7.29.17 BOSS Sprints Results - Dirt Racing Report

7.29.17 BOSS Sprints Results

Rarely do we see July race nights as pleasant as last night at Lawrenceburg Speedway for the Rick’s Trucks and Equipment BOSS sprint cars. Perhaps it was divine intervention as the traveling series of drivers joined the Lawrenceburg Kelsey Chevrolet Sprint cars to honor the memory of Jason Soudrette in his 4th annual memorial event.

Soudrette was an Ohio native who ran weekly at Lawrenceburg and was one of the first drivers to commit to touring with BOSS when the series was founded in 2011. He was in both of the only 2 events held that season despite being diagnosed with leukemia. Jason still ran various BOSS events the following season as his health would allow. Sadly, we lost Jason to complications in his battle but his memory will live on with his favorite race track and favorite sanctioning body.

A stout field of 36 sprint cars signed in for the night’s action. Four very exciting heat races were won by Scotty Weir, Shawn Westerfeld, Carmen Perigo and Drew Abel. The remaining cars were split into a pair of twin 10 lap B-Main events. Cole Kethcam charged from 9th to win the first B Main while Joss Moffatt won a very exciting B-Main #2.

Twenty-two of the bravest drivers in short track racing aligned for the 25 lap main event. The 4 wide salute to the fans was paced by the #44 car of John Soudrette Racing (Jason’s father) and driven by Dickie Gaines. With more than a few tears in the crowd, the fans gave the drivers a hearty send-off.

Two time and defending BOSS champion, Shawn Westerfeld, paced the field to green with Jordan Kinser alongside. Starter Tim Montgomery turned the field loose with the green flag as Westerfeld and Kinser prepared for a titanic battle on the point. Kinser got the jump on the start but Westerfeld flexed his muscle early by blitzing back past Kinser and opening a short lead.

Just as the field began to spread out, working lap #4, Westerfeld caught the berm on the inside of turn 4. His car bicycled and came down awkwardly on the right front, pitching the car into a soft “tommy tipover”. The rest of the field did a great job of missing him and there was enough damage that he was unable to continue.

Back under green, it was Jordan Kinser who had inherited the lead and opened up a quick lead as BOSS star Carmen Perigo from Stoystown, Pennsylvania was the closest car in pursuit. Fourth starting Logan Jarret closed up on Perigo and the pair ran side by side battling for most of the race. Perigo working the bottom to perfection while Jarrett was braving the high side.

A pair of 8th row car #44 starters were the men on the move. Fifteenth starting Dickie Ganies and 16th starting Michael Fischesser both stormed through the field with Fischesser edging Gaines for the “Hard Charger” award.

The race stayed clean and green over the last 21 laps with Kinser stretching his lead with a decisive victory. Jarrett was able to dispatch Perigo to 3rd and claim the runner-up spot. Drew Abel and Landon Simon completed the top 5. Rounding out the top 10 were Scotty Weir, Fischesser, Gaines, Dustin Smith and Garrett Abrams.

The BOSS series wishes to thank the fans for coming out to support the event and to Lawrenceburg Speedway and their staff for a great night of racing. Up next for BOSS is the “Jack Hewitt Classic” at Waynesfield Raceway Park this Saturday, August 5th paying $3,000 to win and $300 to start.

Box Score

Total Car Count:36

DRC Chassis – Heat #1 (8 Laps, top 4 transfer, top 2 redraw)
1. 6-Scotty Weir{8] ; 2. 29-Logan Jarrett[9] ; 3. 21x-Tony DiMattia[1] ; 4. 53-Steve Little[3] ; 5. 19-Matt Cooley[2] ; 6. 3-Joe Butera[5] ; 7. 14-Chad Wilson[7] ; 8. 21M-Chris Olding[6] ; 9. 41-Cole Ketcham[4]

Lias Tire / American Racer – Heat #2 (8 Laps, top 4 transfer, top 2 redraw)
1. 89-Shawn Westerfeld[4] ; 2. 76-J.J. Hughes[1] ; 3. 77-Dustin Smith[3] ; 4. 9G-Cody Gardner[9] ; 5. 71B-Braxton Cummings[5] ; 6. 87-Paul Dues[2] ; 7. 96-Riley VanHise[6] ; 8. 71-Dwayne Spille[8] ; 9. 5-Bob McMillin[7]

