7.30.10 Albany Saratoga Speedway Results

7.30.10 Albany Saratoga Speedway Results

MALTA – A new chassis and a little racing luck proved to be a perfect combination for Don Scarborough Friday night at Albany-Saratoga Speedway. Scarborough moved into the lead on lap 16 when the top two cars got out of shape, and went on to record his first win of the season in the 35-lap modified feature at the historic Malta track. The win ended an 11-year winless streak for Scarborough, whose last win at Albany-Saratoga came exactly 11 years to the day, on July 30, 1999, on the dirt.

Scarborough also became the ninth different winner in the modified division this season.

Scarborough was running third when leaders Matt Depew and Leon Gonyo got together on lap 16, with both getting out of shape just enough to allow Scarborough, sitting in a new Bicknell chassis, to grab the lead. That’s where he stayed for the rest of the race, coming away with his ninth career victory.

“We won with this car the first time out at Airborne, and I’ve raced it a couple of times at Devil’s Bowl, but this is the first time we’ve had it here,” said Scarborough. “It seems to be a good car, so far.” Depew and Gonyo continued their battle after Scarborough got the lead, but things went bad for both drivers after a caution on lap 28. While the field was under yellow, Depew had a tire go down, ending his strong run, and something let go in Gonyo’s car with three laps to go, costing him a top-five finish.

Joe Williams got up for second, with Mike Bruno third, Marc Johnson fourth and Rich Ronca fifth. Ron Proctor crossed the finish line fourth, but was disqualified for being light after the race. Points leader Ken Tremont Jr. had an interesting night. He was involved in a multi-car jingle on lap six, and after ducking into the pits to have his crew look at the car, rejoined the field at the rear of the pack. Then, on lap 28, he spun out after making contact with another car, and again went to the rear. But he still managed to finish eighth.

Fred Proctor picked up his second win of the season in the sportsman feature, coming off the front row and holding off Jason Herrington by 0.394 seconds.

Mike Paquin took the checkered flag for the first time this season in the 30-lap pro-stock feature. Paquin was one of the original converts to asphalt, as he made his way to victory lane during the original Asphalt Assault last October. He had his hands full on Friday night, as Kim Duell haunted him during the closing stages of the race. But Paquin held on, leading Duell and Sheldon Martin across the finish line.

Jon Miller returned to victory lane in the Renegade division. Despite starting ninth, he patiently worked his way to the front and took the lead when something broke in Mike Ostrander’s car with three laps to go. The victory was Miller’s third of the season. Dan Petronis finished second, and Frank Monroe was third, matching his best finish of the season.

Harold Lavair took the checkered flag in the Bomber Warriors feature, and Jon Taisey won the 50-lap enduro.

Albany-Saratoga Speedway will be holding CDL Night on Friday, Aug. 6, with all CDL license holders allowed free admission to the grandstands. All divisions will be in action, with the first green flag falling at 6:45 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: DON SCARBOROUGH, Joe Williams, Mike Bruno, Marc Johnson, Rich Ronca, Andy Lindemann, Jim Ryan, Ken Tremont Jr., Chris Ross, Seth Roberts, Dave Manny, Leon Gonyo, Matt Depew, Don Mattison, Dave DePaulo, Don Ronca, Kris Vernold, Keith Flach, Randy Hotaling. DQ: Ron Proctor.

DENOOYER DASH: DON RONCA, Rich Ronca, Joe Williams, Chris Ross, Matt Depew, Leon Gonyo.

SPORTSMAN: FRED PROCTOR, Jason Herrington, Chris Johnson, Hunter Bates, Adam Tranka, Cody Sargen, John Reome, Scott Duell, Luke Klob, Andy Durie, Rick Davis.

PRO-STOCKS: MIKE PAQUIN, Kim Duell, Sheldon Martin, Darryl Carl, Carl Guilefuss, Chad White, Jim Monroe, Kevin Van Chance, Jeremy Houghtaling, Mike Sorzelli, Joe Santoro, Scott Duell.

RENEGADES: JON MILLER, Dan Petronis, Frank Monroe, Dan Older, Josh Coonradt, Rowdy Birch, Justin Demers, Ben Durie, Mike Ostrander, Jonathan Hayes, Brandon Emigh, Bill Duprey, Bill Burlingame, Dave Emigh.

BOMBER WARRIORS: HAROLD LAVAIR, Ken Duell, Colin Clow, Dan Older Jr., Mike Cranston, Ken Hurlbert, Brittany Ladd, Mark Lindblade.

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report