6.29.12 Albany Saratoga Speedway Results - Dirt Racing Report

6.29.12 Albany Saratoga Speedway Results

Malta, NY – The Budweiser sponsored evening saw Matt Delorenzo wasting little time claiming ownership to the front running spots during the 35-lap Modified feature event at the ‘Great Race Place.’

Delorenzo had race leader J.C. Flach and Jason Harrington to deal with after he went from his ninth place starting spot to third with only three circuits showing on the lap counter. On lap 11 Delorenzo convinced Flach that it was his turn to take the BBL sponsored automobile to victory lane ― and into the race lead.

But despite some late race lap traffic, and the speedway’s winningest driver right behind him, Delorenzo went on to pick up his first win of the 2012 race season. It was Delorenzo’s 7th overall career [6 on dirt, 1 on asphalt] victory at Albany Saratoga Speedway.

“People said my year so far has been like the stock market ― up and down― I’ve had some real good runs but then we’ve been in a lot of wrecks,” said Delorenzo during post race ceremonies. “It’s refreshing to be here in victory lane.”

Five-time feature event winner this season, Brett Hearn, was closing on Delorenzo in the later stages of the event but Hearn also had Stewart Friesen all over his back end.
“I heard him [Hearn] going into turn one but the car was just good on the restart and I could run it everywhere,” said Delorenzo. “We made some minor adjustments from what we’ve been running but it was a rocketship.”

Friesen followed Hearn across the finish line while Kenny Tremont and Bodie Bellinger rounded out the top five.

On a lap seven restart Joey Budka took the race lead in the 25 lap Sportsman feature event from Leo Sousie and never looked back to take his first victory of the 2012 race season.
“After last week it feels real good to be here,” said Budka who also won his qualifying event. “We didn’t make the show last week but here we are in victory lane. It’s tough figuring this place out with the crate motor. We go from first heat races of the night and then the last feature so we’re dealing with two totally different tracks.” The event also featured an excellent run from Mike Burdo, who followed Budka across the finish line. Jeremy Pitts, Jack Gentile and Leo Sousie rounded out the top five.

Dave Emigh has been experiencing some bad luck this year so he wasn’t taking any chances this week, as he secured the race lead on the first circuit of the 25-lap Pro Stock feature event and held on to it until the end, bringing the Ryan’s Garage sponsored automobile to victory lane.

“I was glad that it went green to checkers because I figured guys like Rob [three-time feature winner Langevin] and that were back there,” said Emigh who also won his qualifying event. “This thing was awesome tonight.”

The top four put on a great show, swapping spots. Chad Jeseo, Rob Yetman, Kevin VanChance and Langevin rounded out the top five.

The Street Stock feature was an intense battle up front. Yule Cook took the race lead over from Ken Conroy on the third circuit and the action heated up from there. At one point the cars were four wide coming out of the second turn. Second place man, Randy Miller, was all over Cook but right behind Miller was four-time 2012 winner Josh Coonradt.

When the 20-lap event concluded Yule Cook was standing in victory lane, but Cook would be disqualified later in the pit area.

The win then went to Josh Coonradt. He was followed by Rowdy Burch, Randy Miller, Nathan Dahoda and Paul Mulrain.

Bits: Ronnie Johnson was the fastest Modified in pre-race hot laps… both Dan Boni and Leo Sousie went green to checker in their qualifying events… 31 Modifieds in action… Chris Busta was smoking as he came across the finish line as the winner of the second Modified qualifying event… since Busta wasn’t going to make the feature and a few others missed the call for the Consolation event the 10 lap event was shortened since management took all cars for the feature event… opening night Sportsman winner, Derrick McGrew won the first Sportsman B-Main… Brett Wright, also a past feature event winner won the second B-Main… Mike Perrotte was the fastest in warm-up session 1 for the Modifieds just prior to the feature event… Brett Hearn was the fastest in session 2… We have seen 11 different winners in the Sportsman ranks this season… Point standings show leaders Brett Hearn [Modified], Bobby Hackel [Sportsman], Rob Langevin [Pro Stock] Dan Older [Pro Stock Toro Series] Paul Mulrain [Street Stock]…

