9.27.13 URSS Sprints Results - Dirt Racing Report

9.27.13 URSS Sprints Results

LIBERAL, Kan. — Mother Nature didn’t spoil the fireworks Sunday. Steven Richardson and Ty Williams made sure of that.

The United Rebel Sprint Series returned to Liberal Fairgrounds Speedway on Sunday after being rained out of the regularly scheduled event Friday.

And the Rebels didn’t disappoint as Richardson and Williams put on a classic battle up front before Richardson held on for the victory.

“We swapped positions a few times in a couple of laps,” Richardson said. “It was kind of one lane around the top. You had to be careful not to jump the cushion. It should have been a great race for the fans.”

Richardson started outside the second row alongside Barry Crane. Richie Dewell, who started outside the front row, grabbed the early lead.

But Dewell missed the cushion and slid off the track, allowing Richardson to take the lead.

He’d pull away, only to encounter lap traffic — when Williams was able to close the gap.

Williams and Richardson swapped spots in lap traffic before Richardson was able to take control and pull out the win — his second URSS victory this season, both coming in Liberal.

“That definitely worked out in our favor,” Richardson said. “The lap traffic hurt us at first, allowed Ty to get up to us. But it helped us at the end to get by him.”

Williams finished second, followed by Crane and Taylor Velasquez. Zach Blurton rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Richardson and Brian Herbert.

The Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard-Charger Award went to Velasquez, who moved up seven spots to finish fourth.

Feature results

1. Steven Richardson, 2. Ty Williams, 3. Barry Crane, 4. Taylor Velasquez, 5. Zach Blurton, 6. Koby Walters, 7. Zac Taylor, 8. Jake Bubak, 9. Brian Herbert, 10. Richie Dewell, 11. Luke Cranston, 12. Jordan Randles, 13. Jerry Caldwell, 14. Cody Caldwell.

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel, Follow us on Twitter and Like us on Facebook

Thanks for visiting Dirt Racing Report