7.29.17 Southern Nationals Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

7.29.17 Southern Nationals Late Models Results

TAZEWELL, TN – July 29, 2017 – The 2017 edition of the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV would conclude on Saturday evening at Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN as the $10,000 to win series finale presented by Reece Monument would see Brandon Overton of Evans, GA take the lead with two laps remaining and drive to the victory and also claim the 2017 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series championship.

The win by Overton would mark his fourth series victory with the tour in 2017 and come aboard the Crossfit Overton/A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services/Mission Transport/Stone Land Clearing sponsored #116 Longhorn by Weaver Chassis powered by an Andy Durham Race Engine.

Craig Vosbergen would take the lead at the start of the contest, with Donald McIntosh, Billy Ogle, Jr., Brandon Overton, and Dakotah Knuckles giving chase. Vosbergen would maintain a comfortable advantage until he caught slower traffic on lap nine and McIntosh would begin to pressure him for the race lead. McIntosh would finally make his move on lap thirteen and would grab the race lead, while Vosbergen, Ogle, Jr., and Overton would go three-wide for the second position on the same circuit, with Overton going from fourth to second in turns three and four. The first caution of the event would wave on lap fifteen when a driveshaft from Chicky Barton’s mount would be put down on the frontchute and the caution would turn into a red flag situation as Barton be injured as a result of the driveshaft making contact with him in the drivers compartment of the car and would be transported to a local hospital for treatment of his injury. Once action resumed, McIntosh would still lead the way, with Overton giving chase and this pair would put some distance between themselves and third place running Vosbergen at this point. On lap fifteen, Knuckles would work past Vosbergen for the fourth position and one circuit later, Shanon Buckingham would make his way into the top five past Vosbergen.

The lead duo of McIntosh and Overton would begin the process of working lapped traffic on lap twenty-four and the pair would perform beautifully working in and out of slower traffic until the caution waved again on lap thirty-seven as Matt Henderson would slow on the frontchute with a flat left-rear tire and would go to the work area and get fresh rubber and return. The restart would also see the caution wave again as Stacy Boles would spin his mount in turn four before another lap could be completed. The final restart of the event would see McIntosh maintain his position in the lead, with Overton in hot pursuit and the pair would again motor away from the field. The lead pair would catch slower traffic on lap forty-eight and as McIntosh would have issues with a lapped car, Overton would motor past and take the lead entering turn one as the field completed lap forty-nine. Overton would hold the top spot for the final two circuits and would score the victory, with McIntosh settling for second, while Ogle, Jr. would finish third. Knuckles and Buckingham completed the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be David Payne, Vosbergen, Brian Smith, Forrest Trent, and Austin Neely.

Brandon Overton captured $5,053 for winning the 2017 series title. He won the championship by 30 markers over Shannon Buckingham, Donald McIntosh, Craig Vosbergen and Kenny Collins. Farrel Skelton was named the AR Bodies Rookie of the Year. Seven drivers had perfect attendance on the tour in the final point standings. A total of 114 different drivers raced with the tour. Overton’s championship goes with the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series title he captured on Memorial Day weekend.

On behalf of the entire Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series staff, we would like to thank the race teams and drivers, the track promoters and track staff, the sponsors, the media and most of all the fans for their support of the events and another successful season is in the books.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com.

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals at Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, Tenn. on July 29, 2017
1. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
2. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
3. Billy Ogle, Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
4. Dakotah Knuckles-Ewing, Virginia
5. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
6. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
7. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, Western Australia
8. Brian Smith-Barbourville, Ky.
9. Forrest Trent-Talbott, Tenn.
10. Austin Neely-Tazewell, Tenn.
11. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
12. Matt Henderson-Loudon, Tenn.
13. Chad Ogle-Sevierville, Tenn.
14. Jeff Neubert-Rockford, Tenn.
15. Josh Fields-Tazewell, Tenn.
16. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
17. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
18. Steve Smith-Powell, Tenn.
19. Chicky Barton-Middlesboro, Ky.
20. Clyde Overholt-Tazewell, Tenn.
21. Farrel Skelton-Mount Pleasant, Tenn.
22. Jason Walker-Culleoka, Tenn.

Time of Race: 35 minutes, 53 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.620 seconds
Yellow Flags: 3 (lap 15, 37, 37 restart)
Red Flags: 1 (lap 15)
Lap Leaders: Craig Vosbergen (1-12), Donald McIntosh (13-49), Brandon Overton (50-51)
Entries: 25
Overall Top Qualifier: Shanon Buckingham (Group A) 11.363 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Kenny Collins
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200): Austin Neely
Provisional Starters: Farrel Skelton, Jason Walker

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Craig Vosbergen, Shanon Buckingham, Forrest Trent, Stacy Boles, Josh Fields, Steve Smith, Jason Walker

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Billy Ogle, Jr., David Payne, Chicky Barton, Matt Henderson, Jeff Neubert (DNS-Kevin Sams)

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Donald McIntosh, Dakotah Knuckles, Vic Hill, Kenny Collins, Clyde Overholt, Phil Helton

Heat Four Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Brandon Overton, Brian Smith, Austin Neely, Chad Ogle, Farrel Skelton, Mitchell Burke

Consey Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Clyde Overholt, Josh Fields, Steve Smith, Jeff Neubert, Farrel Skelton, Mitchell Burke, Jason Walker (DNS-Kevin Sams, Phil Helton)

Final 2017 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Points
1. Brandon Overton-1,754
2. Shanon Buckingham-1,724
3. Donald McIntosh-1,722
4. Craig Vosbergen-1,628
5. Kenny Colllins-1,479
6. Farrel Skelton-1,207 (Rookie of the Year)
7. Jason Walker-1,203
8. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.-1,180
9. Steve Casebolt-1,052
10. Casey Roberts-962