Hoosier Race Tire – Heat #3 (8 Laps, top 4 transfer, top 2 redraw)
1. 21-Carmen Perigo[2] ; 2. 70-Jordan Kinser[4] ; 3. 08-Andy Feil[1] ; 4. 44-Dickie Gaines[5] ; 5. 4J-Justin Owen[7] ; 6. 31L-Buddy Lowther[9] ; 7. 51-Curtis Muhlenkamp[3] ; 8. 7M-Tony McVey[6] ; 9. 25-Eric Semple[DNS]

TCB Speed – Heat #4 (8 Laps, top 4 transfer, top 2 redraw)
1. 04-Drew Abel[2] ; 2. 24-Landon Simon[7] ; 3. 32-Garrett Abrams[4] ; 4. 44s-Michael Fischesser[9] ; 5. 5J-Joss Moffatt[5] ; 6. 74-Tony Main[3] ; 7. 91x-Aaron Middaugh[8] ; 8. 82-Mike Miller[6] ; 9. Tyler Kendall[1]

B-Main 1 (10 Laps, top 3 transfer)
1. 41-Cole Ketcham[9] ; 2. 14-Chad Wilson[5] ; 3. 19-Matt Cooley[1] ; 4. 7M-Tony McVey[8] ; 5. 51-Curtis Muhlenkamp[6] ; 6. 4J-Justin Owen[2] ; 7. 21M-Chris Olding[7] ; 8. 3-Joe Butera[3] ; 9. 31L-Buddy Lowther[4] ; 10. 20K-Tyler Kendall[DNS]

B-Main 2 (10 Laps, top 3 transfer)
1. 5J-Joss Moffatt[2] ; 2. 74-Tony Main[4] ; 3. 71B-Braxton Cummings[1] ; 4. 87-Paul Dues[3] ; 5. 82-Mike Miller[8] ; 6. 96-Riley VanHise[5] ; 7. 71-Dwayne Spille[7] ; 8. 91x-Aaron Middaugh[6] ; 9. 5-Bob McMillin[9] ; 10. 25-Eric Semple[10]

A-Main 1 (25 Laps)
1. 70-Jordan Kinser[2] ; 2. 29-Logan Jarrett[4] ; 3. 21-Carmen Perigo[3] ; 4. 04-Drew Abel[5] ; 5. 24-Landon Simon[6] ; 6. 6-Scotty Weir[7] ; 7. 44s-Michael Fischesser[16] ; 8. 44-Dickie Gaines[15] ; 9. 77-Dustin Smith[10] ; 10. 32-Garrett Abrams[12] ; 11. 76-J.J. Hughes[8] ; 12. 5J-Joss Moffatt[18] ; 13. 21x-Tony DiMattia[9] ; 14. 14-Chad Wilson[19] ; 15. 53-Steve Little[13] ; 16. 9G-Cody Gardner[14] ; 17. 08-Andy Feil[11] ; 18. 74-Tony Main[20] ; 19. 71B-Braxton Cummings[22] ; 20. 89-Shawn Westerfeld[1] ; 21. 41-Cole Ketcham[17] ; 22. 19-Matt Cooley[21]

Hard Charger Award – The Bridge Restaurant ; Sidney, OH – 44s-Fischesser
Hard Luck Award – J.F. Construction ; Bucyrus, OH – 4J – Owen
Lucky Pill Draw Award – Apple Metal Polishing ; Eldorodo, OH – 89-Westerfeld
Perseverance Award – All Pro Cylinder Heads ; Johnstown, OH – 44 -Fischesser
Steel Block Award – Cowen Truck Line ; Perrysville, OH – 51-Muhlenkamp
Sweet Move Award – McMillin Apiaries ; Wampum, PA – 9G-Gardner
American Racer Tire Award – 21-Perigo
Hoosier Race Tire Award – 29-Jarrett

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report