7.20.12 Albany Saratoga Speedway Results - Dirt Racing Report

7.20.12 Albany Saratoga Speedway Results

Malta, NY – When the green flag dropped on the 35-lap Benjamin Moore Paints sponsored event Stewart Friesen drove his Jake Spraker owned automobile like he stole it to secure his third win of the season at the ‘Great Race Place.’

Newlywed Jimmy Cottrell owned the race from the start, giving the race lead up to Dustin Delaney and Keith Flach for brief moments. All the while some top runners were flying up through the pack. Friesen was following five-time 2012 winner Brett Hearn through the fast moving field but around lap 16 Friesen had made his way into the top five and ahead of Hearn. Five laps later Friesen was taking claim of the race lead and the victory.

“I’ve got to apologize ― I made contact with a couple of guys out there but man when the #20 is all over you like that you’ve got to go,” said Friesen during post-race ceremonies about the action packed event. “When you see a hole, even ½ of a hole, on a track as tough as this ― you’ve got to take your opportunities. It’s tough elbows-up racing and it’s a heck of a show for the fans.”

The win was Friesen’s third of 2012 in the Jake Spraker Used Cars sponsored automobile. Brett Hearn, Kenny Tremont, Matt Delorenzo and Jimmy Cottrell rounded out the top five.

Dan Santabarbara had a dream night winning his qualifying event and taking his first career Sportsman win. Santabarbara took the race lead after Rich Peterson dropped the green flag and led the entire 25 circuits to take his place in victory lane. It was an emotional win for Santabarbara, who dedicated the win to his aunt.

“I’m on one end of the spectrum this morning at the funeral and then you are living a dream the same day,” said Santabarbara. Santabarbara was comfortable all night ― and it showed.

“The car handled great” said Santabarbara. “We’ve been working on it for the last few weeks trying to dial it in for the bottom. Jeff’s [Trombley] been telling me to work on braking and stick to the bottom and I would be ok.”

Mike Tholin came from the 10th starting position and spent a majority of the event in a top five slot. Tholin came across the finish line for second place. Butch Wilcox, Mark Hughes and Bobby Hackel rounded out the top five.

Rob Yetman, in the Lazzaro’s Auto Body sponsored car, made his win in the 25-lap Pro Stock feature event look easy. Yetman, who started the event eighth on the field, was already in command of the event on lap 4. When he took the checkered flag he had a full straightaway lead on the rest of the pack.

“When you can put it right in the middle like that and pick the gas up as soon as the car is turning you’ve got something here,” said Yetman of his third time in victory lane. “That is something that I’ve been fighting with all year ― maybe we’ve got something now.”

Chad Jeseo, Rob Langevin, Bernie Companion and Dan Older rounded out the top five.

It was the sixth visit to victory lane for Josh Coonradt in the 20 lap Street Stock feature event. It wasn’t until lap 16 when Coonradt, who started 16th on the grid, secured the race lead. Coonradt wanted to win for his grandfather who was celebrating his 82nd birthday.

“I told him I was going to win and we did it.” said Coonradt. “I didn’t really know who was behind me or what was going on but we got it.”

Bits: A ‘Featherfoot Bonus’ [the American Indian Federation] was put up by Ronnie Mensing for the Pro Stock division, Yetman [$250], Jeseo [$150] and Langevin [$100] were recipients… a right rear flat tire put Sportsman driver Tim Hartman in the pits early during his qualifying event… Brett Wright hit the wall coming for the green in the second Sportsman QE. Wright’s car had some sheet metal damage but was able to rejoin the field… Mike Minick was back behind the wheel of a Sportsman automobile, Minick had a rough crash early in the 2012 season which was responsible for his absence… Derrick McGrew came across the finish line in 3rd place in his QE but a tow vehicle had to take McGrew’s car off the track… Walt Brownell doing double duty in both the Pro Stock and Sportsman divisions… four-time 2012 Pro Stock feature event winner, Rob Langevin took the lead coming down for the checkered flag in his QE crossing the finish line .035 seconds ahead of Walt Brownell… Again this week, Ronnie Johnson was the fastest in the warm-up session just prior to the feature event, but a right rear flat tire forced Johnson into the pits on laps 14 of the Modified feature. Friesen and Hearn followed Johnson with the fast times… Brian Gleason had a good run going in the BBL Construction sponsored car, he was running second in the Sportsman finale when he hit the berm and spun on the 13th time around the speedway. Gleason was coming off of a third place run at Brewerton Speedway earlier in the week…

