7.24.17 Southern Nationals Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

7.24.17 Southern Nationals Late Models Results

RINGGOLD, GA – July 24, 2017 – The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV returned to action on Monday evening at Boyd’s Speedway and Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga. would claim the win and picked up the $3,500 payday and retook the points lead.

The win for Overton would be his second with the tour in 2017 and would come aboard the Crossfit Overton/A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services/Mission Transport/Stone Land Clearing sponsored #116 Longhorn by Weaver Chassis powered by an Andy Durham Race Engine.

The drop of the green flag in the thirty-five lap main event would see Brandon Overton jump to the race lead, with Donald McIntosh, Craig Vosbergen, Casey Roberts, and Ronnie Johnson in pursuit. A tangle involving Casey Turman and Jordan Rodabaugh would in turn four would slow the action on lap two. The restart would see Overton and McIntosh scoot away from the pack quickly while Johnson would slide past Roberts for fourth on lap four, only to see Roberts reclaim the spot one circuit later on lap five. As Overton was about to begin the process of working lapped traffic, the second caution of the race would wave on lap seven when Rodabaugh would slow in turn four with a flat left-rear tire. The restart would again see Overton and McIntosh pull away from the field, while Jake Knowles would challenge Ronnie Johnson for fifth and take the position on lap eight. With Overton and McIntosh pulling away, Roberts would third from Vosbergen on lap ten while Johnson would reclaim the fifth position from Knowles on the same circuit. Overton would have stretched his advantage over McIntosh until he started working through heavy lapped traffic on lap twelve and McIntosh would begin the process of reeling in the race leader as he attempted to pick and choose his way through traffic.

The complexion of the race would change on lap seventeen when the car of Casey Turman would spin in turn two just as the leaders approached and Overton would be able to take evasive action and miss the spinning car, however, McIntosh would not be as fortunate and he would make heavy contact with Turman’s spun mount, with Turman finished for the event, while McIntosh would be able to continue with severe body damage to the right-rear corner of his machine. Overton would get a great launch on the restart to maintain the race lead, while Vosbergen would race side-by-side with Roberts would the runner-up slot and would take the spot on lap eighteen. The remainder of the event would be caution free, with Overton pulling out a comfortable lead, but would catch lapped traffic again on lap twenty-eight, allowing Vosbergen to close the gap somewhat, but Overton would not be seriously challenged and would see the checkered flag first, with Vosbergen finishing in the second position, while Roberts would finish in the third position. Johnson and Knowles would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Jason Croft, Shanon Buckingham, Derek Ellis, Heath Hindman, and Brandon Kinzer.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV next event will be Thursday July 27 at Crossville Speedway in Crossville, TN, paying $3,500 to win.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com.

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, GA on July 24, 2017
1. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
2. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, Western Australia
3. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
4. Ronnie Johnson-Chattanooga, Tenn.
5. Jake Knowles-Rome, Ga.
6. Jason Croft-Woodstock, Ga.
7. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
8. Derek Ellis-Chatsworth, Ga.
9. Heath Hindman-Signal Mountain, Tenn.
10. Brandon Kinzer-Lexington, Ky.
11. Ahnna Parkhurst-Evans, Ga.
12. Austin Smith-Rome, Ga.
13. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
14. Tod Hernandez-Chattanooga, Tenn.
15. David Doherty-Sidney, Australia
16. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
17. Jason Walker-Culleoka, Tenn.
18. Matt Henderson-Loudon, Tenn.
19. Casey Turman-Lafayette, Ga.
20. J.T. Seawright-Fort Payne, Ala.
21. Jordan Rodabaugh-Soddy Daisy, Tenn.
22. Ivedent Lloyd, Jr.-Ocala, Fla.

Time of Race: 20 minutes, 5 seconds
Margin of Victory: 2.187 seconds
Yellow Flags: 3 (lap 2, 7, 17)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Brandon Overton (1-35)
Entries: 27
Overall Top Qualifier: Donald McIntosh (Group B) 15.362 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Ahnna Parkhurst
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200): Tod Hernandez
Provisional Starters: Jason Walker, David Doherty

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 8 transfer)- Casey Roberts, Ronnie Johnson, Jake Knowles, Ivedent Lloyd, Jr., Heath Hindman, Kenny Collins, Matt Henderson, Casey Turman, Rob Mayea, Craig Greer, Jimmy Brown, D.J. Hayes

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 8 transfer)- Jason Croft, Shanon Buckingham, Derek Ellis, J.T. Seawright, Austin Smith, Brandon Kinzer, Tod Hernandez, Jordan Rodabaugh, David Doherty, Gary McPherson, Jason Walker

Current Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Points (after Boyd’s Speedway)
1. Brandon Overton-1,354
2. Shanon Buckingham-1,342
3. Donald McIntosh-1,330
4. Craig Vosbergen-1,248
5. Ivedent Lloyd, Jr.-1,180
6. Kenny Collins-1,121
7. Steve Casebolt- 1,052
8. Casey Roberts-962
9. Jason Walker-873
9. Farrel Skelton-873