7.24.10 California Lightning Sprints Results - Dirt Racing Report

7.24.10 California Lightning Sprints Results

Teenage racing sensation A.J. Bender of Ramona, California won his second consecutive California Lightning Sprint Car 20-lap main event last Saturday night, July 24th, at Perris Auto Speedway. This Saturday night, July 31st, the series will journey north to the Bakersfield Speedway.

Starting inside row six, the young racer had nine cars between himself and pole sitter Carl Von Yokes of Lakeside when the race begin. Von Yokes jumped into the lead at the start leading fellow Lakeside resident Jim Squire and Anaheim’s Dale Gamer. Amazingly, by the end of the first circuit, A.J. Bender’s older brother Bobby had went from his eighth place starting position to second.

Von Yokes had some distance between himself and the elder Bender when El Cajon’s Peter Benker stopped on the second circuit and brought out the yellow flag.

Lap four was an eventful one for the Bender brothers. A.J. took second from his older sibling and by the time the lap ended, he had blasted by Von Yokes for the lead coming off turn four. Moments later, Bobby’s night came to an end when he had a fuel pickup problem.

Spring Valley’s Jarrett Kramer, who started 10th, passed Von Yokes for second on the sixth lap. While A.J. and Kramer were flying at the front of the pack, 16-year-old Kevin Michnowicz was raising eyebrows with a sizzling drive from the back row. By the end of the 11th lap, Michnowicz, who was making only his third CLS start, found his way to third.

A late race restart with five laps to go and another with two laps to go, allowed Kramer and Michnowicz to pull up to A.J.’s rear bumper, but nobody had anything for the kid on the night and he won his second main in a row by 10 cars lengths. Kramer, who came into the night second in the standings behind A.J., finished in the runner up spot with Michnowicz third. Von Yokes ended up four with Placentia’s Dan Hillberg fifth.

Earlier in the program on the brightly lit Riverside County half-mile clay oval, A.J. and Bobby Bender won the two six lap heat races.

This Saturday night, July 31st, the series heads to the Bakersfield Speedway where they will race with the Modifieds, American Stocks, Mini Dwarfs and the Hobby Stock King of California Dirt Challenge. Spectator gates will open at 4:30 and the first race will be at 6:00 PM.

DVD’s from Saturday’s race will be available form Raceway Video. You can visit their website at: www.racewayvideo.com. You can also call: (818) 618-9764

California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to acknowledge the following sponsors for making the 2010 campaign possible. The Christian Stover Foundation, Performance by Rosson Racing, BK Wings, Circle Track Performance and Hoosier Tires. Anyone wishing to come on board as a series sponsor can call Brent Sexton at: (619) 454-6945.

For more information on this Saturday’s race or the 2010 California Lightning Sprint Car Series, contact Brent Sexton ((619) 454-6945 or sextonfire@cox.net) or Scott Daloisio (909 226-7768 or sdaloisiosports@aol.com).

MAIN EVENT FINISH (with starting positions)

1. A.J. Bender – Ramona, CA – (11th)
2. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – (10th)
3. Kevin Michnowicz – Lomita, CA – (13th)
4. Karl Von Yokes – Lakeside, CA – (1st)
5. Fan Hillberg – Placentia, CA – (7th)
6. Jim Squire – Lakeside, CA – (2nd)
7. Dale Gamer – Anaheim, CA – (4th)
8. Tim Brown – Wildomar, CA – (9th)
9. Alexander Bissett – Hemet, CA – (12th)
10. Robert Wilhelm – El Cajon, CA – (3rd)
11. Guy Maresch – Anaheim Hills, CA – (5th)
12. Bobby Bender – Ramona, CA – (8th)
13. Jon Squire – El Cajon, CA – (14th)
14. Peter Benker – El Cajon, CA – (6th)

1. A.J. Bender – Ramona, CA – 1382
2. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – 1357
3. Bobby Bender – Ramona, CA – 1313
4. Dan Hillberg – Placentia, CA – 1108
5. Guy Maresch – Anaheim Hills – 1094
6. Dale Gamer – Anaheim – 1097
7. Robert Wilhelm – El Cajon – 1048
8. Seth Kramer – Spring Valley – 938
9. Peter Benker – El Cajon – 899
10. Cory Ballard – Orange – 837

Bobby Bender … 5
Jarrett Kramer … 2
A.J. Bender … 2
Johnny Bluntach … 1
Cory Ballard … 1
Dan Hillberg … 1

July 31st … Bakersfield Speedway
August 14th … Perris Auto Speedway
August 28th … Perris Auto Speedway
September 11th … Ventura Raceway
September 25th … Bakersfield
October 2nd … Perris Auto Speedway
October 9th … Perris Auto Speedway (Southern California Fair)
November 5th & 6th … Perris Auto Speedway (Oval Nationals)

1994 Tony Everhart
1995 Gary Sexton
1996 Rob Sczymczak
1997 Jon Rahe
1998 Chris Rahe
1999 Brent Sexton
2000 Greg Bragg
2001 Greg Bragg
2002 Greg Bragg
2003 David Cardey
2004 Keith Janca
2005 Johnny Bates
2006 Donny Ganson
2007 Shane Rosson
2008 Brent Sexton
2009 Stuart Hielshier Sr.
2010 Jarrett Kramer

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report