Saturday, June 15, 2024

7.23.17 411 Motor Speedway Results

The racing wasn’t the only red hot thing at Tennessee’s action track with temperatures reaching nearly 100 degrees.
Wayne Rader once again set fast time in Modified Street qualifying but since he had won back to back races he had to start in the third spot. The green waved and it was the second place man in points, Chris Rickett who took the lead ahead of Michael Woods, Rader, James Crowe and Wendell Spence rounding out the top five on the start. Spence had his hands full with Dale Watson who was running only his second race of the 2017 season. The top three didn’t waste any time pulling away from the rest of the pack as the early laps ticked away. Rader had to start third but was all over Woods for the runner up spot. The caution waved for the #c8 of Lance Creasman setting up a restart. Rader would take advantage of the restart and move past Woods putting himself into the second spot. He would close the gap on Rickett but wouldn’t be able to make the pass.
1: 36 Chris Rickett
2: #01 Wayne Rader
3: #360 James Crowe
4: #66 Michael Woods
5: #11 Dale Watson
6: #c8 Lance Creasman
7: #6 Ben Sexton
8: #21 Wendell Spence
9: #E21 Chad McLemore

Rex Coffey earned the pole for the 20 lap Sportsman feature by setting fast time in qualifying. Coffey had a great car as he took the lead on the start ahead of point leader Zach Sise, Brad Seagle, Jed Emert and Andy Ogle. Seagle was looking for his third straight win as he did battle with Zach Sise for the second spot just behind Coffey. Bradley Lewelling and James Kelso had their own battle going for the sixth spot. Unfortunately the night would come to an early end for Issac Boring and Kip Sawyer as they both pulled off track in the early laps. Halfway through the 20 laps and Sise was closing the gap on the leader. Coffey found himself stuck behind a slower lap car and got caught up opening the door for Sise who would power by and into the lead. Coffey came to a stop in turn four afterwards sending him to the rear of the field. Zach Sise would take over after the caution and go on to pick up the win in a wild race.
1: #9 Zach Sise
2: #31 Brad Seagle
3: #98 Jed Emert
4: #10B Bradley Lewelling
5: #3 Floyd Self
6: #2 Rex Coffey
7: #50 Adam Mitchell
8: #49 Grant Corum
9: #41 James Kelso
10: #68 Andy Ogle
11: #9 Nicholas Shelton
12: #44 Kip Sawyer
13: #00 Issac Boring
14: #51 William Hux

Next up was the 20 lap Mini Stock feature. Last weekend was a wild one with both Tommy Metler who were running first and second got taken out. This week Newton was MIA but Byers was back and took the lead on the start of the feature ahead of Steve Owens Jr, Robert Burris, and Alex Holbert. Holbert made his move to get past Burris and into the third spot. Jared Wise was a late entry but wouldn’t make it to the finish as he pulled off early. Up front it was all Byers as he cruised to an easy win by nearly half a track.
1: #83 John Byers
2: #17 Steve Owens JR
3: #7 Mark Holbert
4: #71 Robert Burris
5: #5 Randy Lane
6: #3 Jared Wise

Next up was the 30 lap Steelhead Late Model feature paying $1,500 to win and what a wild one it was. Eddie King Jr would put his #39 on top of the scoreboard in qualifying but point leader Chase King would take the lead on the start with King Jr, Jason Cardwell, Trevor Sise and Ross White in chase. Ruben Mayfield and Layne Clifton had a great battle early on for the sixth spot. Cardwell was getting a huge run as he closed in on Eddie King for the second spot. Just past the halfway mark Cardwell made his move and got past King Jr for the runner up spot setting his sights on Chase King for the lead. last years track Champion Trevor Sise also moved past King JR and into the third spot as King Jr seemed to be slipping back. Cardwell had ran down Chase King who had built up a decent size lead. Cardwell saw an opening and made a dive inside coming off turn four but got tangled up with a slower car and nosed hard into the outside wall. The driver was shaken up but would walk away with car in much worse shape. Back under green and Trevor Sise now found himself in the second spot Chase King seemed to have the race in hand but the left rear tire looked to be going down as he took the white. Trevor Sise would get by him on the last lap to pick up the win.
1: #73 Trevor Sise
2: #39 Eddie King Jr
3: #44 Chase King
4: #0 Ross White
5: #2 Danny Yoder
6: #00 Ruben Mayfield
7: #07 Jason Cardwell
8: #23 Layne Clifton
9: #G2 Jerry Green
10: #95 Jason Melton
DNS: #1 David Clark

Next up was the 20 lap Classic Car feature. Newcomer Tom Juhl would start on the pole and take the lead ahead of Joe Keck, Richie Overholser, Jesse Hickman and Chris Nix rounding out the top five. Overholser had missed a few races but was back on track as he had a great top five run going early on. The caution would wave for Nix who went for a spin slowing the pace. Jesse Hickman and Overholser had a great battle for the third spot as the field approached the halfway point. Point leader Joe Keck still had the second spot as he tried to reel in the former New York native for the race lead. Up front it would be Juhl who went on to pick up his first career win.
1: #17 Tom Juhl
2: #78 Joe Keck
3: #69 Jesse Hickman
4: #18 Richie Overholser
5: #14 Lee Merritt
6: #3 Chris Worsham
7: #1c Chris Nix
8: #44 Shawn Sise
9: #24 Scott Laxy
10: #77 Eli Keck

The final event of the night would be the 20 lap Open Wheel feature. Newport Tenessee’s Wayne James would take control on the start looking for his first win of the 2017 season. Jeff Hamby was your pole sitter but he had to fall in line in second just ahead of Chase King who was doing double duty once again. Don Adams and point leader Jody Puckett would round out your top five on the start. Hamby had the pressure turned up early on James as they fought for the lead. Brad Hall didn’t start up near the front but was a man on a mission as he picked them up and put them down moving up through the pack. Trouble for Robbie Comer who went for two separate spins with Terry James. Brad Hall would continue his drive up through the pack as he seemed to have a long run car. James kept the high line going but Hall had found something down low as he took the lead with just 3 laps left and went on to pick up the win.
1: #47 Brad Hall
2: #4 Wayne James
3: #15 Jeff Hamby
4: #90 Don Adams
5: #7 Chase King
6: #3 Jody Puckett
7: #42 Robby Comer
8: #0 Larry James
9: #112 Dustin Diden
10: #36 Billy Palmer
11: #1 Terry James
DNS: #9 Rocky Ogle