8.18.12 Southern All Star Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

8.18.12 Southern All Star Late Models Results

CLEVELAND, TN (August 19, 2012)—Billy Ogle Jr. is back on track with his second-straight Super Late Model victory.

Fresh off a win last Saturday at Smoky Mountain Speedway during Southern Regional Racing Series action, the Knoxville, TN driver returned to victory lane this time for a $3,500 payday during the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series-sanctioned 22nd Annual Jean Johnson Memorial at Cleveland Speedway in Cleveland, TN on Saturday Night August 18th.

Ogle led start to finish for his sixth career SAS victory and first this season. Ogle also became the sixth different winner in ten races thus far this season. Ogle drove the Blount Motorsports, Explosive Specialists, Bearden Oil Company, Cherokee Millwright & Mechanical and Massey Electric sponsored Custom powered Rocket Chassis to the event win.

Two time SAS champion and current points leader Randy Weaver rallied from his 12th place starting spot to finish second and extend his points lead while in the Outlaw Race Products sponsored Cornett Racing Engines powered GRT Race Car. Completing the top five in the final rundown were Skip Arp of Georgetown, TN, Johnny Chastain of Murphy, NC and Dingus Griffin of Alexandria, AL who challenged for the lead early on but fell back after the first yellow flag.

A total of two yellow flags slowed the event. The first yellow came on lap 22 as William Thomas, driving the # 16 entry slowed in turn one. The next yellow flag came on the 37th lap as smoke barreled out from under the hood of Shan Smith’s # 99 ride.

In VP Racing Fuels Qualifying Billy Ogle Jr. was the fastest of 19 entrants with a 13:090 second lap. Derek Ellis of Chatsworth, GA won the 10-lap Hoosier Racing Tire Last Chance Showdown.

The Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series will be off a weekend before returning to action Labor Day Weekend with a single stop to Gary Hall’s Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN for the Fourth Annual Buddy Rogers Memorial paying $4,400 to win and in remembrance of Mr. Rogers the distance for the Main event will be 44 laps.

Official Summary of Results
Cleveland Speedway-Cleveland, TN
Round #10 of 2012 Season (August 18)
Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Late Models

Feature Finish:
1. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN
2. Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN
3. Skip Arp-Georgetown, TN
4. Johnny Chastain-Murphy, NC
5. Dingus Griffin-Alexandria, AL
6. Jacob Grizzle-Blairsville, GA
7. Greg Martin-Oliver Springs, TN
8. Derek Ellis-Chatsworth, GA
9. Jake Knowles-Tyrone, GA
10. Skip Freeman-Pell City, AL
11. Mike Weeks-Friendsville, TN
12. Jeff Neubert-Rockford, TN
13. Kurt English-Murphy, NC
14. Shan Smith-Dade City, FL
15. Mark Vineyard-Powell, TN
16. William Thomas-Phenix City, AL
17. Brian Hickman-Soddy Daisy, TN
18. Kayne Hickman-Soddy Daisy, TN
19. Jamie Perry-Ringgold, GA

Yellow Flags: Two (laps 22, 37)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Ogle (1-40)
Time of Race: 15 minutes/13 seconds
Entries: 19 from five states (TN, GA, NC, AL, FL)
VP Racing Fuels Fast Time: Billy Ogle Jr.-13:090 seconds
Series Provisionals: None used

Hoosier Racing Tire Last Chance Showdown #1 Finish: Derek Ellis, Randy Weaver, Shan Smith, Jake Knowles, Kayne Hickman, Kurt English, Jeff Neubert, Skip Freeman, Brian Hickman

Further information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 509-6603 or PR/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or you can log on to the official series website at www.sasdirt.com . Also, check the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or on Twitter @SASDIRT.

2012 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Sponsors
*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series
*VP Racing Fuels “The Official Fuel” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series
*Arizona Sport Shirts “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series

2012 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Supporters Include: Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Elaine White, Gotta Race, AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Cruise with the Champions, MSR Mafia Web Design and Service and H3 Performance Graphics.

2012 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series event winners:
# 1-April 7-Jimmy Owens-Newport, TN (Cleveland Speedway)
# 2-April 14-Vic Hill-Mosheim, TN (Smoky Mountain Speedway)
# 3-May 5-William Thomas-Phenix City, AL (Talladega Short Track)
# 4-May 12-Skip Arp-Georgetown, TN (Cleveland Speedway)
# 5-May 26-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Whynot Motorsports Park)
# 6-May 27-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Magnolia Motor Speedway)
# 7-June 16-Vic Hill-Mosheim, TN (Smoky Mountain Speedway)
# 8-June 23-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Talladega Short Track)
# 9-July 28-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Talladega Short Track)
# 10-August 18-Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN (Cleveland Speedway)

Upcoming Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series events:
September 2-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN-$4,400 to win BUDDY ROGERS MEMORIAL
September 15-Cleveland Speedway-Cleveland, TN-$3,500 to win GRANT ADCOX MEMORIAL
September 22-Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN-$5,000 to win KING OF THE MOUNTAIN 50