8.29.14 Lucas Oil Late Models Results - Dirt Racing Report

8.29.14 Lucas Oil Late Models Results

“This is our first time here; everyone knows our winning percentage at new tracks in my career is pretty good. This is really a nice track. I hoped the fans enjoyed this show,” said the 50-year-old veteran. “The front-stretch had some issues early in the night, but they went out and tried to fix it. I thought I felt a vibration or something going wrong on that last restart. We sure didn’t need that final caution. The car fired great nonetheless and we were able to pull away.”

“We are a little short of help this weekend, but everybody did a great job. I had to groove the tires and do some other things, but overall the car handled so well all night long. We have been so close to winning other races this year; I was determined to win this tonight. I have to thank Ole Smoky Moonshine, Penske Shocks, Hawkeye Trucking, Base Fuels, Lucas Oil Products, and Durham Race Engines.”

Both Francis and Pearson took a shot at Bloomquist in the final two circuits, but they came up short of going to victory lane. “It’s our second straight runner-up finish,” said Francis, who brought his Clint Bowyer Racing, Georgia Boot, Barry Wright Race Cars entry across the line for another podium finish. “We are really running well here lately. It’s great to be back in the mix for a win. Scott was too tough tonight. I slipped back to fifth at one point, and the car was so much better up top. We just didn’t have anything for Scott on that final restart. The way it turned out, we were fortunate to hold off Earl for second.”

Pearson finished third in his Bobby Labonte Racing, Lucas Oil Products, Longhorn Chevrolet. “With the way our season has gone this year, I didn’t know what was going to happen on that final restart. The car was good all race long, it would run better down low on the track. I thought I was going to get by Steve there a couple of times, but we will take this finish and head to Portsmouth tomorrow night.”

Completing the top ten were Don O’Neal, Brian Birkhofer, John Blankenship, Eddie Carrier Jr. and Jared Landers.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 31 entrants, with a lap of 14.329 seconds. Steve Francis set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.563 seconds. Scoot Bloomquist, Earl Pearson Jr., Steve Francis, and Jimmy Owens won their respective heat races. Jason Papich won the B-Main.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday Night, August 29th, 2014
Attica Raceway Park – Attica, OH

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Scott Bloomquist / 14.329 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Steve Francis / 14.563 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Mason Zeigler, Don O’Neal, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jason Papich, Matt Irey, Larry Bellman, Steve Sabo

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Earl Pearson, Jr., Jared Landers, Jason Hughes, Rocky Owens, Shane McLoughlin, Douglas Baird, Devin Moran, Steve Casebolt

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Steve Francis, Brian Birkhofer, John Blankenship, Larry Kingseed, Ryan Missler, Ross Nicastri, Cody Scott, Chris Keller

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Jeff Babcock, Ryan Markham, Devin Shiels, John Bores, Mike Bores

JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 6 Transfer) Finish: Jason Papich, Shane McLoughlin, Devin Moran, Ryan Missler, Chris Keller, Matt Irey, Devin Shiels, Larry Bellman, John Bores, Ross Nicastri, Steve Sabo, Douglas Baird, Mike Bores, Cody Scott, Steve Casebolt-DNS

Feature Finish (50 Laps):


1 1 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
2 2 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
3 3 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
4 4 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
5 5 25Z Mason Zeigler Chalk Hill, PA
6 9 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN
7 6 15b Brian Birkhofer Muscatine, IA
8 10 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
9 8 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
10 7 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
11 13 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
12 11 12 Jason Hughes Watts, OK
13 16 5m Ryan Markham Ashland, OH
14 22 36 Matt Irey Mansfield, OH
15 17 91p Jason Papich Nipomo, CA
16 21 00 Chris Keller Adrian, MI
17 19 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH
18 18 9m Shane McLoughlin Nashport, OH
19 24 15bx Mike Bores Bellevue, OH
20 12 1b Jeff Babcock St. Marys, OH
21 15 29 Rocky Owens Mansfield, OH
22 20 50Y Ryan Missler Bellevue, OH
23 14 21 Larry Kingseed Castalia, OH
24 25 48 John Bores Bellevue, OH
25 23 c9 Steve Casebolt Richmond, IN

Race Statistics
Entrants: 31
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (1 – 50)
Cautions: Ryan Markham (Lap 12), Jared Landers (Lap 14), Rocky Owens (Lap 16), Jason Papich (Lap 48)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: n/a
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: Steve Casebolt, Mike Bores
Attica Raceway Park Provisional: John Bores
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Don O’Neal (Started: 9th; Finished: 6th; Advanced 3 Positions)
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jimmy Owens
Allstar Performer of the Race: Eark Pearson Jr.
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Earl Pearson Jr.
Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Jason Hughes
Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Jason Hughes
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Bloomquist Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Tommy Grecco (Steve Francis)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist (Lap #3 – 15.665 seconds
Time of Race: 26 minutes 38 seconds

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report