7.12.14 Lucas Oil Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report 7.12.14 Lucas Oil Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report
Saturday, September 30, 2023

7.12.14 Lucas Oil Late Models Results

Both Owens and Bloomquist entered the event with 49 wins, each, in series history. Owens initially took the lead on lap three from Earl Pearson, Jr. and then had to fight off the challenges of Bloomquist. Owens and Bloomquist ran side-by-side for a handful of laps in heavy traffic. Bloomquist led for four laps until Owens pulled ahead for good on lap 19. The race saw only one caution flag and that was for a multi-car accident four laps into the race.

Jesse Stovall charged from the16th starting spot to finish fourth. He survived a torrid battle with Don O’Neal, who entered the event as the LOLMDS points leader and finished fifth.

“Man, I don’t know what to say. The car was super good all night. It’s great to win here in front of my car owner and this tremendous crowd. The track was probably the best I have ever seen it from start to finish. We could run anywhere on it. I don’t know what it is about this place, but for some reason we can get around here pretty good”, stated Jimmy Owens in victory lane.

“I got by Earl early on, and then we had that one caution. Then I got into some big-time traffic and Scott caught me. We had a heck of a race for a while. Everybody out there was giving everybody plenty of room to maneuver. Once we got back in front, I was hoping the race would stay green and it did. That’s just a testament to the drivers that raced tonight and the track conditions. I have to thank Reece Monument Company, Edge Services, Ohlins, Sunoco, Red Line Oil, FORD, and Keyser. It was a great win for us”, Owens concluded. With his sixth series victory of 2014, Owens moved ahead of O’Neal in the series championship point standings by just five points heading into Tuesday’s event at Lakeside Speedway in Kansas.

Bloomquist recorded yet another second –place finish, but could not keep pace with Owens over the last half of the race. “He [Owens] was really good tonight; I kind of made some adjustments on the car that didn’t turn out liked I had hoped. The car has been solid no doubt. The track was just outstanding to race on tonight. Everyone could race from the bottom to the top. We needed to be a little freer with the car. But man one spot again, that’s all we need. We have a few days off to regroup before we head to Lakeside, so we will hope for better results then. I have to thank Ole Smoky Moonshine, Penske Shocks, Andy Durham Race Engines, and Randy Sweet.”

Pearson led the first two circuits, and then managed to stay in the top three for the rest of the race, coming home third behind Owens and Bloomquist. “What a great crowd tonight! Having Forrest Lucas was here tonight was a real honor. The track was just was superb tonight. Gary Hubert and his crew are really doing a great job with the track prep. We were good early on and could stay up there with those two, but I went to the top and got faster, but I had lost so much ground to them, I wasn’t going to able to catch them without a caution flag. I have to thank Bobby Labonte, Lucas Oil Products, MAVTV American Real, Sunoco and everyone else on the team.”

Completing the top ten were Steve Francis, Will Vaught, John Blankenship, Brandon Overton, and Terry Phillips.

In preliminary action, Justin Asplin set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 41 entrants, with a lap of15.263 seconds. Scott Lewis set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.439 seconds. Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens, Scott Lewis, and Scott Bloomquist won their respective heat races. Jeremy Payne and Josh Hughes won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday Night, July 12th, 2014
CMH Diamond Nationals
Lucas Oil Speedway – Wheatland, MO

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Justin Asplin / 15.263 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Scott Lewis/ 15.439 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Earl Pearson, Jr., Justin Asplin, Dennis Erb, Jr., Don O’Neal, Austin Rettig, Chad Simpson, Jack Sullivan, Austin Siebert, Craig Vosbergen, Clay Fisher, Jason Sivils-DNS

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Brandon Overton, Terry Phillips, Mark Dotson, Jeremy Payne, Garrett Alberson, Reid Millard, Mark Daye, Farrel Skelton, Larry Jones

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Lewis, Will Vaught, Tony Jackson, Jr., Jason Hughes, Jason Hughes, Jared Landers, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Josh Hughes, Jason Papich, John Blankenship

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Steve Francis, Ryan Gustin, Jesse Stovall, Brantlee Gotschall, Travis Dickes, Jason Bodenhamer, Brandon McCormick, Cody Holtkamp, Gavin Landers

JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer) Finish: Jeremy Payne, Chad Simpson, Garrett Alberson, Austin Rettig, Jack Sullivan, Austin Siebert, Clay Fisher, Mark Daye, Reid Millard, Farrel Skelton, Larry Jones

CV Products B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer) Finish: Josh Hughes, Travis Dickes, Jason Bodenhamer, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Brantlee Gotschall, Jared Landers, Jason Hughes, Brandon McCormick, Jason Papich, Cody Holtkamp, John Blankenship, Gavin Landers

Feature Finish (50 Laps):

1 3 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
2 4 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
3 1 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
4 16 00s Jesse Stovall Billing, MO
5 13 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN
6 8 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
7 6 1V Will Vaught Crane, MO
8 24 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
9 7 5e Brandon Overton Appling, GA
10 11 75 Terry Phillips Springfield, MO
11 19 25c Chad Simpson Mt. Vernon, IA
12 9 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
13 12 19R Ryan Gustin Marshalltown, IA
14 10 56 Tony Jackson, Jr. Lebanon, MO
15 27 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
16 5 77A Justin Asplin Birch Tree, MO
17 23 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
18 14 12 Jason Hughes Watts, OK
19 18 7H Josh Hughes West Plains, MO
20 20 6T Travis Dickes Madison, NE
21 28 91p Jason Papich Nipomo, CA
22 25 16 Austin Siebert Grandview, MO
23 21 43 Garrett Alberson Las Cruces, NM
24 26 14m Reid Millard Jefferson City, MO
25 2 99L Scott Lewis Henderson, CO
26 17 186 Jeremy Payne Springfield, MO
27 15 85d Mark Dotson Cameron, MO
28 22 2b Jason Bodenhamer Centerview, MO

Race Statistics
Entrants: 41
Lap Leaders: Earl Pearson Jr. (Laps 1 – 2); Jimmy Owens (Laps 3 – 14); Scott Bloomquist (Laps 15 – 18); Jimmy Owens (Laps 19 – 50)
Caution Flags: Jeremy Payne, Jason Papich, Jason Bodenhamer (Lap 4)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Eddie Carrier Jr., John Blankenship
Lucas Oil Midwest Latemodel Racing Association Provisionals: Austin Siebert, Reid Millard
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: Jared Landers, Jason Papich
Wrisco Feature Winner: Jimmy Owens
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: John Blankenship (Started: 24th; Finished: 8th; Advanced 16 Positions)
Bad Boy Mowers TV Challenge Winner: Jimmy Owens
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jimmy Owens
Allstar Performer of the Race: John Blankenship
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens
Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Jason Hughes
Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Jason Hughes
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Club 29 Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Chris Fox (Jimmy Owens)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Jimmy Owens (Lap #2 – 16.176 seconds)
Time of Race: 21 minutes 11 seconds

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report