 38)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Jason Papich
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: Dale McDowell
Wrisco Feature Winner: Casey Roberts
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Tommy Kerr (Started: 19th; Finished: 6th; Advanced 13 Positions)
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Don O’Neal
Allstar Performer of the Race: Jonathan Davenport
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Don O’Neal
Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Jason Hughes
Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Jason Hughes
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Custom Race Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Longhorn Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Heather Lyne (Dennis Erb Jr.)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist (Lap #4 – 15.730 seconds)
Time of Race: 29 minutes 24 seconds

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report