Benjamin Moore Paints Presents $3,000 to Win Accord Speedway “King of the Catskills” Qualifier Modified (35 Laps) – 1. Stewart Friesen, 2. Brett Hearn, 3. Ken Tremont Jr, 4. Matt Delorenzo, 5. Jimmy Cottrell, 6. Elmo Reckner, 7. Don Ronca, 8. Rich Ronca, 9. Keith Flach, 10. Ronnie Johnson, 11. Mike Perrotte, 12. Bodie Bellinger, 13. Jamike Sowle, 14. Marc Johnson, 15. Matt Depew, 16. Chris Busta, 17. Hector Stratton, 18. Justin Barber, 19. J.C. Flach, 20. Tony Ballestero, 21. Floyd Billington, 22. Erik Nelson, 23. Jeff Trombley, 24. Donnie Corellis, 25. Mark Kislowski, 26. C.G. Morey, 27. Dustin Delaney, 28. Neil Stratton, DNS. John Lutes Jr

Budget Sportsman A-Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Dan Santabarbara, 2. Mike Tholin, 3. Butch Wilcox, 4. Mark Hughes, 5. Bobby Hackel IV, 6. Brett Wright, 7. Derrick McGrew, 8. Andy Durie, 9. Rocky Warner, 10. Chuck Dickinson, 11. Jeremy Pitts, 12. Tim Hartman Jr, 13. Fred Proctor, 14. Dave Baranowski Jr, 15. Jack Gentile, 16. Mike Duclos, 17. Adam McAuliffe, 18. Mike Ostrander, 19. Frank Hoard III, 20. Brian Gleason, 21. Scott Duell, 22. Jon Miller, 23. Chris Murray 24. Stan Lemiesz, 25. Jeremy Digert, 26. Mike Minick, 27. Joey Budka, 28. Kenny Aanonsen Jr, 29. Jack Swinton

Budget Sportsman B-Feature #1 (15 Laps) – 1. Jeremy Digert, 2. Mike Duclos, 3. Paul Dunham, 4. Trevor Rocke 5. Shannon Donnelly, 6. Mike Jeske, 7. Tom Proctor, 8. Dan Eastman, 9. Jack Speshock, 10. Greg Catlin, 11. Tim Hartman Jr, 12. Milo Campbell, 13. D.J. Mabb, 14. Jeff Donnelly, DNS. Jerry Campbell, DNS. Jim Osgood

Budget Sportsman B-Feature #2 (15 Laps) – 1. Joey Budka, 2. Mike Minick, 3. D.J. Brundige, 4. Mike Burdo, 5. Rick Lamont, 6. Mike DuBois, 7. Elliott Lussier, 8. Nick Anatriello, 9. Fred Mullberger, 10. Lenny Peckham, 11. Leo Sousie, 12. Bert Film, 13. Joe Orlando, 14. Brad LaFountain, 15. Jay LaMountain

Pro Stock (25 Laps) – 1. Rob Yetman, 2. Chad Jeseo, 3. Rob Langevin, 4. Bernie Companion, 5. Dan Older, 6. Bill Smith, 7. Kevin VanChance, 8. Dean Charbonneau, 9. Brandon Emigh, 10. Kim Duell, 11. Ken Martin, 12. Jeff Washburn, 13. Pat Zimmer, 14. Dave Emigh, 15. Walt Brownell

Street Stock (30 Laps) – 1. Josh Coonradt, 2. Rowdy Burch, 3. David Shippee, 4. Yule Cook, 5. Ken Conroy, 6. Nathan Dahoda, 7. Paul Mulrain, 8. J.T. Ronner, 9. Phil Sherman, 10. Fred Harris, 11. Jeremy Hayes, 12. Randy Miller, 13. Scott Lawrence, 14. Jason Barrett, 15. Matt Mosher, 16. John Hayes, 17. David King, 18. Jody Thew, 19. John Lindblade, DNS. Luke McIsaac