Thursday, November 30, 2023

9.28.18 Southern Nationals Bonus Late Models Results

(September 28, 2018) Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga. scored his fourth career FK Rod Ends Tarheel 50 presented by Jacky Jones Automotive Group on Friday Night at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, N.C. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

Roberts took the lead on lap 23 from Dale McDowell and never looked back en route to the $10,000 payday. Roberts crossed the line ahead of Ross Bailes, Michael Brown, Kenny Collins and Scott Bloomquist in the 53-lapper in front of a packed house.

Roberts drove the Blount Motorsports, Stowers CAT Machinery Corporation, Blount Excavating, Maseey Electric, Tennessee RV, Turner Hydraulics, Ole Ben Franklin Motors, Food City and The Wine & Spirits Cellar-sponsored Vic Hill Racing Engines-powered Rocket Chassis to his third career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series payday.

The next events for the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV will be Friday and Saturday October 5 and 6 at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, Ky. The events will pay $3,000-to-win on Friday during the 14th Annual Iron-Man Classic and $5,000-to-win on Saturday during the 24th Annual Lake Cumberland Classic and be triple-sanctioned with the MARS Racing Series in their finale weekend and also the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series presented by

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at .

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, NC on September 28, 2018

1. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
2. Ross Bailes-Clover, S.C.
3. Michael Brown-Pageland, S.C.
4. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
5. Scott Bloomquist-Mooresburg, Tenn.
6. Brent Dixon-Elberton, Ga.
7. Chicky Barton-Middlesboro, Ky.
8. Johnny Chastain-Murphy, N.C.
9. Blake Spencer-St. Augustine, Fla.
10. Jeff Neubert-Rockford, Tenn.
11. Levi Hicks-Murphy, N.C.
12. Johnny Cloer Jr.-Chatsworth, Ga.
13. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
14. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
15. Kip Cochran-Franklin, N.C.
16. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
17. Joey Standridge-Tellico Plains, Tenn.
18. Bo Eaton-Blue Ridge, Ga.
19. Kurt English-Murphy, N.C.
20. Jamie Oliver-Murphy, N.C. (Did Not Start)

Time of Race: 27 minutes, 36 seconds
Margin of Victory: 01.381 seconds
Yellow Flags: N/A
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Dale McDowell (1-22), Casey Roberts (23-53)
Entries: 20
Overall Top Qualifier: Dale McDowell-12.359 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Levi Hicks
Provisional Starters: None

Dash Finish: Casey Roberts, Dale McDowell, Michael Brown, Scott Bloomquist, Kenny Collins, David Payne.

Heat-1 Finish: Chicky Barton, Brent Dixon, Ross Bailes, Johnny Chastain, Shawn Chastain, Jeff Neubert, Blake Spencer.

Heat-2 Finish: Brandon Overton, Levi Hicks, Johnny Cloer Jr., Kip Cochran, Joey Standridge, Jamie Oliver.

2018 Southern Nationals Bonus Series Winners/Upcoming Events:
March 16-Tri-County Race Track-Shane Clanton
March 17-Toccoa Raceway-Ricky Weiss
April 28-Blue Ridge Motorsports Park-Shawn Chastain
May 12-Dixie Speedway-Michael Page
June 15-Lake Cumberland Speedway-Tyler Carpenter
June 16-Richmond Raceway-Tyler Carpenter
July 3-Tazewell Speedway-Eric Wells
September 2-Tazewell Speedway-David Payne
September 15-North Georgia Speedway-Michael Page
September 28-Tri-County Race Track-Casey Roberts
October 5-Lake Cumberland Speedway-Burnside, KY-$3,000 to win
October 6-Lake Cumberland Speedway-Burnside, KY-$5,000 to win

Southern Nationals Bonus Series Points (after 9-28)
1. David Payne-1,854
2. Chicky Barton-1,804
3. Aaron Ridley-1,458
4. Joey Standridge-1,038
5. Casey Roberts-938
6. Jeff Neubert-710
7. Shawn Chastain-635
8. John Ownbey-572
9. Todd Coffman-564
10. Brent Dixon-558