Saturday, June 15, 2024

8.5.17 Southern Ontario Sprints Results

BRIGHTON, Ont. – August 5, 2017 – Dylan Westbrook continued his dominance at Brighton Speedway with his third at the Northumberland County track and fifth with the SOS this season on Saturday night. The Scotland, Ont. teenager started fifth for the 25-lap Feature event, but quickly jumped to third on the opening lap. It was polesitter Charlie Sandercock of Trenton, Ont. who led the opening lap, but second-starting Chris Jones of Picton, Ont. who claimed the lead on the second lap.

Sandercock and Westbrook battled hard for second, even making contact in turn three that nearly sent both cars spiraling out of control, before the battle was halted on lap four when Al Giletta came to a stop at the top of turn two. Jones got an excellent jump on the ensuing restart while Westbrook continued to battle with Sandercock.

Before the sixth lap could be completed, Sandercock overshot his entry to turn three and spun his No.57 in turn four to bring out the yellow, handing the second spot to Westbrook and third to Alexandria, Ont. pilot Lee Ladouceur.

The yellow with five laps complete setup the final restart of the night as the remaining 20 laps ran without incident. Jones got another excellent restart and opened a three car-length advantage over Westbrook as the top two pulled away from Ladouceur. Jones maintained the lead with a lightning quick line around the top while Westbrook followed suit, but also tested the bottom groove.

On lap 15, Mike Ferrell fell off the pace in turn one right in front of the leaders, forcing the two cars to split around him. Westbrook made the most of his opportunity and darted under both cars in turn two to take the lead. Jones tried to keep pace over the next 10 laps, but fell well back of Westbrook who lapped all but the top six finishers for an 8.910-second margin of victory.

Jones revealed following the race he lost his brakes over the final 10 laps and did everything he could to hold on to the runner-up finish. Ladouceur completed the podium ahead of Joyceville’s Rick Wilson, who finished fourth. Shawn Sliter of Port Colborne, Ont. won a drag race off turn four to steal fifth from rookie Josh Shantz of St. Agatha, Ont.

The Southern Ontario Sprints continue their 2017 season with a doubleheader next weekend. The Series will travel to South Buxton Raceway in Merlin, Ont. on Saturday, August 12th before visiting the Humberstone Speedway on Sunday, August 13th. For additional event information, visit and



(Number Name – Hometown)
0 Holly Porter – Delhi ON
01 Kyle Fraser – White Lake ON
11j Chris Jones – Picton ON
15 Mike Ferrell – London ON
15aw April Wilson – Joyceville ON
18 Josh Shantz – St. Agatha ON
21 John Burbridge – St. Williams ON
22 Shawn Sliter – Port Colborne ON
22x Al Giletta – St. Catharines ON
25 Warren Mahoney – Lefroy ON
42w Rick Wilson – Joyceville ON
47x Dylan Westbrook – Oakland ON
51 Lee Ladouceur – Alexandria ON
57 Charlie Sandercock – Trenton ON
66 Frank Baranowski – Mount Hope ON
71s Josh Sliter – Port Colborne ON
98 Paul Pekkonen – Brockville ON

HEAT RACE #1 (8 laps – Top 3 redrew for A-Feature starting positions)
Finish. Number Name (Starting Position)
1. 42w Rick Wilson (4)
2. 11J Chris Jones (5)
3. 15 Mike Ferrell (1)
4. 18 Josh Shantz (6)
5. 25 Warren Mahoney (3)
6. 66 Frank Baranowski (2)

HEAT RACE #2 (8 laps – Top 3 redrew for A-Feature starting positions)
Finish. Number Name (Starting Position)
1. 47x Dylan Westbrook (3)
2. 51 Lee Ladouceur (2)
3. 21 John Burbridge Jr. (1)
4. 0 Holly Porter (4)
5. 01 Kyle Fraser (5)
6. 22x Al Giletta (6)

HEAT RACE #3 (8 laps – Top 3 redrew for A-Feature starting positions)
Finish. Number Name (Starting Position)
1. 57 Charlie Sandercock (3)
2. 22 Shawn Sliter (1)
3. 15aw April Wilson (2)
4. 98 Paul Pekkonen (5)
5. 71s Josh Sliter (4)

FEATURE (25 laps)
Finish. Number Name (Starting Position)
1. 47x Dylan Westbrook (5)
2. 11J Chris Jones (2)
3. 51 Lee Ladouceur (6)
4. 42w Rick Wilson (4)
5. 22 Shawn Sliter (8)
6. 18 Josh Shantz (10)
7. 57 Charlie Sandercock (1)
8. 21 John Burbridge Jr. (7)
9. 01 Kyle Fraser (14)
10. 15aw April Wilson (9)
11. 0 Holly Porter (11)
12. 98 Paul Pekkonen (12)
13. 25 Warren Mahoney (13)
14. 66 Frank Baranowski (16)
15. 71s Josh Sliter (15)
16. 22x Al Giletta Jr. (17)
17. 15 Mike Ferrell (3)

A-Feature Lap Leaders – Charlie Sandercock (1), Chris Jones (2-14), 47x Dylan Westbrook (15-25)
Hard Charger – Kyle Fraser (+5)

Dylan Westbrook – 5 (Brighton May 20, South Buxton June 3, Ohsweken June 30, Brighton July 8, Brighton August 5)
Chris Jones – 1 (Brighton June 17)

South Buxton Raceway; Merlin, Ontario – Saturday, August 12th, 2017
About the Southern Ontario Sprints: Founded in 1996, the Southern Ontario Sprints series is a traveling winged 360 Sprint Car tour based in Ontario, Canada. 2016 marks the 21st year of operation for the Southern Ontario Sprints, brought to you this season by The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum, and
Twitter: @SOSsprints

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report