Budweiser Presents Modified (35 Laps) – 1. Matt Delorenzo, 2. Brett Hearn, 3. Stewart Friesen, 4. Ken Tremont Jr, 5. Bodie Bellinger, 6. Mark Kislowski, 7. J.C. Flach, 8. Matt Depew, 9. Don Ronca, 10. Marc Johnson, 11. Jason Herrington, 12. Ronnie Johnson, 13. Rich Ronca, 14. Keith Flach, 15. Jimmy Cottrell, 16. Neil Stratton, 17. Mike Perrotte 18. Donnie Corellis, 19. C.G. Morey, 20. Jeff Trombley, 21. Erik Nelson, 22. Hector Stratton, 23. Don Mattison, 24. Chris Johnson, 25. Elmo Reckner, 26. Dustin Delaney, 27. Ryan Odasz, DNS. Justin Barber, DNS. Chris Busta, DNS. Wayne Figler, DNS. Steve Wagoner

Budget Sportsman A-Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Joey Budka, 2. Mike Burdo, 3. Jeremy Pitts, 4. Jack Gentile, 5. Leo Sousie, 6. Dan Boni, 7. Dave Baranowski Jr, 8. Mark Hughes, 9. Tim Hartman Jr, 10. Mike Tholin, 11. Adam McAuliffe, 12. Brian Gleason, 13. Bobby Hackel IV, 14. Brett Wright, 15. Stan Lemiesz, 16. Jon Miller, 17. Chuck Dickinson, 18. Derek McGrew, 19. Jack Swinton, 20. Floyd Billington, 21. Shannon Donnelly, 22. Scott Duell, 23. Mike Ostrander, 24. Chris Murray 25. Frank Hoard III, 26. Elliott Lussier, 27. Jerry Campbell, 28. Mike Jeske

Budget Sportsman B-Feature #1 (15 Laps) – 1. Derrick McGrew, 2. Mike Tholin, 3. D.J. Brundige, 4. Nick Lussier, 5. Anthony Marro, 6. Bert Film, 7. Jim Osgood, 8. Tom Proctor, 9. Paul Dunham, 10. Scott Duso, 11. Nick Anatriello, 12. Butch Wilcox, 13. Mike Pinke, 14. Jeff Donnelly

Budget Sportsman B-Feature #2 (15 Laps) – 1. Brett Wright, 2. Jon Miller, 3. Dan Santabarbara, 4. Andy Durie, 5. Colin Clow, 6. Joe Orlando, 7. Fred Proctor, 8. Greg Catlin, 9. Lenny Peckham, 10. Kenny Aanonsen Jr, 11. Nick Hotaling, DNS. Mike Duclos, DNS. Rick Lamont

Pro Stock Results (25 Laps) – 1. Dave Emigh, 2. Chad Jeseo, 3. Rob Yetman, 4. Kevin VanChance, 5. Rob Langevin, 6. Dean Charbonneau, 7. Ken Martin, 8. Bill Smith, 9. Bernie Companion, 10. Dan Older, 11. Jeff Washburn, 12. Mark Lindblade, 13. Brandon Emigh, 14. Joe Santoro, 15. Pat Zimmer, 16. Walt Brownell, DNS. Cole Lawton

Street Stock Results (20 Laps) – 1. Josh Coonradt, 2. Rowdy Burch, 3. Randy Miller, 4. Nathan Dahoda, 5. Paul Mulrain, 6. Ken Conroy, 7. Dave Stickles, 8. Phil Sherman, 9. J.T. Ronner, 10. Jody Thew, 11. Scott Lawrence, 12. Clint Bonner, 13. David King, 14. Curt Condon, 15. John Hayes, 16. John Lindblade, 17. Matt Mosher, 18. Jason Barrett, DQ. Yule Cook