6.24.22 Georgetown Speedway Results - Dirt Racing Report

6.24.22 Georgetown Speedway Results

GEORGETOWN, DE – Two-for-two.

Milford, Del.’s Jordan Watson represented the First State on Friday night at Georgetown Speedway, winning the 25-lap J.W. Brown Logging Modified event. The win for Watson and the Brent Hall Motorsports No. 18 was his second in a row at the Sussex County half-mile oval. He earned $3,350 including a $350 bonus from Paradise Senior living as the top-finishing Delaware driver.

A massive crowd filled the Georgetown grandstands on Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association Night. A wide and smooth track greeted the 114 race cars in the pit area.

Watson was one of three different leaders during the fast-paced 25-lap main.

H.J. Bunting led the 27-car field to the green flag and launched off the front row to lead the opening lap. Bunting was surpassed for the lead by Danny Bouc in the Craig and Leslie Pondish-owned No. 6. Bouc darted to the inside of Bunting to take the lead on lap three, with third-starting Watson in tow.

Watson chased Bouc into lapped traffic before making his move on lap eight. Using the extreme inside lane through turns one and two, Watson surged ahead on the backstretch.

A lap-nine restart allowed Ryan Godown, who started eighth, to move into second.

For the final 15 laps of the event, Watson and Godown engaged in a cat-and-mouse battle through lapped traffic. Godown pulled to within a car-length in the latter stages, but Watson held on to extend his lead in the Georgetown Sunoco Championship Series standings.

Godown, of Ringoes, N.J., registered a $2,000 runner-up finish. Pipersville, Pa.’s Bouc completed the podium, his second-straight top-three effort at Georgetown. Billy Pauch Jr. of Frenchtown, N.J., climbed from 10th to finish fourth and Matt Stangle of Neshanic Station, N.J., completed the front five.

Cale Ross of Lambertville, N.J., placed sixth, earning the BDR Speed $250 Spec Bonus in the process. Completing the top-10 were Joseph Watson of Milford, Del., 16-starter Richie Pratt Jr. of Woodbury Heights, N.J., pole starter Bunting of Milford, Del., and John Willman of Birdsboro, Del.

Scott Hitchens, driving the Matt Smith No. 97, advanced from 27th to 11th and received the Rent Equip/Party Central $300 Hard Charger.

Heat winners were Godown, Pauch Jr. and Carson Wright.

Austin Hubbard of Federalsburg, Md., drove the Klink Motorsports No. 49 to a wire-to-wire victory in the 20-lap First State Chevrolet RUSH Late Model event. Hubbard earned $1,000 for his efforts.

Joey Warren chased Hubbard across the line in second. Warren received a $250 bonus courtesy of Ad-Art Sign Company of Georgetown as the runner-up. Nick Davis, Jerry Barker and Matt Hill completed the front five.

Dave Brown topped the 20-lap main for the invading Delaware Auto Exchange Mid-Atlantic Sprint Series (MASS). Brown led the entire distance, with Larry McVay, Buddy Schweibinz, Bob DeVault and Rick Steif in tow.

The MASS Sprint organization pulled 18 cars to southern Delaware on a Friday night.

Jamie Eichholz utilized the outside lane to sweep past Kerry King to win the 12-lap Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Car 12-lap main. Roscoe Clough was declared the Sportsman winner. The 17 total Vintage Stock Cars took part in a single main event run in memory of Mark ‘Coot’ Williams.

Todd Sammons topped a rough-and-tumble 12-lap Little Lincoln main event that was plagued by yellow flags.

Shane Clogg was the 12-lap Delaware Super Truck winner after taking a lead he wouldn’t relinquish on the fourth lap. Zack Phillips, Jerry Hill, Tony Guinta and Andrew Nelson trailed.

Jay Lowman bested Joe Waters in a drag race to the checkered flag in the 12-lap Delmarva Charger main event. The two passed beneath the starter’s stand virtually side-by-side.

Racing resumes on Friday, July 22 when Blue Hen Construction presents “12k for the 12k” remembering Gary Simpson: a 32-lap, $12,000-to-win J.W. Brown Logging Modified event. Also on the card: Blue Hen Dispose-All Crate 602 Sportsman (20 laps, $1,212 to win), Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Cars, Little Lincolns, Delaware Super Trucks and Delmarva Chargers.

Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1949, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A website is live for the speedway at www.thegeorgetownspeedway.com. Like Georgetown Speedway on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, e-mail georgetownspeedway@gmail.com or contact the speedway hotline at 302.563.GTWN (4896).


J.W. Brown Logging Modified Feature Finish (25 laps): JORDAN WATSON, Ryan Godown, Danny Bouc, Billy Pauch Jr., Matt Stangle, Cale Ross, Joseph Watson, Richie Pratt Jr., H.J. Bunting, John Willman, Scott Hitchens, Carson Wright, Jordn Justice, Ryan Riddle, Beau Wilkins, Wayne Weaver, Tom Solderich, Blaine Bracelin, James Hill, Norman Short Jr., Trent Van Vorst, Sean Weiss, Austin Hubbard, Tracy Gauger, Brad Trice, Greg Reed, Freddy Massey.

BDR Speed Top Spec Small-Block ($250): Cale Ross (sixth)
Levin Clark Memorial Bonuses ($75 each): Danny Bouc (third) & Richie Pratt Jr. (eighth)
Paradise Senior Living Top Delaware Driver ($350): Jordan Watson (winner)
Rent Equip/Party Central Hard Charger ($300): Scott Hitchens (27th to 11th)

Delaware Auto Exchange Mid-Atlantic Sprint Series (20 laps): DAVE BROWN, Larry McVay, Buddy Schweibinz, Bob DeVault, Rick Stief, Jeff Paulson, Eddie Wagner, C.J. Faison, Cary Hunsberger, Jim Iulg, Dale Eggert, Darren Cox, D.J. Tanner, Keith Anderson, Andy Mahan, Josh Bricker, Kristina Pratt.

Did Not Start: Shelby Kelly

First State Chevrolet RUSH Late Model Feature Finish (20 laps): AUSTIN HUBBARD, Joey Warren, Nick Davis, Jerry Barker, Matt Hill, Deric Magee, David Dill, Kerry King, Richard Harden, David Parsons.

Ad-Art Sign Company Second-Place Bonus ($250): Joey Warren

Little Lincoln Feature Finish (12 laps): TODD SAMMONS, Jordan Herbert, Mel Joseph Jr., Bunky White, Eric Reed, Sawyer Tracy, M.J. White, Ryan Walsen, James Harman, Scott Calhoun, Bryan Piercy, Matt Jester, Dylan Betts, Zach Spera.

Southern Delaware Vintage Combined Modified and Sportsman Feature Finish (12 laps): JAMIE EICHHOLZ (M), Kerry King (M), ROSCOE CLOUGH (S), Cale Pettyjohn (S), Nathan Austin (S), Maddy Jefferson (S), Michael Patchett (S), Glenn Lynn (S), Terry Chaney (S), Chris Killen (S), Garritt Reagan (S), Dave Schamp (S), Todd Miller (S), D.J. Cameron (M), Robert Blann (S), Harold Sylvester (M), Jamie Schirmer (S).

M = Modified; S = Sportsman

Delaware Super Truck Feature Finish (12 laps): SHANE CLOGG, Zack Phillips, Jerry Hill, Tony Guinta, Andrew Nelson, Jesse West, Scott Trice, Steve Portillo, Dan Streebig, Bill Dean, Troy Hopkins, Thomas ‘Action’ Jackson, Angel Carroll, Wayne Gwaltney, Cameron Benson, Bruce Cornelius.

Delmarva Charger Feature Finish (12 laps): JAY LOWMAN, Joe Waters, Garrett Smith, John Bailey, Ashley Merritt, Randy Merritt, Robbie Strain, Tyler Huttle, Paul Gary, Billy Cummings, Drequan Diaz, Ron Falkner

B&E Tire Bonuses: Jay Lowman ($50 – winner); Joe Waters ($30 – second); Garrett Smith ($20 third)
Hensler’s Auto Center Winner’s Bonus ($100): Jay Lowman

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report